We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Tidy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cala d'Or Apartments

Save Saved
You added Cala d'Or Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cala d'Or Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 69 hotels in Puerto Rico
Havant, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean & Tidy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife & I stayed for a week self-catering (the first week in February), and found the apartment a decent size ,especially for the two of us, clean,tidy & basic, just about 3 star. We stayed in C block ground floor. Only saw 1 cockroach the whole time & that was outdoors. Yes it is halfway up a hill (192 steps-my wife counted them-sad) so once you've done them, the €2.50 taxi ride is a must. The only thing that let the hotel down IMO is that when you arrive by coach/taxi to the hotel entrance there are 2 lots of stairs to climb just to get to the reception,not suitable if you are elderly or infirm. The pool was small & cold (it was Feb), the bar and dining area(?) is very small and you have to pay for TV & wifi (it's 2014 and wifi is generally free everywhere - sort it out Cala'D'Or). The beds were firm but comfortable and expect noise until about midnight due to local entertainments.

Puerto Rico is nice except the horrendous neon/plastic Europa centre. Go past it & head down to the beach and enjoy the 1km promanade walk to the next bay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    111
    64
    29
    21
See reviews for
131
100
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks, we only saw 4 cockroaches the whole time we were there, 3 of which were already dead. The apartments (as the rest of Puerto Rico) are set into the mountain so I think it would be impossible not to encounter some kind of bug but they certainly didn't bother us.

The hotels were comfortable with extra blankets if needed, apartments were kept clean with maid service every day (except Sunday) and towels changed every other day. The balcony looks out over the pool area towards town but we never had any noise whilst in the bedroom.

There are 165 steps from town to the apartments but only 3euro in a taxi so not expensive.

The bar area was clean but didn't really get busy whilst we were there so wasn't a very good atmosphere but the staff were brilliant, the reception guy even ordered us a pizza hut one night with us just telling him what we wanted, he then rang our room when it had arrived.

The TV and WiFi have to be paid for extra but if you go into town most places have free WiFi anyway and we had some films on our tablet so didn't need the TV either.

The only downside to the apartments is they are noisy, the walls are very thin between the rooms and for the first 3 days we had very noisy neighbours but after that were fortunate to have a considerate neighbour that we barely heard at all. The bedrooms are next to the front door so the corridor is outside and with other people/children walking/running & talking/shouting it can get noisy but that was the only downfall we found.

All in all we had a great holiday, would recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was very happy with my stay in the Cala d'or apartments. Staff are very friendly and the complex has everything you need on site. Close to the centre via steps (which didn't bother us) only €2.50 in a taxi if you prefer to use them. The apartments are a great size and have everything you need for a self catering holiday. The complex is very well kept with staff constantly cleaning :)

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool area with great views of the commercial centre & the sea in the dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Rooms at Cala D'or are very nice, all you could need for a stay!! Hotel clean and modern. Maids and pool cleaner seen every day (apart from Sunday) and all staff friendly! Good, but small bar area with 2 big tv's and a pool table! Small on site shop too, which is handy! Pool also small, but clean and a nice addition to the hotel. Also there is a space (outside area) to leave luggage on check out, which was brill for us.
Lots of steps to hotel and reception, but a good location for access to shops and bars!
2nd stay at Cala D'or and most likely not our last!

Room Tip: Top floor best for views and away from the noise from the bars of the Commercial Centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

just returned from 2 week stay here although the staff are very nice and friendly the place is infested with cockroaches they are every were we have stayed on the island many times and never encountered infestation like the i complained at reception who said they would spry the room I was then later given a can of fly spray if you don't like bugs stay clear also the sofa beds are not proper beds i am 5 ft 6 inch tall and my feet hung off the end

Room Tip: stay in cala nova
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Staff good. Rooms where spotless. Maid service excellent only two grips shower over bath no slip mats. So can be abit. Of an issue as my husband slipped the first day. Also swimming pool lovely to look at and was cleaned every day but was so cold. You could not venture in watched quit afew. People try only to reach knee high still. Other hole. Good value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were kept spotless clean as the cleaners are there every morning to make beds, clean dishes or anything you need done in the room. Rooms are very basic but spacious. Even though the pool is tiny a pool view is a must.

Room Tip: Pool view is a must. get a sunbed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cala d'Or Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala d'Or Apartments

Address: Avda Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala d'Or Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Cala d'Or Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala d`Or Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cala D'Or Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala d'Or Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.