We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - for the money we paid.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cala d'Or Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cala d'Or Apartments to your Saves list
Cala d'Or Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good - for the money we paid.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in June and there are a few pro's and cons.
Firstly, the cons
We've travelled to Gran Canaria, and Puerto Rico many times so we fully expected to see a few cockroaches. However there ARE alot of them in this hotel, as soon as we arrived I saw one scuttling across the bathroom floor. They were in the cupboards and on the floors. Reception did give us a can of spray to get rid of them but it didn't really work.
The lack of air con in the rooms was also a problem in June, the first night was so hot none of us got any sleep so we went and bought 2 fans from the town next day which made the evenings alot more bearable - this hotel would definately benefit from installing air con.
The dreaded sunbed snatchers are tolerated here, We looked over our balcony every morning at about 8am and always saw people reserving sunbeds which would remain empty with the towels over until midday or later while other people had to make do with broken ones/ ones in the shade and no umbrella (there aren't enough of these for the sunbeds). The management should remove these towels as it's very selfish of people to do this.. if you want to sunbathe then do so.. but don't reserve the best sunbeds then spend half the day in bed sleeping off a hangover!

The Pros.
The rooms are cleaned nearly every day and despite some reviews to the contrary, the ladies are polite and helpful.
The hotel is cheap and adequate as a base for a low cost self catering holiday.
The noise from the town didn't really bother us as we had our fans so we could shut the patio doors and block it out.
The entertainer there doesn't bother people if they don't want to join in which is nice.
The pool is a little on the small side, but it is ok for the size of the hotel.. we never had any problems with the pool, it always looked clean and well looked after.


We wouldn't stay in this particular hotel again because of the lack of air con, but overall it was ok. Puerto Rico itself is great for a family holiday.. it's always sunny and there's loads for everyone to do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    129
    68
    30
    22
See reviews for
142
122
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Visited these apartments for the 4th time 23rd October Till 3rd November.

Night porter was fantastic when we arrived, no issues with our requests, very friendly and spoke excellent English. We asked for a room 301 on the booking and got room 301 again no issues and a very quick check-in. Lift is a little dated but was working correctly.

Room was clean and tidy and ready for us, balcony door was left slightly open to allow heat to escape and clean air to come into the room. There is no air conditioning in the room but unlike other places its not a sticky heat and there is a slight cool air breeze at night. There is noise from the commercial centre in the middle of the resort but this is blocked out when closing the balcony doors and hardly noticable in the bedroom.

The kitchen is dated but has the necessary equipment for self catering families who like to cook their own food. There is a 2 ring cooker, toaster, microwave, kettle and sink. Our kettle was damaged but when we took it to the reception they replaced it instantly with a brand new one.

The pool temperature is satisfactory for the outside temperature in that it will take your breath when you get in it but this is only for the first minute then it is quite refreshing. The cleaners are out every single morning cleaning the tiles around the pool and sunbathing areas and also around the edges of the pool. We had no reports or issues of ear infections etc .....

The entertainer at this apartment is new to the job and is no where near as good as the old entertainer LEO however he does try his best. His english is not great either! however he is a nice and polite person and you only need to say No once a day to his games!

There is an onsite shop to buy the essentials for breakfasts / dinner etc .... Bacon / Milk / Break / Pop / Water etc.... The bar prices are not expensive either with a full english breakfast costing just 5 euro.

My advise is to try and get a room in either Block A or Block B and if block B on the 3rd or 4th floor. this is to avoid any flooding if there is a major rainfall. Stay in rooms 01 - 07 if possible on the 4th floor as there is a water tower on the roof which makes a racket if you are any closer!!!

There are quite a lot of steps to get to the apartments from where the coach drops you off so its not the best for people with walking disabilities / issues. There are also over 150 steps down to the commercial centre. A taxi back up is just 3 euro!!

The apartments also have 2 pool tables for the children and 4 computers which have games on them and internet access charged at 1 euro for 10 minutes. The view from the apartments is simply amazing, you can see right across to the other side of the resort and down to the ocean as well. Check out time is 10am and it costs 20 euro to keep your room if available until 4pm. There is a 5 euro deposit for the safe key. The accomodation providers themselves have their own entertainment on Tuesday - Sunday nights so if your not upto going down to the fun bars and restaurants you can stay entertained in the apartments.

If you do go down to the Commercial Centre, i can fully recommend visiting El-Trebol for food and then over the bridge to Snoopys and Donalds bar for music and karaoke.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the third or fourth floor in complex B to be safe from flooding from the rain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Lovely stay excellent value for money. Stayed with my boyfriend both aged 21 and 22. Hotel staff are very helpfull especially the bar man in the night very funny :-). Food excellent, this hotel is good for all ages entertinment everynight expect mondays. And all through the day. Rooms are basic but clean what more you want, we paid under 120 for two of us to stay here for a week and we had our very own private patio area with sunlonges for us. 101c . Cleaners came everyday and done good job. this hotel is close to alot of this mc ds just down the steps also purtio rico beach . Lovely stay cnt wait to go back next year in this hotel.
Ps for a great day out go on zig zag sarfia excellent day trust me :-) A

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we stayed in room 101c at the start of october just me and my husband we do not have any faults at all with this hotel, great apartment ours was cleaned everyday :) entertainment was great with lots of fun, loved the quizzes and bingo and shows that were put on, friendly staff would reccommend. the hotel is quite close to resort centre but has a lot of steps but that wernt a problem for us. we had NO cockroaches in our apartment at all only a few outside. the cleaners are lovely too, even washed our pots up in the sink. i read some of the reviews on here before we went on holiday and was quite worried with what i read but honestly i soon changed my mind when i got there absolutly a fab holiday and will certainly be going back to cala d or :)

Room Tip: we had a terrace and not a balcony so we had sunbeds much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My mother and I stayed at these apartments a few weeks after a tragic time in our lives in may of this year. we expected to try and unwind and relax for a week in the sun away from home. It was simply awful. the rooms were ok at first but every single night we had cockroaches all over the apartment. reception no help whatsoever frankly they don't give a crap! we did not sleep a wink for the week. i would like to warn anyone going to stay here that you will have visitors every night without fail. the year before we stayed at the Gloria Palace which was fantastic you really do pay for what you get. to say you get cockroaches everywhere is not true as we did not see a single one staying at Gloria Palace. do not stay here its just terrible.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Myself, partner and 8 yr old daughter stayed end of Aug and had a great time. The staff were great, even the cigar smoking, slightly odd fella on reception. The cleaners are fantastic and do a sterling job, our room was cleaned three times in 7 days. Yes it's noisy but rent a fan and have the door closed. We were also given one by a family who were going so we had two which was great, we gave it away to another family on leaving, hopefully it is still being passed on. Must say the only negative was that there were not enough parasols, we found people very greedy when it came to loungers and umbrellas!! There are some great restaurants around, but the touts can be annoying. Apartment was great, spacious and kitted out with all you would need, only saw one cockroach! Overall for a cheapy it has everything you need in an aprtment and location.....go for it :))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

stayed begining of september, staff are very friendly and helpfull, hotel clean and tidy. apartment was a good size, pool was lovely and cleaned every morning,weather was very hot and yes we did miss air con at night, and as you could hear music from resort below we couldnt open any windows, but we survived. resort is nice, lots of places to eat and drink. we didnt have any problems with time share touts only the ones at bars and restaurants trying to get you to eat and drink in their place can be a pain, some will not take no for an answer and can be rude. beach is lovely and yes there is a lot of steps down to resort but if you walk the road way its fine, hire a car and try other resorts and beaches, water park is well worth a visit. all in all a great time had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cala d'Or Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala d'Or Apartments

Address: Avda Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala d'Or Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cala d'Or Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala d`Or Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cala D'Or Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala d'Or Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.