We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would go again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cala d'Or Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cala d'Or Apartments to your Saves list
Cala d'Or Apartments
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
warwickshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“would go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

stayed begining of september, staff are very friendly and helpfull, hotel clean and tidy. apartment was a good size, pool was lovely and cleaned every morning,weather was very hot and yes we did miss air con at night, and as you could hear music from resort below we couldnt open any windows, but we survived. resort is nice, lots of places to eat and drink. we didnt have any problems with time share touts only the ones at bars and restaurants trying to get you to eat and drink in their place can be a pain, some will not take no for an answer and can be rude. beach is lovely and yes there is a lot of steps down to resort but if you walk the road way its fine, hire a car and try other resorts and beaches, water park is well worth a visit. all in all a great time had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    143
    70
    30
    24
See reviews for
154
140
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

javi the entertainment he is amazing he should have a pay rise he is so friendly he helps the kids all day he also plays adults games also the rooms are very clean the food is okay but i suggest you go in to town for a london kebab the best thing you will ever eat the down side is bad disabled acsess and no air con

Room Tip: get up early for a good sun bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellen otel, friendly staff , clean pool, only down side was small lift and the stairs to get not the hotel itself a nightmare with luggage :( other tha n that great holiday, great entertainment and great staff!! Love the karaoke bars and plenty of food places to eat! All at great prices, was made to feel welcome everywhere we went!! Definitely be going. Back

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks here and although the reviews are mixed our stay was pretty decent. Firstly the rooms are fairly basic but then you get what you pay for. Also we had 1 cockroach in our room over the whole 2 weeks but the back of my flip flop dealt with him, can't really understand people complaining about this, if you're going to have the windows and doors open at night, things are going to come in! The room was cleaned every day apart from 2 or 3 over the fortnight. There is noise from the shopping centre at night which people have also moaned about but this has nothing to do with the hotel. It's very hot at night but you can hire a fan for 2 euros a night which isn't bad. In general I would recommend staying here unless you're scared of the odd insect, hate the sound of people having fun or just a miserable old git

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Cala Dor is a fantastic hotel, and very well priced, about the ear infection is a lie because there are over 100 people in that pool and three people have infection because of hatred does not mean that the pool is in poor condition. I find it in bad taste to talk without knowing what it says.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

As soon as we got off the plane to being dropped at our hotel we where provided with a good service as we where handed a welcome pack which is always good due to the difference in language,
Our room was great seeing as we didn't pay massively for our holiday we where very pleased with the size of the room and was very happy with the well equipped self catering equiptment. We had a great balcony which provided us with lovely views of the pool area, puerto rico night life and the sea view.
Location was fantastic :) a 5-10 min stroll and we was in the heart of fab shops, bars and restaurants...we loved the food and cocktails...star bar is an absolute must me and my partner loved it...cocktails where fantastic.
Loved the atmosphere always buzzing

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have just returned from a week at Cala Dor. Can not fault majority of it. The apartments are basic but clean and well equiped. The bar man 'Cheno' was the highlight of the holiday!! Very funny and does his job well!! Entertainment was ok. As iv said, you pay for what you get!! Havi the entertainer was very good with the kids and helpfull with any problems. The only downside was my daughter and a few other guests suffered from ear infections from the pool. We reported this to the manager who quickly acted by taking the appropiate steps ie. water tests etc. The music from the bars below is loud but didnt cause us a problem. It took us a while to find a resturant we enjoyed but 'planet steakhouse' in the shopping center is lovely as are the waiters there. We enjoyed trips to Amdores (the best beech in my eyes), Mogan a lovely little quaint resort and the smaller water park in taurito which is better suited to the main one in maspalomas if you have small children. Its a lot cheaer, you can take your own food and drinks in and sunbeds are free to use! Overall we had a lovely week and would definatly return (if only to see cheno again!!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cala d'Or Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala d'Or Apartments

Address: Avda Gran Canaria 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Cala d'Or Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cala d'Or Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala d`Or Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Cala D'Or Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala d'Or Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.