We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaitero

El Gaitero
Barranco Agua la Perra, S/N L.2 (Puerto Rico) | calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 31, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
928 56 20 44
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 140 Restaurants in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fylde.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Great Birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant in March this year ( 2013) to celebrate my Wifes Birthday, it was booked for us by friends who live there.
It is upstairs over several other Cafe's and smaller Restaurants, who will try and entice you in. The food was excellent, the service very friendly if a little slow ( but the Spanish never rush meals), we were impressed bythe wine waitress who opened the Cava in an unusual way, its worth ordering it just to see her standing there with a mysterious smile on her face, then the cork just fell out as if by magic.
This is not the cheapest dining experience in town, but for a little extra, its one of the special occasion evenings to make your holiday memorable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    42
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE TO EAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What can I say a LITTLE GEM OF A PLACE. We dine here everytime we return for our holiday. The food is excellent and the prices are very reasonable. There is a great selection of delightful dishes on the menu something for everyone. All the staff are very friendly and offer a great service. Ramon (the owner) takes time out to speak and listen to customers, the waiter Mimon(please excuse me if I have wrong spelling of his name) has a great way about him, always laughing and having a joke with us getting our IRISH sense of humour. We have eaten in other resturants that may be known for their name! but this eatery is by far way above the standard they can offer, and its all down to great prices, great food, and how the staff make you feel. I have recommended EL GAITERO to other friends, they also had a great experience and retuned again. Already looking forward to our next meal here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent Christmas evening in this lovely Galician restaurant.

I have dined there numerous times and always top class service,extensive menu,,,,,Steak fantastic, fresh fish good.really enjoyed the wonderful Mexican Coffee display.
Thank you Ramon and staff for making our Christmas Day special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

They say its the small things that matter the most and I am afraid the restaurants lack of attention to detail was reflected in the food and service. We dined as a party of 6 and all decided to enjoy some fresh bread with garlic mayonaise to begin. My farther and I decided to share the Meat mixed grill (lamb, steak, chicken & pork). I was taken back by the fact they did not even ASK how we liked our steak, given I like medium/rare and my father likes medium/well it would have been impressive if they knew how we liked it. Needless to say the steak (which was a great cut of meat) was well overdone, more so that my father could not enjoy it. The pork was also overcooked and my father and I glanced looks wishing we had chosen cosi come sie (italian next door). My grandmother chose the sliced lamb (which she did thoroughly enjoy and praised). My mother chose the beef strogonoff which she described as bland and lacked depth and finally my wife opted for the beef steak which was 'average'. Lastly the little things...my brother asked for no ice in his drink, he received ice. My wife ordered boiled potatoes, she received chips. I went to the bathroom and could not wash my hands as there was no soap left. Overall it just felt very lazy. We all agreed we would not return

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our 5th year returning to this very well ran restaurant, as always the service was very good, although there didn't seem as many staff on although the staff that were working were the same as previous years that says something.

There was 15 in our group and last year there were 23 of us an each visit we have all been served our food together, the staff are knowledgable about the food they serve, they will make suggestions. For large groups it is worth booking as it is always busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaitero also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to El Gaitero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaitero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.