We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaitero

El Gaitero
Barranco Agua la Perra, S/N L.2 (Puerto Rico) | calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 31, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
928 56 20 44
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 140 Restaurants in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our 5th year returning to this very well ran restaurant, as always the service was very good, although there didn't seem as many staff on although the staff that were working were the same as previous years that says something.

There was 15 in our group and last year there were 23 of us an each visit we have all been served our food together, the staff are knowledgable about the food they serve, they will make suggestions. For large groups it is worth booking as it is always busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    42
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We are always remembered in this restaurant, and find the staff very friendly and efficient. The service was a wee bit slower this time, but there was a large party in that night ( I'm sure it was Maria Salina's staff party, a good recommendation from another fine establishment) My delicious champagne sangria helped to pass the time.
I had " lamb in stripes", roast shoulder in a lovely sauce, and Himself had a splendid steak. Fruit salad was my choice of healthy dessert,( but maybe the chocolate sauce made it a bit less healthy)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best food in Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Salt crust baked sea bass superb! Lovely Lanzarote dry white wine! Delicious banana flambe! outstanding service from Mimi, Ernesto and Ramon :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“El Gaitero - one of the best restaurants in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Food was good and staff were extremely friendly. Our kids (10 and 13 years) wanted to eat there many time. Good value for money, believe it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thingwall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice friendly restaurant- banana flambe not to be missed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

visited here twice on recent stay. as usual restaurant was good value for money with friendly attentive staff. The banana flambe is highly recommended and a piece of theatre to watch its preparation at your table

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaitero also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to El Gaitero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaitero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.