We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aka366” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Revoli Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Revoli Aparthotel to your Saves list
Revoli Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Mogan, 13, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Aka366”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We arrived at here and was allocated room 102. It was terrible, our outlook was a wall!!! There was a portable air condition unit in the bedroom vented out through the patio, and because the door would not lock because of this there was half of a broom handle on inside to stop it opening from outside. There was a hole in the bathroom roof, the aircondtioning didn't work hence the portable unit, and there was no toaster. We complained to reception and after 2 days we were then moved to 5th floor overlooking the road. We enjoyed the rest of our holiday at Revoli. The staff are very nice and helpful. We booked through travel Republic. I would return there on a high floor. The location is good and 2nd apartment was very nice and well enough equipped.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a high floor with nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    146
    44
    21
    10
See reviews for
206
106
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here in september.When we arrived our apartment had a view of the main road. There hadn't being a option on the website to select a pool view. After the 2nd night we had to ask to change as the noise of the traffic had kept me awake. Thompson were very helpful
,they moved us to a pool view apartment and they paid the extra for the upgrade.

The apartments are modern with good air condition system in the livingroom.The tv didn't seem to work very well. The kichen had everything you could possible need.

We were pleasantly surprised with entertainment and stayed in 2 nights for it. The evening happy was the best as it started at 9pm and went on until 11.Leo was the entertainer and he was very good.
Would suit a family but we enjoyed it as a couple.
Bingo by the pool every afternoon and i won €45.
Aqua aerobics everyday at about 11am which my husband took part in.

We didn't eat in the restuarant but it had a themed menu every night and a bbq buffet on the sunday. We had food at lunchtime from the snack bar and this was good and reasonable price.
Happy hour in the afternoon about the same time as bingo.Also it was nice to have music while by the poolside. There were games through the day to take part in.

Overall the staff were very friendly and accommodation is modern.
I was surprised that wi-fi had to be paid for.I paid for 1 day and used it on my phone.
I mistakely taught it could be used for more than one device and transfered the wi-fi usage to my husband's phone.Free wi-fi interenet access can be gotten in pubs.
However it would have being good to have it at the apartment.

Good location. Not too far up the hill and not too close to the centre,about a 5-10 walk to pubs and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Travelled to Puerto Rico with Thomsons recently. I phoned them before we travelled requesting a high floor, it took about half an hour to get thru to someone, but we got an apartment on 7th floor overlooking the beach - it was a lovely view. The hotel is modern and the apartment was spacious and nicely decorated. The kitchen was well equipped, there was even a bottle of water and a small bottle of washing up liquid when we arrived - but we only used the fridge and kettle. Had a bit of a problem with tiny ants in the kitchen but not enough to complain. Didn't bother upgrading the TV as spent hardly any time in the apartment. Paid extra for the safe, it was really big and easy to use. it cost 24 euros but you got 10 euros deposit back. The shower was excellent, lots of lovely hot water. The balcony was really big with a table and 3 chairs. Some balconies had an umbrella but ours didn't. The twin beds were quite comfortable but the pillows weren't. Our room was cleaned 5 times during our week's stay, she even washed up our cups if we left them in the sink.
The AC was good and not noisy. It was very hot so was so glad we had this facility
Everyone at the Revoli were very friendly especially the reception staff. As we travelled in October there were always plenty of sunbeds around the pool.
We didn't have any meals in the hotel so can't comment. Had a few drinks around the pool area, really cheap when it was Happy Hour. Had a good English breakfast at the Red Rose, Barbacoa and Harbour Lights.
Enjoyed evening meals on the edge of the beach - The Gran Canaria and the Golden Beach (Ana's). Also the steaks at La Cantina were excellent.
The Wigwam bar was great for cocktails and the Swing bar in the commercial centre had a nice relaxing atmosphere.
It was a bit annoying during the day getting hassled to visit other hotels and fill in surveys.
It was really nice walking to Amadores for a day on the beach (10 euros for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella) and we also went on a boat trip to Mogan, it cost 10 euros return each, Friday is market day so is very busy. It is lovely just walking around the colourful streets and sitting having lunch watching the world go by in a beach front café.
We decided to walk to the Europa centre - there are 706 steps then a walk uphill then another 93 steps up to the centre. I felt physically sick by the time I reached the top as I'm not very fit. The breakfast at Barbacoa was good but the shopping centre wasn't worth visiting, it might be better at night time. Walked all the way back down to the beach and my calves were killing me for days afterwards.
This was our first time in Puerto Rico and loved the resort and would definitely stay at the Revoli again.

Room Tip: Phone Thomsons to request a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Travelled with Thomson, (Couple in late 50s) Sept/Oct 2013 (14 days).
Airport transfer was 1hr 20 mins, we were coach drop off 6th out of 8.
We arrived at 10:30pm on Saturday 21st Sept.
The Revoli is built into the side of a rocky hill, with reception located on the top floor,
(6th floor). Scandanavian owned, it caters mainly for British, Irish and Scandanavian guests, mostly families. Passports left with reception overnight, and card key issued. This is simply held close to the room door mechanism, no slot!, you hear a click, then door unlocks. Power to lights, TV, aircon, cooker etc are activated by inserting card key into its holster by the room door. Fridge and small courtesy lamp not affected by this. Microwave, toaster, coffee maker and free aircon supplied. The working of the 2 ring Thor induction hob took a bit of figuring out. It uses touch sensitive buttons. Ideally, a little write-up with basic operating instructions for hob, microwave, aircon, and TV would be a welcome feature for future guests. 1L of bottled water in fridge, and small bottle of washing-up liquid below sink was a nice touch. Dumped suitcases, fancied a cuppa but supermarket closed. Reception suggested we ask for milk at the bar on ground floor. Friendly bar chappy gave us a free cup of milk, so cup of tea quickly brewed up, nice one., then back downstairs for a couple of beers, happy hour!.
Overall, had a great time at the Revoli Appts, though we had a few teething problems. No bottle or tin opener, but no issue , after seeing many strange Heath Robinson devices over the
years, we always carry our own, along with our tea bags etc. Bedroom wardrobe doors had come off their runners, making them difficult to move, I simply remounted them., and the bathroom door would not close easily due to a loose hinge. From my fishing box, I used my
trusty mini screwdriver to solve the problem. Rather fix it myself when possible. The shower enclosure was quite large, doors were tricky to set up to avoid flooding but managed to figure it out, also discovered that simply removing the metal drain cover made shower drainage much quicker, Methinks a bunch of lads may have had the room before us. We took our mozzie machine but didn't have any issues with bugs. Seems that Thomson customers are issued standard rooms on the bottom 2 floors. Living room and bedroom each have patio doors that open out to a large balcony ( 3 X 7 metre ). Our balcony faced out to the main road, though noise was not an issue. Several pigeons in residence, very tame. They even walk into your room as you watch TV. Do not feed them if you don’t want crap all over your balcony. Think that a chargeable room upgrade means a room on higher floors 3 to 6. Seems uplift meant slightly larger room with a sea view. we were in room 205 almost at the far end of the hotel, so a bit of a hike to and from reception. For glass, paper and plastic recycling, there are green, blue and yellow wheelie bins by the lifts on each floor. Judging by the amount of stuff going into them daily, there was a fair bit of partying going on.
Charges, safe was 2Euro per day + 10E deposit. Safe activated with magnetic lock inserted into safe door.Safe was very large.
Hotel Wifi 18E per week but signal little iffy by all accounts, and would only support 1 device.
There are 2 coin operated Internet consoles in reception, 1E for 15 minutes.
Took me a while to figure out how to produce the @ character, ( press Ctrl+Alt+number 2 keybuttons). McDonalds, and several local pubs and supermarkets had free WiFi for customers.
McDonalds prices were steeper than UK, (6 McNuggets+large fries) & (QuarterPounder+large fries) = 13E
Exit reception, turn left uphill, 150metres away is the HiperDino supermarket on other side of road, they have free WiFi, access code supplied to customers.
Litre of milk 1.34E, Litre San Miguel 1.39E, 2Litre pop 1.54E, 8Litre water 1.4E. English papers 2 to 3E. Closed at 9:30pm.
Revoli Hotel minimarket (closes 8:30pm) is on the ground floor by the pool, prices little higher than HiperDino. Next to hotel minimarket is a games room with pool table, darts etc.
Newish EG 26" LED TV. Free TV channels numbers 3 to 6 were Spanish with CNN news on channel 7. Using the manual buttons on side of TV you can scroll through the extra channel numbers 8 to 25, but they auto switch off after a minute or 2. For 3E per day, TV channels numbers 8 to 25 are activated, these include BBC news, BBC1, BBC2, Sky news, Sky Sports , ITV2 but no ITV1., plus few Scandanavian and Spanish channels. After payment, reception activates the extra channels remotely, I suspect there is some kind of dongle in the TV.
Maids were very friendly and attended 3 or 4 times per week, though times varied, sometimes early, sometimes later. Most room balconys got full sun from 10 to 5pm (Early October).
Told that sunbed reservation with towels dissallowed before 10am, but this still happens, despite that, we had no problem finding a sunbed after 10am, though peak season may be different.2E charge for mattress if desired., large umbrellas free. Pool is quite large and varies from 1metre to 1.6metre. Nearby is the small shallow kiddies pool. Lifeguard in attendance by the pool each day. Pool open 9am to 6pm. There was a games room next to the hotel minimarket, darts, pool table etc. Island touristy leaflets were racked up in the bar area. Used reading books and magazines also found here. Several notice boards in the bar area displayed restaurante menus, entertainment schedules, plus airport transfer pick up times etc.
Entertainment was very good, resident compere Leo was at the centre of most of it. Afternoon bingo in the bar, aerobics in the pool etc. The bingo is weird, the numbers are pre-recorded on tape, then played in English and Scandanavian. We had quiz nights, inevitable Parrot show, BBQ evening, Paella evening, Wizard of Oz show, Lion King show, Acrobats, horse racing night etc. There was a large Plasma TV in the bar area, most of the big UK football, F1 and rugby matches were on show, Each evening, the hotel restaurante offered a varied menu, choice of several starters, main courses and sweets. 12.5E per person, though we did not try these. The menus were displayed in reception and on the notice board in the pool area.
Happy hours (2 for 1) were frequent, 2to3pm, 6to7pm, 9to12pm. Large beer was 2.85E, various large cocktails 10E. for 2 (happy hour) Very nice.
This is our 1st trip to Puerto Rico, but 9th to Gran Canaria, so we have already done most of the main attractions, Car hire, Palmitos park, Yumbo, Maspalomas, Drag Shows, Dolphin boat trip, Island tours etc.
Exit hotel reception, turn right, downhill 250 metres to the roundabout at the local bus station and Post Office. Across the road, 300 metres uphill to the left is the huge Europa shopping complex, Mini golf, McDonalds etc. Bottom floors mostly touristy, clothing and electronics shops, plus a few bars. Top floors housed mostly eateries/restaurantes. As others have commented, hassle from restaurante meeters+greeters was a huge hassle.in the evenings. Best time to shop with less hassle was mid afternoon. Lots of Irish and English type bars about, many to choose from. Turn right at the bus station, then downhill to the harbour. We had a really nice-huge-roast dinner for 8.5E at the Mary Rose pub near the marina. Roast dinner also available for 10E at Yogies 250 metres opposite Mary Rose., Durty Nellys, 400metres uphill under stone bridge, roast was 10E , also Greedy Pig pub nearby. which was also superb for lunchtime and evening meals.
Exit hotel, turn left uphill. 350 metres you will find steps (Flippin lots of them), and footbridge
going down to the marina. . From here you get the various boat trips, Friday market in nearby beautiful Puerto Mogan (Little Venice) is excellent, 10E return fare in a glass bottomed boat, departing every hour. You may even see a dolphin.
Turn right at the marina and leisurely walk 2km or so along the cliff walkway to the Amadores beach, fantastic, and much less hassling than Puerto Rico. I took my portable fishing kit, and caught several smallish fish off the end of the Puerto Rico marina rocks, beware that fishing not allowed within the harbour. Used strips of bacon or cheese or bread paste. No fishing license obtained, but told that very unlikely to be pulled over by local plod.
Talked to one guy re carp lake fishing at a lake in centre of island, 75E for transfers, food, tackle and bait, but didn’t follow up.
Had a blast at the Revoli, all staff, maids, Leo the hotel entertainer, and Richard the rep were all great. I will deffo think about returning in future.

Room Tip: Room tip. Consider room upgrade to floors 3 to 5,(not sure of cost) bigger room, more sun. Avoid low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from a one week break. Room was excellent, well equipped and very clean. We stayed in Room 105, which has a large terrace with sun beds and table and chairs etc, a high rock wall for a view but it was perfect, totally secluded, no one passes your terrace and no noise from the pool or evening entertainment. We never ate in the hotel as the buffet menu did not appeal to us. We got fed up with the loud music around the pool, we used the hotel as a base. As the hotel is on a hill the walk down is fine and coming back was ok, we never needed a taxi and it took us about 8 minutes. The pavement can be a bit slippery but I wore flip flops and had no trouble. Once you get down the hill, to the left is the Commercial side of the resort, lots of shops, restaurants, bars that cater for families and very English, however to the right of the hill is the Harbour and Beach and more Spanish. We chose the Spanish side for the shops and restaurants and found our favourite restaurant Don Quijote, the food is to die for and service and atmosphere first class. We ate in there 3 times as it was so good and had to book for our last night as it is so popular. The other restaurant was El Toro ate there twice and again good food and service excellent. You do get hassled to eat in restaurants along the beach side but we learned to say we had already eaten and they just wished you a nice evening, no problem. We had a great time and very lucky with the weather, loved Puerto Rico and would return but would stay around the Harbour/Beach side.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful room chose rooms 100 to 110. Rooms with view of the pool will be very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton on Sea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This holiday was booked on the cheap, hotel was amazingly clean, maids every other day, and Leo the entertainer got everybody involved even though the hotel was winding its activities down before the winter and the Danish arrive. The bar staff Jorge, Silvo and Wilbur love what they do, which helps. A supermarket in the complex, and one of he few hotels we've been to which allow you to eat your own food and drink round the pool, the pool is also clean, organised and the beds aren't available until 10am which means they are available for everyone at a normal hour. Rooms well equipped and spacious , although we booked this through Thomson, and it had a Thomson kids team, which were virtually non existent and no Thomson entertainment, it was all led by Leo , who's employed by the hotel. Definitely will book again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend at the end of September. A great location only a short walk from the town and the beach. Free on road parking right outside which was handy. I did like the scales in reception to weigh your case for only €1.

The reception team were friendly and Leo the entertainer is a real nice guy. The bar is good value and especially so at happy hour. The rooms were very clean and recently refurbished with an adequate kitchen for our stay. A really nice balcony with doors from the lounge and bedroom. We did get an extra room key to leave the air conditioning on in the day.

Unfortunately my pillow smelt like urine but credit to the staff this was replaced before we arrived back along with all of the other bedding. I was a little put off by the pigeons walking under the sunbeds but apart from these things a well located, clean and friendly place. The lasagne at the bar restaurant is great by the way!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Revoli Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revoli Aparthotel

Address: Avenida de Mogan, 13, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Revoli Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Revoli Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revoli Aparthotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Revoli Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revoli Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.