We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Fresh Food & Good Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mattina

La Mattina
CC Las Olas | C/ Juan Diaz Rodriguez, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
928560616
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 140 Restaurants in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Wigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fresh Food & Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went here twice on our stay in Puerto Rico but wish we had had time to go more. Wonderfully fresh food. The host was more than happy to explain the menu to us and did so very passionately.

We had fresh pasta for main meals which were so tasty. Home made desserts are delicious - especially the homemade peach pie - wonderful!!! Nice touch to have our names written on them too.

Lemoncello also a nice touch at the end. I would definately reccomend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband, daughter and and I enjoyed 3 meals at this delightful restaurant during a 2 week stay. The pizzas were particularly good and also the home made lasagne and canneloni. I am a real foodie and run my own cookery school so eating out is a big deal to me and I am very hard to please. I was not disappointed. In fact we enjoyed the food so much we had our last meal at La Mattina just before we were to take our flight home. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner
Juan Manuel who generally works during the day and his father was there with him in the kitchen making the wonderful food.
Service was good and the prices are very reasonable. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wrong choice of dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

one night i ordered a pizza from their resterante and it was one of the nicest pizzas i have ever ate in my life so considering i was literally right beside it i said id give it a shot. I ordered the Carbonnara as i love pasta dishes. I dont have high standards for food really. When my dish came out it looked amazing! It didnt taste amazing though they use raw egg when cooking it so it tastes different than any other carbonnara. I ate bearly any of the meal. However my family members ordered different dishes and were amazed with them. Just make sure u know what your ordering. And as for the deserts there amazing i must say they made up for my bad choice of meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Food But Poor Service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The restaurant is very nicely furnished and the food is excellent, but they only have one waitress and you wait forever to get served.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Finally, good Italian food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'm an Italian American living in Spain, and I am always lamenting the lack of good pizza and Italian food. FINALLY I found a real Italian place with good pizza!!
We mostly stuck to the pizza because it was so good, but the appetizers we had indicated that the entire menu was great. The waitress was lovely and remembered us and our names when we went back (we went three times).
The restaurant was a little ways from the main strip, which made it nice and quiet. Although it's located at a strip mall, we hardly noticed while inside the restaurant.
We almost couldn't find the place. It's located at "Centro Comerical las Olas," which is through a tunnel by the marina. (We only found it because there is a small sign for the strip mall pointing through the tunnel)
I recommend the pizza and the Tiramisu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mattina also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to La Mattina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mattina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.