We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin spotting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animal Encounters Dolphin Search Encounter

Animal Encounters Dolphin Search Encounter
The Pier of Puerto Rico, 35140 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
+34 666 124 776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 19 Activities in Puerto Rico
Type: Tours, Adventure
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Meal Plans Available, Stroller parking
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Meal Plans Available, Stroller parking
Gloucester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dolphin spotting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Large catamaran with plenty of rooms to lounge to and from the dolphin feeding areas. Free soft drink with trip, but beer available at extra cost. The usual photo was taken at the start which was €7 per couple, some people bought it, we didn't.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denholm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Saw them!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Enjoyed this trip, saw lots of dolphins, 1 fin whale and many flying fish. The guide was very knowledgeable, and provided very much information. Not really a trip for children though, most of them were sea sick and were laid flat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No Dolphins”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Not the companies fault but very choppy and the catamaran wallowed a lot. At least 20 people were seasick and getting from our seats to the bar was very dangerous until aided by one of the crew. Did not see anything other than a few birds which according to various people is unusual as it was the breading season and there were plenty of dolphins and whales about earlier that week. Not a trip we will be taking again as for some it was 2 hours of purgatory.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sark, Channel Islands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The search lasted about 3 hours but we only saw about 8 dolphins for 10mins. Thought we would see more.
Never mind.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A disappointing rip-off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Based on various TripAdvisor reviews on attractions company Animal Encounters, we arranged the dolphin search / viewing from our hotel in Gran Canaria. We enquired about swimming with sea lions, but that attraction is not presently available. So we chose the dolphin search instead. We enquired about the use of Sea Scooters (which you can view on the website of Animal Encounters), and as we weren't sure that we would use them, we asked Charly to bring one with him. When he picked us up, we opted to not use them (for an extra €15 each, and they looked flimsy), and Charly responded with an irritated rant. We arrived at the boat (we had been warned about Johnny Tequila by Charly, on the way there) and boarded. It was almost full, or at least, there was just enough sitting space for everyone. That is, until about 5 people became ill, and the lower deck became a bit of a sick bay. We then stood outside for the remainder of the trip. We saw what we came for, the dolphins, which were beautiful and lovely in their natural environment. Unfortunately the experience was marred by Johnny's (unsure of his role - entertainer?) constant banter and unnecessary egging on. Later the boat stopped in a bay, where one could dive off and swim, or take the free banana ride. Lunch was served (paella cooked in the sick bay), but it was poor quality. Upon arrival back at port, we were all relieved to be back. From beginning to the end, this was a bad choice, and only the dolphin sighting saved this attraction's overall rating!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animal Encounters Dolphin Search Encounter also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Animal Encounters Dolphin Search Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animal Encounters Dolphin Search Encounter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.