We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don' t go there!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Guanabara Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apartamentos Guanabara Park to your Saves list
Apartamentos Guanabara Park
Bco. Agua la Perra, 2, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Puerto Rico B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don' t go there!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went to Guanabara for two weeks and left it after 3 days ! place is a scandal!
We were promise great deal from the travel agency instead we arrived to terrible , poor place.
I guess that all depends what are your expectations and what is standard of your holidays as I can't believe some good words said about that place. First of all rooms were terrible , very poor not saying even about the bathroom. And infested by little bugs and cockroaches !!!! only welcoming us in the room there was few in the middle! Reception closed during the nite so you can't even make a complain. We woke up with a huge noise as they were working on some other apartments from 8 am.
Apartments were very far as well from any other places on the hill. We had to walk at least 1h to the nearest beach which wasn't really nice either. We had to leave the place as it was impossible for us to stay there one more day .
We found another hotel and were extremely happy beyond comparison !
My advice stay away from this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A last minute booking for ten days . Myself and my boyfriend got the self catering option which suited us fine. Never cooked once in the apartment as we went out for dinner every night and there is plenty of options of restaurants. a 10 minute walk to little Puerto Rico and a 15/20 minute walk to the shopping centre which had a lot of shopping/restaurants. Taxi is recommended going back to the guanabara... only 3 euro 75 but it saves your legs since these apartments are directly on a "mountain". Apartments were clean and the maids were great ! fresh towels and cleaned apartments every day apart from Sunday. We had a BEAUTIFUL view of the marina and little puerto rico it was one of my favourite things... It was room 28A!The pool wasnt the best although we found a pool on the 3rd floor in the apartment de ingles directly accross from the guanabara pool and it was much quieter and cleaner! A little supermarket beside the apartments which was convenient . Not much for couples to do but loved it here all the same! Great bars / clubs in the puerto rico shopping centre definitley check out "Riders" ! Would consider visiting here again .

Room Tip: rooms that end in A have the best views from the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went for B&B option and got an apartment at the high floor with the ocean view. It was really nice and clean. Rooms were cleaned every day (except Sunday). The breakfast was a typical English breakfast (baked beans, eggs, bacon, fries, but also cheese, ham, some fruit and vegs). It was nice but no variety for vegetarians. The apartments are at the top of the hill, but for us it wasn't a problem. Taxi was very cheap, about 4 euros from a main shopping centre. The only one thing is no free Internet, wi fi cost 1euro for 30min and 2euros for 2hours, but only at the reception area. Staff were very friendly and speak good English. I would highly recommended Guanabara Apts for everyone without little kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

First things first, the apartments are way up at the top of a hill so anyone without a car will find it a real slog back from the beach but taxis are I believe about 3 euro so I guess not too much of an issue.

The complex was clean although definitely in need of some upgrading and the staff were extremely pleasant.

We travelled in August and temperatures were in the late 20's, the lack of air-con made sleeping a touch difficult but it was fine to leave the windows open as I understand that Gran Canaria has rules now for pest spraying (I'm sure anyones who's been to Gran Canaria in years gone by knows that cockroaches used to be a problem in the Canaries). We only saw a couple in the week we were there and only one in the complex (dead!!).

The week we were there the complex was full Spanish which was fine but I think they must prefer pool to beach as the pool area was very busy from early morning till the evening.

Just down the hill there's a restaurant called El Cenador, not the cheapest in the area but excellent food and still better value than eating out at home.

All in all, a nice location for a quiet getaway on a budget. Just bear in mind that air-con would be real plus!

Room Tip: ask for something on the nearest level to reception as lots of stairs to climb if on lower levels!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Beautiful views from the balcony. Complex was secured at night for our safety, every one had to leave & enter by the 24hr Reception.
The single beds had foam matresses in good condition, Settee & curtains looked new & clean.
Cleaners did very little - changed towels often but never made beds etc.
Not enough TV controls - they had ran out when we asked to hire one.
It took 10 min to walk downhill to nearest bars & shop, 20 min to main shopping centre.
For hill walkers this is a great location - numerous paths into the hills only 50 metres away, you could walk for miles.

Room Tip: Always upgrade to an appartment - more private,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Stanton Leics
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed here for a week in March, self catering. The room was spotless, and the cleaning staff were very good. The reception and bar staff were friendly and generally helpful. I thought that they were understaffed.
We were very disappointed with the restaurant food and would not recommend it. We only tried it the once though, so it might just have been a bad night. It's worth the effort to go down the hill to the restaurants at the bottom, there are some good ones there.
The biggest feature of the place must be its location, on a very steep hill (as is most of Puerto Rico to be fair). I only managed to get my wife to climb up the hill twice - after that she went on strike and demanded a taxi up! The taxis were very reasonable - less than 3 euros. You have to be fit to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

After booking this holiday cheap and last minute and readin some of the miserable reviews on here,I have got to admit, when we got off the coach I was a bit dubious. However,we arrived at reception,were greeted by a friendly member of staff and given directions to our room. Yes it was doen 3 small flights of stairs and no,no one carried our bags (good,I hate fuss!!) but it was easy to find. After nervously opening the curtains to see the view I was amazed by the perfect view of the harbour and the amazing size of the balcony! As it is on top of a hill (and what isn't in Gran Canaria!) there was a cool breeze and the sun didnt hit the room till about 11.00am so the apartment was cool to sleep and wake up in,but after abusy day shopping,the sun was on your balcony at just the right time to top up your tan! The pool area was clean and the bar served until the last person left,usualy us!! (amazing cocktails!) The entertainmet must have been upgraded as there was something different on each night,we stayed fro the reptile and parrot shows but went out most nights. The beach was a 1/2 hr stroll down hill or a 3 min taxi ride which reception will call for you. The shopping centre was another 5 mins and being Feb and not to hot,we walked most days and even managed Andores beach and hour away.

You do have to get used to upstairs moving around,it can be a bit noisy at first. There are only single beds but it took 2 seconds to push them together and it became the diggest bed I've ever seen!

There is a strip of resurants and bars half way to the beach if you fancy staying close and not walking too far

All in all,it was a lovely place. Basic and possibly shabby but clean,friendly and peaceful.

The maids came every day but never before 11.00 and any pigeon poo which may have landed on the balcony was cleaned straight away,theres not much you can do to stop a pigeon pooing!! There was a bottle of wine on arrival and our tea towel was folded into a swan,bless!!

At the end of the day,I wanted a cheap cheerfull relaxing holiday and that is exactly what I got :) You pay for 2 star,you get 2 star!...

Compared to the mud hut I stayed in in India,this was luxury!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Guanabara Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Guanabara Park

Address: Bco. Agua la Perra, 2, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Apartamentos Guanabara Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Guanabara Park Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Guanabara Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.