We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Purto Rico..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite to your Saves list
Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av Las Palmeras 5/8, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
“Great location in Purto Rico..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked sunsuites for one week stay Oct 26 to Nov 2nd with 2 children..when arrived was told by the lovely Adela that we had been upgraded to royal suites..top floor..a few steps to top pool area..fantastic.!! Room great..balcony around 30 ft square..sun all day..very quiet..food in middle pool restaurant very good and reasonable prices..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    228
    64
    21
    14
See reviews for
287
318
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in September and had a fantastic stay, check in was quick and easy. Very clean rooms and public areas. Very friendly staff. Huge balcony/terrace area with two sunbeds, tables and chairs. We stayed on the 9th floor (we asked for a high floor) so had to take two lifts but would recommend this floor as we had a sea view and you are not overlooked by any balconies above you. You don't have to hire a kettle and remote control like you do in other hotels in the canaries. The kitchen was very modern and included a fridge freezer and microwave and lots of cooking utensils if you need them. Room servicing every day other than Thursdays and Sundays. Two pools both very clean. We used the one on the top floor so great view too. The hotel is split into three sections, one of which is the other side of the road. It was quiet at night when sleeping. The pictures on trip advisor don't do credit to the hotel, to be honest I thought it looked a bit of a concrete jungle from the pictures but far from it, it is a great, clean and tidy hotel that is well maintained. It is only a five minute walk to the main shop/restaurant areas. It is very commercialised but every sort of restaurant you could want and all sorts of different bars and shops. There are about 80 steps back up from there to the hotel though but taxis easy to get if the steps are a problem which would cost you hardly anything. It is about a 15 minute walk to the beach all on the flat. Would recommend the boat trip to the market at Arguineguin, the stalls had great stuff, not junk and it is a big market. Would also recommend the boat trip to Mogan. Would definitely stay at this hotel again. When we were on the shuttle from the airport we were a bit concerned because a lot of the hotels looked really ropey so very pleased with our choice when we arrived. Would recommend going out for a drink at night if you are young, the entertainment at the time of year we went was a bit cheesy and included bingo. We met some fantastic people in the bars outside the hotel and they made you very welcome.
I will say we did have one cockroach on the first night in the bedroom (and boy did I freak) but I think he took a wrong turning because we never saw another one all week in our apartment or in the hotel itself. People have said to me they see them a lot in the canaries so perhaps the occasional one is to be expected. Don't let it put you off this hotel I think we were just unlucky seeing the one. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Request a high floor to get the views - recommend floor 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you had a fantastic stay at Servatur Terrazamar Sun Suite.

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolies
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

we stayed for 2 weeks in oct we got checked in quick we were in the 400s there were nice and clean there had a microwave fully kitchen big fridge freezer water was always hot beds were comfee fans on the ceiling nice pool staff nice and friendly 5 min walk to commercial center tiffineys nice cheap bar sun spot cheap m&ms very cheap. Spar cheap for bread and meat the one at the back of the shopping center for meals sabadans nice and cheap you get plenty DONT GO TO GREADY PIGS the food is frozen horrible you get short changed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

In October we stayed here for 2 weeks in all honesty it isn’t the best hotel I have ever stayed at but by no means the worst. At first I was shocked by the size of the place and the facilities in which it had however some of them could do with some refurbishment in particular the tennis courts. The hotel is clean and well maintained but in some areas it could do with a lick of paint. The only thing that put me off about the hotel was the entertainment is stuck in the 80’s but perhaps this is to do with the older generation which stays here. It felt a bit like Blackpool in terms of the cheesy music and bingo etc… however the positive vastly outweigh the negatives. The hotel staff are very friendly and more than happy to help they have a few swimming pools to choose from and the rooms are generally good with exceptional balcony’s in terms of size.

We travelled with a few others who stayed at the Royal Sun Suites which only cost £200 more for the 2 weeks however I now wish I wasn’t so tight and stumped up the extra cash. The rooms in the Royal were a lot more modern and came with a safe something we didn’t get however this is available in reception if you are happy leaving it down there. The Royal also got free air-condition another thing we never got however we paid the 60 euros for this. They also have a roof top pool which is very quiet if that’s what you are after.

Overall I would stay here again but will definitely upgrade to the Royal as the difference is vastly better. The location is perfect 5 minute walk to the strip and 15 minutes to the beach however if you are not keen on hills then think again or book taxis as it is a rather steep climb back to the top

Room Tip: Upgade for the free aircon and safe otherwise the cost on arrival will be higher than the upgrade co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed in Oct half term with my husband and son, who turned 8 whilst there. Can't fault the apartments, we were on level 5 in the lower suites block, very clean, totally quiet and of course, a wonderful balcony.
Large rooms, comfortable beds, loads of storage, great shower, and separate kitchen, so we didn't wake our don, who slept in the lounge whilst making a morning cuppa.
Bottom pool was lovely and relaxing, but more geared to the older Scandinavians, which we didn't want to ruin their peace with a young boy having fun in the pool, so we usually went up to the suites pool. Not the usual type of place we would go to with Thomas Cook entertainment etc, but was fine for the week, and our son could relax and enjoy himself. Some people staying in the suites let the place down.... Dropping litter and using language I'm not keen on, but I can be a bit of a snob! The loungers and tables need a good hose down, but maybe they were waiting to change for the end of season.
The town itself hasn't really changed in the 13 years since our last visit, real mixture of restaurant quality, some good, some dreadful. Really liked one on the cc ground floor, which was the most Spanish, can't remember the name, but was always busy, enjoyed happy valley Indian, the gran canaria restaurant on the beach was nice. Tried the highest rated restaurant at the harbour, costa mar? Not impressed I'm afraid, was fine, but not great. Dreadful meal at las Vegas steak house. Mama pino was quite good as well.
Had a day at the water park, which was brilliant for our son, most rides are120cm. The new angry birds park looks like it will be fun for the kids when it opens.
Weather was great, had a nice relaxing week, can't fault the apartments, just prefer a resort with more character.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is our 5th time staying at the Sunsuites but the first time at The Royal. We have stayed at the suites twice and the sunsuites twice and to be quite honest I could not fault either of these. each time the rooms were spotless. Balconies are huge with a table and chairs and sunbeds on the balcony. Would I go back to the Sunsuites Royal , probably not as they were such a trek to get to and frankly they weren't much different from the other apartments ok you got bathrobes, 2 sinks in the bathroom and a safe in the room as well as a dvd player but I come on holiday to get away from the telly not to sit and watch dvd's all day. To get to the Royal you need to take 2 lifts from the reception then cross a road then take another lift to get to the floor you are on. This would not put me off the hotel but I think if I was going back I would pick the suites or sunsuites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

stayed here twice best hotel and price its situated on the first level so lovely to get to all amenities
we had two apartments and had a very enjoyable holiday
would recommend this hotel
DONT GO ANYWHERE ELSE
you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: any room on any floor near the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite

Address: Av Las Palmeras 5/8, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite has 306 double apartments (9 of them equipped for handicapped), each of approx. 80 M2, whereof 40 m2 are terraces to enable you to fully enjoy our enviable climate. They are equipped in a way that you will feel at home immediately: telephone, independent bedroom (twin beds with latex mattresses), sitting room with TV (parabolic antenna), convertible sofa-bed and ventilator. Independent kitchen equipped with nice and practical cupboards, fridge, microwave oven, two ceramic cooking rings, a dinner service, glassware, pots and pans, etc. The bathroom with shower, electrical water heater and hair dryer. Sun beds and parasols on the terrace. Within the Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite we offer 48 upgraded apartments, especially equipped for your comfort - the Servatur Sun Suite Royal Apartments, which are intended for those guests who like a little extra comfort on their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Aparthotel Terrazamar Sunsuite Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.