We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, big balcony and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite to your Saves list
Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av Las Palmeras 5/8, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean, big balcony and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My other half and I stayed for 7 nights in July. The apartment was clean and the balcony was huge. We had ordered a double room, but, as per usual, were given twin beds. We pushed them together and that solved the issue. There were 2 large closets for clothing and the sofa was also a pull out bed, so could sleep 2 more people. The kitchen was quite basic, with a microwave and 2 hob cooker. The kettle was problematic in that it made the water taste horrible. We were using bottled water, and had to clean out the kettle, but it would still create a funny taste. The fridge was big and had a freezer.
It was over 30 degrees celcius whilst we were there, and the windows had to be kept open whenever we were in the apartment. There was an air conditioning system on the bedroom wall, but, judging by the leaflet in Norwegian, it would cost us €6 a day to use it! That was ridiculous.
The pool upstairs was okay, but the loudspeaker was distracting. There was also a pool across the road, but it wasnt open until the last few days that we were there. Most of our time was spent at Anfi beach, which was much nicer than Puerto Rico beach (only €5 in a taxi).
There were a lot of families there and the noise created by people running along the corridor was annoying, especially at night. Although it is close to the town centre, the noise was not a real distraction.
FOOD: avoid the main shopping centre as most of the restaurants are rubbish (there are a couple good ones on Tripadvisor). We went to the other nearby shopping centre (Las Olas) to eat at Cosi Como Sei (closed on Saturdays during the summer) and El Toro Bravo (so good we went twice!). Also, there are a number of Tripadvisor rated restaurants at the small shopping centre near Puerto Rico beach and Puerto Rico Base (where the bigger boats dock).

The reception staff were super helpful and booked taxis and restaurant tables for us. There was a problem with booking a sport fishing trip (DO NOT USE BLUE MARLIN) as they purposely overbooked and told us that we had made a booking for another day and when we showed up for that booking, they said that the receptionist had cancelled our booking, which she had not done. She tried everything to fix it, and then tore up all the flyers for the company, saying that it was unacceptable for them to mess up our booking twice. That kind of support was appreciated as it ruined the last 2 days of our holiday.
All in all, the Terrazamar Sunsuite hotel was a decent place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    247
    67
    22
    15
See reviews for
305
338
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great location,lovely apartment,huge balcony,freindly helpfull staff.Did not enjoy the pool area,entertainment 6 hours a day full volume,towel city most of the time.The other pool as advertised was closed until our last day to all guest except one spanish family(did they pay extra)?Asked to be moved to a different room to escape the din(room 1915)directly under the pool speaker system,which was not a problem.Would have been great if both pools were open.Better restaurants away from the main shopping centre.Grill costa mar superb,fish or steak.Complimentary pate wonderfull.

Room Tip: avoid any rooms near the pool if you want a bit of peace.Excessively loud entertainment 6 hrs a day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Puerto Rico Gran Canaria tips from Ireland/anywhere
1) Flight-it’s very long 4 and a half hours so have lots of reading material, snacks etc. If flying with Aerlingus, it’ll be terminal 2 you’ll be flying from- very poor choice of food so eat before you go. Check in online if you can-saves the queue. NB: Baggage restrictions are very strict so do not over pack. (DAA long term blue car park also does great rates for parking if booked in advance if parking in Dublin, free shuttle to and from the airport.)
2) Arrival at Las Palmas airport- get a trolley for luggage, they get heavy. If you have a transfer provided the rep. waits outside the main exit of airport and they drop you right to the hotel. (If you have no transfer, bus is the cheapest option (taxi 50 euro)- walk out main exit of airport but do not leave the building, walk to the right and go up the escalator, then exit the building to the right. The bus is on the right outside the building. No.91. 8.50euro each one way-NB have correct change. (globules.net for timetable) It’s air conditioned and takes 45 minutes. You will pass through few small towns. Watch out for Playa del Ingles-it’s huge. You’ll know Puerto Rico when you get there because it’s built into the mountain. The bus stop is 8 minutes walk from the apartments. Walk up the hill to your right. (towards Montebello apartments) Take a right at the phone box and walk along that road for 5 minutes. (Taxi is 6 euro but it’s really not far unless it’s the middle of the day-then it’ll be very hot)
3) Apartments- Make sure you have all paperwork ready. They take your passports but will return them if you ask the next day. There are computers to use in the reception area as well as a large seating area, a shop (dearer than the centre), bakery & a bar. The safety deposit boxes are to the left of the reception. It was 12 euro for a week and 15 euro deposit that you get back when you return the key. Definitely need one as the apartment balconies are all joined so someone could easily climb onto yours and break in when you’re out. (We never heard of this happening but it could!) Next to the safety deposit room is a left luggage room where you can leave luggage if you are checking out early in the day. (The apartments are very strict on checking out on time but you can stay by the pool and shower in the shower room before leaving for the airport.) The travel rep. also sits in reception which is handy if you want to ask bout trips but buy them down in the centre as they are cheaper. They have leaflets about trips in the reception area for you to take too and about manicures/pedicures that take place by the pool.
4) As for the apartments they are lovely, very clean and quiet at night-there’s a kitchen, bathroom, living area (even a small few English channels on TV) and twin bedroom. (There is a massive wardrobe-I lifted my suitcase into mine and just left it open for the week) . The balconies are massive for each apartment and you get 2 loungers and a little table, chairs & umbrella. Try get a room high up with a sea view, the views are amazing!!! You can email them direct for this. Our room was 1811. (on the 8th floor- 2lift journeys but a great view) The apartments have air conditioning too which you need at night, it’s 36 euro for a week! They give you a bottle of water in the fridge on arrival. Walk down to the spar in the centre to stock up on more. (We bought some 500ml bottles and filled them from the 8 litre bottles each day-we drank 3 of these in a week!! Take out the shelf in the fridge and the 8 litre bottles fit in and stay cold. 1euro 8 cent for 8 litres compared to 2 euro for 500ml in some places) In spar you can also buy nibbles, cereal, drinks, rashers, bread etc. They have everything you need in the apartment to make breakfast-microwave, hob, frying pan etc. The bakery downstairs does nice croissants and buy milk in shop in reception (it goes sour with the heat if you carry it from the centre!) Bring your own teabags if like tea. Do not drink the tap water- don’t even use it for brushing teeth- too many dodgy stories. We put bottled water in the ice tray to make ice for drinks before we went out. Also handy if taking water to pool with you. NB. Put out the do not disturb sign if you do not want the cleaner calling early in morning but you may not get clean towels if you do this. We just hung them out to dry on the rack after a shower and they were grand.
5) The pool is gorgeous, 10th floor one is best but there’s also one on 1st floor (across the road-you might be able to see it from balcony if you are high up) and there’s also a pool in sun suite royal (11th floor across the road). There are loads of sun beds around the pool-be sure to get one with an umbrella as a bit of shade is nice when you get too hot and bring your towel to lie on. We also bought a ball and a ring in the centre very cheaply. The weather was gorgeous when we were there 25-28 degrees every day. There was a nice breeze too, a little cloudy one day but still hot. (I had a light cardigan at night but didn’t need it most nights)The weather is very deceiving in terms of burning-loads of people got sunburn (But we didn’t-factor 50 applied generously & often, loads of water, a sun hat & some shade-also my bag strap rubbed off my suncream and himself forgot to reapply after the pool one day) The travel rep. is by the pool every day, there are loads of games & activities, water polo was fun and we got to know some other Irish people by playing. There’s a restaurant on floor 11 and a pool bar/snack bar on floor 10-nice for lunch. They do entertainment on floor 11 most nights too before people go out for the night.
6) Puerto Rico is laid out like a valley, all the apartments are up along the side of the hill and the centre is down the bottom. The shops, bars, restaurants are down there. There’s a shortcut down to the centre- (4 minutes walk) take the lift to ground floor then walk down road to right for 1 minute or 2. You’ll come to some steps on the left- go down them and you’ll see the entrance to the centre there. As regards shopping- electrics are the main bargain- i pods, cameras, dvd players etc. Then there’s loads of perfume shops, leather bags, purses, wallets etc jewellery and a little clothes. Alcohol & cigarettes also are very cheap. You must haggle with the price to get the best deal. The bars and night spots are all upstairs. Restaurants are upstairs and downstairs. The one annoying thing is the touts- people that stand outside the bars, restaurants, shops etc and try to get you in. Just say no thank you and walk on, do not stop and talk if you are not interested. A good tip is to look at restaurant menus in daytime when they are mostly shut to decide where you want to eat that night and look at the shops in the evening-it’s cooler then and there are less people around.
7) The beach is about 10 minutes walk from the apartments. The best way is down the steps to the resort and instead of going into the centre, follow the path through the park to your left. There’s a little tunnel that goes under the road that leads to the beach. The beach is very nice-loads of sand and nice warm water. The lilos are 3.50 euro each and an umbrella is 3 euro. Venetain restaurant by the beach does a nice burger and chips for 4 euro- it’s a good lunch for the beach day. There’s a spar across from the beach where you can buy water, icecreams even sandwiches. There’s also a communal pool area. The marina is lovely for a walk when the sun goes down. You can walk out to Amadores beach. We stopped in restaurants along the way for a dessert/ice cream etc. There’s another centre called Europa there with more shops, bars, restaurants etc. You can also get a taxi or the bus but it’s not far in the evening without the heat. There are also boat trips from the harbour but they are expensive. They do water sports by the marina too and buggies.
You can get a bus from resort to do any trips you like too. The timetables are down by the bus station. Walk down the road to the right when you leave the hotel for 8 minutes or so. The waterpark and Palmitos park (Large zoo with a great dolphin show) are on the same bus route- there’s a special of 48 euro if you go to them both. No need to prebook (despite what the travel reps say) the bus is only 3 euro, it’s half an hour away and its 2 days out. If you do one it’s around 28 euro each. Buses only leave between 10am and 12pm for these and they come back all afternoon. The market is on a Friday, it’s a bus ride away (do not book with a rep for this as it is a ripoff-18 euro each when the bus only costs 1.50euro) It’s well worth going to if you want to buy the goods I mentioned earlier but much cheaper. Haggle Haggle. It’s great for presents .Don't pack too much tho....few light dresses is all u need, its very casual there even at night, most people in flipflops & summer dresses on nights out, no high heels or anything like that & shorts/skirts during the day. Spent most of time in bikini...I brought two so one was always dry. The plugs are spanish so you'll need a 2 pin adaptor if you want to charge things.
9) Lastly just to mention some places we liked (Directions given as you stand at entrance to strip & look down the street)
The Restaurants are all very alike in terms of the menu- all served mexian food, steaks, meat dishes e.g. chicken, pork, pizzas, pastas. Some places did tapas. There were 3 indian restaurants and lots of chinese buffets. Best time to eat is around 8/9. Because there are so many restaurants nowhere was full and they were all buying for your business. Some will offer a free drink.
• Chinese Buffet upstairs on the right at the start of the strip- go hungry & early.
• Planet steak house-downstairs on the right at end of the strip- this was very busy and delicious.
• El Toro- upstairs on the right at end of the strip- t bone steak and scampi were very nice.
• There was a place we ate across from El Toro but up a bit-Garlic chicken was gorgeous.
• Murphy’s do a fantastic Irish breakfast from 3.50 euro. It’s upstairs in centre but at the back kind of behind Shamrock bar or along there.
• Shamrock bar-upstairs on left at the start of the strip, this is an Irish bar, hypnotist on a Mon is good craic. All acts start around 11pm.
• Dicey Reilly’s upstairs on left at the end of the strip, same music every night- very Irish- Say hi to Leah if she still works there
• Harvey’s is the main bar/nightclub but really doesn’t get going until late. What we did was have light breakfast in apt, eat big lunch out, enjoy our day with few snacks in between, have a few drinks in apt then head out for dinner, go to the Irish bars, the quiet bars/clubs (again some can be quiet, like the restaurants, because there are so many bars and they all want you to come in) e.g. snoopies (cheap drinks) then go to Harveys. Some places do happy hour all night (but charge more for the drinks) Others do happy hour only for one hour e.g. 12-1 but they do cheap drink all night and then when it’s happy hour you get one free when you buy one. Some places give free shots. Be careful-we seen some drugs around. But it’s pretty safe to walk back up to apt at night. Taxi is a few euro but we never needed it. Sometimes we had breakfast in Murphys and then didn’t eat til Dinner. Also sometimes we had a nap when sun went down as the sun plus late nights would tire you out
when you are leaving- the queue at the airport check in desk is so so long- so rush inside with luggage as soon as you get off the bus. There is very little do do or eat in this airport so eat a good meal before you leave & stock up on snacks. Also some more reading material, music etc is a good idea.
• Have a ball. It’s a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: high up-views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Holiday fantastic, apartments spotlessly clean, and excellent self catering facilities. The entertainment was top notch and my usually shy daughter was up dancing every night - first one on the floor!
We visited a few restaurants in the area, but San Miguel down in the commercial centre was the best.
The apartments were handy for the shops and the beach, there were always plenty of loungers for the pools, and the balcony was massive! Great for sitting out :)
We visited Amadores beach and Puerto de Mogan, both great days out.
Only downside was the looky lookys around the shopping centre, quite intimidating. But you get wise to it and tell them to bugger off.
Would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Myself and my husband have stayed in Puerto Rico many times, this was our first time staying in the Terrazamar, What a great place to stay, The balconys are huge!, close to the centre although no noise from there,clean and tidy, friendly staff, we were self catering which was great, the kitchen is like home from home, everything you need is there. We will be going back very soon. Special thanks to all the staff in Tiffanys for making our holiday special.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, we had no problems with this, although other people say to stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just returned from a week at these apartments, really enjoyed ourselves. Apartments very well equipped and nice and clean. Food at pool bar ( level 10 ) was very fresh and tasty and good prices, plus you could get a large beer for 1.50 euros!!! The walk to town is approx 15 mins depending how good you are with approx 80 steep steps, ok if you go slowly and a bit of a killer on the way back up but at least you walk your supper off! Walk to beach about 20 mins but nice walk. Beach area good and lovely and clean. The Canarian people are very kind and genuinely friendly people. Staff at these apartments are so helpful, nothing too much trouble. We stayed on level 7 and had lovely views. We ate at Las Farolas in town, very nice staff and good prices. Fun bars we liked were the Piccadilly and Downunder for music and kareoke, we had our 16 year old and 12 year old with us, also, Mascarade bar was good for a relaxing drink, lovely Lynsey who serves there was so friendly and helpful. Pool table only 1 euro all over town too. Mogan nearby is very pretty and we liked the Zoobar and grill, bit more pricey but fab food and nice staff. It is very clean all over Puerto Rico and good prices to eat and drink which really helps for a family holiday. Not so sure I would want to visit in the main summer hols as I think it would be overcrowded, but that's a personal thing! Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 5 days with my mother and we were both thrilled with the apartments. Having stayed in Puerto Rico twice before we both agreed that if we were to go back we would definitely stay there again. Rooms were very nice and clean and the balcony is huge. The pool area is very nice and the views are lovely. The staff were all very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite

Address: Av Las Palmeras 5/8, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite has 306 double apartments (9 of them equipped for handicapped), each of approx. 80 M2, whereof 40 m2 are terraces to enable you to fully enjoy our enviable climate. They are equipped in a way that you will feel at home immediately: telephone, independent bedroom (twin beds with latex mattresses), sitting room with TV (parabolic antenna), convertible sofa-bed and ventilator. Independent kitchen equipped with nice and practical cupboards, fridge, microwave oven, two ceramic cooking rings, a dinner service, glassware, pots and pans, etc. The bathroom with shower, electrical water heater and hair dryer. Sun beds and parasols on the terrace. Within the Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite we offer 48 upgraded apartments, especially equipped for your comfort - the Servatur Sun Suite Royal Apartments, which are intended for those guests who like a little extra comfort on their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Aparthotel Terrazamar Sunsuite Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.