We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartments, would definitely recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite

Save Saved
You added Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av Las Palmeras 5/8, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 69 hotels in Puerto Rico
Kerry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Apartments, would definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 12 days in June, apartments are lovely. Separate kitchen/sitting room/bedroom and a huge balcony with table, chairs and umbrella and 2 sun loungers. The apartments are cleaned 5 days a week. Pool area is clean and plenty of sun loungers available. Food at the bar near the pool is also very good and reasonably priced. Check in and check out very fast, safes are located in a room beside reception. Very close to the shopping centre where all the bars and restaurants are located, only a 5 minute walk. San Miguels Steak House and Happy Valley Indian Restaurant are definitely worth a visit and also down by the Harbour, just across from the Marina Suites Hotel there is a gorgeous restaurant called Grill Costa Mar, food here is gorgeous!! Will be back to Puerto Rico and Terrazamar again!

Room Tip: Pool is on 10th Floor so a room on 9th or 10th floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    198
    57
    20
    13
See reviews for
264
283
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

love this place just for the balcony. we stayed here several times. if u dont want to go to the beach or up to the pool u can enjoy the peace and comfort of your own very large balcony. we can be very antisocial so just lounging in peace is great for us. plus if u get sick of eating out u can pop to the hyperdino for some salad stuff and wine and relax on the balcony watchong the sun going down. we did tjis regularly. the whole complex is facing the correct direction so u get the sun from morning right through the day to the last ray at night. i cant praise tjis place more. will b back again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Apologies for the amount of detail but I think it is important….
We a family of four adults just returned June 8th from Spending a week in the Terrazamar SunSuite we had two a apartments side by side. Yes all the facts about the size of the balcony, location just a short walk down the road & steps to the main shopping centre with restaurants bars supermarkets etc. etc. are all true. One thing I would like to clear up which puzzled me before booking was - What is the difference between Terrazamar Apartments, Terrazamar Sun Suite and Terrazamar Sun suite Royal ????? here it is….. there are three completely separate sections each with its own facilities. On approaching the Terrazamar it is a one way road coming from the back of the valley (look on Google maps or Google Earth) there are apartments on the left side of the road, with what looks like its own reception area, there are apartments on the right, the Terrazamar Sunsuite where we stayed (which has two sections) and on the very top of this is the Sunsuite Royal, yet another separate section altogether.
NEWS Flash the lower section is mothballed – closed – the section on the Right as you approach is where all the main resident apartments and reception are operational. This section has two levels - reception ‘level 0’ up to level 6 & then level 6 to level 11 (up again is the Sunsuite Royal across a road). Each section is serviced by three lifts and absolutely no problems getting from one area to another. Yes, in my opinion, the higher you go the better; we were on Level 8 – Pool is on 10 – main restaurant ‘entertainment??’ area is on 11; there is easy access via a slight inclined walkway ramp from the pool up. The pool area has its own bar food which is fairly good and reasonably priced - full breakfast eggs(2) bacon beans sausage (good) toast E5.50; the same for the main restaurant; we arrived late Saturday evening and had food here it closes at 11pm.
The complex is old but reasonably well maintained; towels changed every second day, sheets twice a week, no maid service Sundays or Thursdays. Dishwashing liquid supplied - dishes are done for you if you are not in the mood to do’em yourself – a dish washing brush is supplied but this was left in the ‘bin’ area under sink so we purchase our own sponge for 40c (or bring one with you if you like). Toaster Kettle, Microwave, full size fridge, two ring cooker – enough to make lunch –NOTE the switch on the left is a timer, turn this first in order to use the main rings.
The apartments themselves are built into the side of the mountain; effectively the roof of one is the patio of the one beneath - hence the BIG size, the corridors also pass under the apartment above (see photos). This leads to a ‘Fair Bit of NOISE’ when movement occurs ‘people in’- ‘people out’ and especially those ‘housekeeping trollies’ – they can sound like a very big steam roller especially at 7.05 am!!! It’s not a huge issue/inconvenience, but could be??…..Cleaning starts early enough, from 9.30/10.00 am onwards, it varies.
Staff are very helpful and check-in check-out swift, SECURITY safe deposit boxes are located beside reception not in the rooms – maybe safer ???– a little inconvenient?? I’ll leave this up to you to decide. If memory serves me correctly the cost is E30 with E15 returned on surrender of safe key. Beds are very comfortable, good orthopaedic type ‘medium’, in my opinion, not a problem here. Hair dryer available in bathroom – wife says ‘handy’.
Check out is 12.00 swipe keys are disabled after this time; if you care as we did to keep a room it will depend on availability. As we were on the 8th floor there was availability but the lower levels were fully booked and unavailable – cost E30 - between four not bad…. handy in the event you have a late pickup, 5.15pm in our case.
SUGGESTIONS:-
Water - tap water is desalinated so best to buy drinking water in the small shop in reception it is too heavy to buy from the shopping centre and haul all the way back, go for the 5L container it is better value.
Super Markets – walk out of reception - turn Right -go down the steps - at the bottom go across the small foot bridge into the shopping centre. Immediately to your left is a SPAR; this is the largest and best one for choice; walking to the right half way down is a Hiper Dino and further on near the main entrance is another smaller SPAR.
MILK – you can buy real milk (see photo) buy it with the longest ‘best before date’ from the back of the SPAR cool fridge - AND MAKE SURE THE Apartment FIIDGE IS TURNED RIGHT DOWN to its coldest - milk can go off real quick. It is not delivered every day we bought our first batch on Sunday after we arrived.
TAXI – There is a rank right beside the main shopping centre - the cost is no more than E3 usually E2.85 or so. Best not to walk it can be a bit of climb up those steps & for E3 why bother!!!
Thomas cook reps provide ‘entertainment’ at poolside for families (and all residents) with young children, and some ‘adult’ activity – quiz – bingo etc. etc. – can lead to a very ‘structured time dependant day’, if you know what I mean. It is what I go on hols to get away from. My family were young once so I understand – the lad (John) and his two female assistants do their best.
The complex was not near fully booked –a sign of the recession?, in general can be seen all over Puerto Rico very low for June.
All-in-all not a bad place to stay.
Would I go bad to this popular accommodation… probably not.
Finally – after arriving home had to go to doctor on Monday; I came home with both ears badly infected doc says it was the swimming pool as I had the infection for several days - no one else in family had any problems but they didn’t dive into pool – bad luck or bad pool maintenance??? I Dunno.

Room Tip: Go for upper level apartment better view nearer pool etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

just returned from a weeks stay at this complex. We have been coming to Puerto Rico fro about 12 years and have stayed in lots of apartments. Of late we have stopped near Europa Centre however decided to have a change. Terrazamar is in a great location, basically turn right , down a flight of steps and your in the main shopping area. The apartments are very spacious with separate bedroom, living area and kitchen. The kitchen has toaster, microwave, hob and all the cooking facilities you need ( wash up liquid, tea towel and brush for pots all provided ). Beds comfy and clean. Bathroom - shower which was never cold and plenty of space - hair dryer provided but probably best to take your own. Long mirror in bedroom with plug - 2 spacious sides to wardrobe with plenty of hangers. Cleaner in most days ( she even washed our pots - what a star ! ) . Sunbeds on very large balcony - sun stayed on balcony until about 5pm.
Facilities great -,lovely pool area - we didn't stay much around the pool but when we visited it wasn't noisy - entertainment for kids, bingo at 4pm. Sky on tv in main area where last of seasons matches were screened. Internet access, bar and small supermarket for basics all around reception area. We stayed on 5th floor which meant up one flight of stairs ( or lift ) to 6th floor, small walk to next set of lifts to get to 10 th floor. Never waited long for any lifts and quite happy with 5th. Reasonable view from balcony - wouldn't recommend lower floors. Can't comment on food as never tried it. Definitely recommend these apartments - any single female travellers reading this - these apartments feel very safe and would be suitable. For book readers - there is a book swap but mostly foreign.
Regarding the resort - sadly ( for us ) it's very quiet and I would suggest that it's turning into a winter resort - only place that was busy was Tiffanys in main shopping centre probably because drinks a lot cheaper - lot of Irish bars quiet. Europa Centre had a number of bars closed ( Mary Dee's closed but was struggling in February) - we only went up there for one night. Would we return to Terrazamar - yes - will we be going back to Puerto Rico, probably only in winter. Hope you find this helpful.

Room Tip: Floor 5 then you're away from pool and main lift activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just got back from a two week stay in the Sun Suite Royal. Enjoyed our stay in a lovely large, clean, well equipped apartment. Thank you to Adela on reception for your kindness and the Thomas Cook team of Niketa, John, Ceri and Charlie for being fun to talk to!
We had the pool in the Royal to ourselves most days which was a novel experience!
Thanks also go to Jonny at the airport and for your company at MHT - a fantastic night out! Oh yes and not forgetting Jez for all the organising he did for us to make our holiday an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Royal is worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent a week in the Terrazamar in late May, all the reviews you read about the large balcony, friendly staff, clean and well equipped apartments are all true and, yes, the maid always did our washing up. Believe it or not there are some negatives to this hotel and resort - the bakery and supermarket in the hotel did not have much in it even when they had just opened, quite a few shops and resturants around were closed due to the owners going on holiday. The beds are very uncomfortable. The shopping centre is about 5 to 10 minute walk down some steps, the one thing we didn't know was how cheap perfume was there as there is no tax to pay. Beer and spirits are cheap but cocktails are pricey. The buses are good and easy to find as the bus station is only 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view and closer to the pool which is on floor 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been before and again just back. Can not fault the Terrazamar. We stayed in the sun suite royal at the top which is brilliant. Rooms are great balcony is superb and the royal has a separate pool which was lovely. May was quiet but great. Everything about Terrazamar is enjoyable. The staff on reception make you feel welcome and even the staff cleaning rooms every day are very pleasant. There is a small shop a bakery a bar down stairs and a bar upstairs with a restaurant. Not far to walk to the centre although if u use the stairs there are 79 of them. Used stairs to go down and a taxi back on occasions cost 3€. Can't complain at that. I find it difficult to get availability in Terrazamar which speaks volumes for the place. I will book direct with them in future. Look forward to next years week. Thank you to all in Terrazamar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite

Address: Av Las Palmeras 5/8, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite has 306 double apartments (9 of them equipped for handicapped), each of approx. 80 M2, whereof 40 m2 are terraces to enable you to fully enjoy our enviable climate. They are equipped in a way that you will feel at home immediately: telephone, independent bedroom (twin beds with latex mattresses), sitting room with TV (parabolic antenna), convertible sofa-bed and ventilator. Independent kitchen equipped with nice and practical cupboards, fridge, microwave oven, two ceramic cooking rings, a dinner service, glassware, pots and pans, etc. The bathroom with shower, electrical water heater and hair dryer. Sun beds and parasols on the terrace. Within the Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite we offer 48 upgraded apartments, especially equipped for your comfort - the Servatur Sun Suite Royal Apartments, which are intended for those guests who like a little extra comfort on their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Aparthotel Terrazamar Sunsuite Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.