We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Altair to your Saves list
Altair
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Avda Gran Canaria 12, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Puerto Rico B&B and Inns
North Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Overall I enjoyed my time at the Altair, I was there for two weeks with my partner and didn't really have that many issues. I'll start off with the pros of the hotel:
Firstly rooms are very nice, quite big and cleaned on a daily basis. The balcony is also very big. We stayed on the sixth floor, I would recommend getting a room above the 3rd floor as people can see into the these rooms while at the pool. The pool area was enjoyable and well maintained, the english girl serving behind the bar was very friendly and helpful.
The cons:
Obviously alot of the apartments in puerto rico don't come with air conditioning including these ones, the hotel offers fans to rent for 15 euros a week however when we arrived they didn't have any left (I heard certain families saying they rented more than one, this should change) and we asked about 6 times over the course of the two weeks to rent one however constantly none left! This made it abit of a nightmare as to try and keep cool at night we left the balcony doors slightly open which then brought all the noise in from the complex at the bottom of the valley (loud music continues until 4am). If they don't have fans you can go to the supermarkets/shops in the complex and rent fans cheaper than the hotel anyway.
We had a evening flight and were getting picked up at 6pm, however late check out was only availible until 3pm and at a cost of 20 euros so a bit pointless really. However they do give you a shower/changing facility under reception which is handy if you want to sunbathe while you wait.
Paying for the safe was abit steep however tv was generally good value.
So overall a good resort.

Puerto rico itself, the beach is very nice, for food we went to the complex on the first night however it was all very samey and you can't even look at a menu without getting dragged in to a restaurant so we ended up dining at the complex next to the beach for the rest of the holiday where there was plenty of lovely restaurants (rhodes greek restaurant and the italian next to it were amazing) . However there was a good restaurant called pinoccios in the complex which was authentic italian and only did italian unlike the other "Italian" restaurants in the complex which were also Steakhouses, Mexican, Spanish and Chinese!

Room Tip: Top three floors as no privacy on bottom three floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    90
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
36
137
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Altair is a beautifuly presented aparthotel,one of the best we'v stayed in at Puerto Rico.Having recently undergone a refurb you can tell the rooms are very modern with up to date decor and furniture.There is a good kitchen in the room with all the facilities you would need for self catering.Lovely balcony.I notice a few people have mentioned the steps but if anyone knows the resort then you should know what to expect,its built on two hillsides with all the bars,restaraunts and shops in the valley bottom.I actualy think the hotel is in a perfect position for the resort,near to the beach,harbour and of course the shopping centre.And of course,there are the steps,but if they do realy cause a problem then a taxi is only 3 euros.Lovely hotel,great value,nice pool area and a great pool bar.Special mention to Chantelle,you were brilliant.Thanks for all your help.Great holiday,great position,great hotel.Nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We originally booked cala d'or but got moved here as it was full. we were really pleased with the hotel. The rooms were nice and spacious and clean. We got a ground floor place looking over the pool. Which was good and bad. privacy was a bit compromised but we just stuck sheets over the balcony and problem solved. We only had one or two incidents with cockroaches but nothing serious. just keep doors closed in the evenings.

the sunbeds were quality. very comfy for snoozing at the pool. pool was small and shallow but suited us to only use it to cool off. good location too as once you head down the 2 sets of steps you are right at the centre
we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: go for a slightly higher floor for security and to be away from bugs (not many though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Overall we had a thoroughly good holiday here. There are a few minor problems (aren't there everywhere?) but the pros outweigh the cons by quite a bit. Here's my verdict on both.

The good stuff:- Very clean inside and outside the apartments and the grounds are well-maintained. Furniture and fittings were of good quality and the rooms and balcony were very big. The pool area was very enjoyable - the bar (and Chantelle in particular) were very good indeed. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Not too many kids around - possibly the time of the year though. Probably the best apartment we've stayed in anywhere.

The not so good stuff:- We couldn't work out the logic for cleaning the apartments and changing the towels and bedclothes. They where swept out and the beds made sometimes day after day but at different times - then not for a day or even two. Although the towels were changed 3 times in two weeks, the sheets were only changed once in two weeks - maybe they looked clean! We like to cook and the lack of an oven (apart from the microwave) was a bit of a bind. The poolside bar closing at 6 was a shame. Minor problems really.

Some of the things stopping Altair from receiving a five star review from me are slightly beyond their control - noise from the nightclubs and the number of steps up and down to the town.

Others have complained re no air-con and charges for tv and internet but they can't be expected for the price you pay to stay here. I've paid at least as much in top-rated hotels in the UK.

Best advice. Hire a fan for 10 euros a week - put it on at night and you won't hear the night club noise too much and you'll stay cool at the same time. Walk down the 200 steps into town but get a taxi back for 3 euros - especially if you are carrying a lot of shopping! Find the little shop about a couple of hundred yards away - saves going into town. Eat at Minannas restaurant - possibly one of the best sirloin steaks I've ever had.

Would I go back - yes I would.

Room Tip: Not floors 1 or 2 - you can see into the rooms from the poolside through the glass balcony fronts. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

These apartments are excellent value for money. You get exactly what you pay for. Towels are changed most days except for Sunday and Tuesday and bed linen seemed to be every other day. All the staff were lovely. Pool area well kept. Would definitely stay here again if I ever was coming to Puerto Rico again. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Am staying here at the moment..rooms and staff are lovely,just what you need for self catering.
My only complaint is that we are on the first floor and it overlooks the pool so there is no privacy at all and the noise from the pool is loud throughout the day so we have to shut the Windows which makes the heat unbearable at times.
t tried to change to a higher level but apparently they are full up.
People are up in their nightclothes from 7am putting towels on Sun loungers then you dont see them again until 10/11am
There are exactly 187 steps down to the main street..we walked up them first night..won't be doing it again!

Room Tip: The higher the better for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Aug, the apartments were very clean on arrival, the maids seem to come in every day but linen and towels not changed tgat often. The apartments def need air con or be supplied with fans the heat in the room was ridiculous at times. The pool area was ok however it got busy and people were putting the towels out 1st thing (very annoying) so we stayed away from the pool and went in the evening and more often than not had it to ourselves. Location is ok, all but 200 stairs to walk down to the town walking down fine walking up is a mission! However taxi's only €3 if feeling lazy. You can hear the music from the town, its not really really bad just more the bass of the music. At the end of the day this isn't the most expensive place to stay and as they say you get what you pay for. I was actually surprised how nice the apartments were! Although we may not return (&thats more todo with the town than the apartments) its def value for money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altair

Address: Avda Gran Canaria 12, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altair 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altair Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.