We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first holiday ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Del Sol Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castillo Del Sol Apartments to your Saves list
Castillo Del Sol Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Gran Canaria, 11, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My first holiday ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was my first holiday away, and I loved it here! Very very friendly staff! Rooms were nice and clean, cleaned every second day. Great views. And it such a great location the only down sides were that you had to pay to hire out a kettle.. The bathroom had an awful smell and also you weren't allowed to have visitors in to your room unless they were staying in the hotel aswell.. But overall I love it! Will definitely be going back!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    110
    53
    12
    10
See reviews for
62
131
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I wanted a budget break in the sun in January before an important hospital appt. and we chose these apartments knowing the resort and looking at the reviews. On arrival we had a really friendly and helpful greeting at reception, it was a good start. The apartments do need a refurb. and paint job as the furniture was chipped and the towel holders in the shower room was rusty, but having said that it had everything you need for a self catering holiday and everywhere was spotless. We didn't bother with a TV as we weren't in our room much and spent most of our time on the beach or out for meals.
Yes, there are a lot of steps but they aren't too steep and there are hand rails all the way down. If you want to go further afield the hotel will call you a taxi for 50 cents and they arrive in minutes.
There is a pool bar that does meals which is handy.
Would go there again.

Room Tip: All room face the pool, the centre and you can see the sea too. There was some noise from the clubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Me and two friends stayed here in January, the hotel is in a good location but with a lot of steps to walk down to get to anywhere. You can get a taxi from the town to the hotel for about €3 worth it after a night out. The rooms really need a update very tired decor but the hotel is very clean, so the money you pay you can't complain. We never got a chance to go in the pool as it was freezing but it looked very well cared for. Over all this hotel is clean and in a good location and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

back again this is our fifth year on the trot,apartments basic and clean and good value for money
Lorraine is no longer there to entertain us but Domingo did a fair job of trying to fill her shoes.
We will return again next year.
PS thanks to Raquel on reception yet again marvelous

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

my partner and i stayed here last september for a week. we had the best holiday, staff are great ,appartments and building spotless staff work so hard. Everyone so friendly and pool entertainment is good .we spent most of our nights having a good laugh with the entertainment available,and only went into the town for one night which we also enjoyed.Within 3days of being back home we had already booked for us to go back in june this year and really looking forward to it.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 5 floor which we found perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I O M
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for christmas & new year our first time at Castillo De Sol Apartments.
The hotel is simple and very clean, but for the price you can't really moan. the staff are fantasic and really friendly.

Domingo "rocks"

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here on New Year's Day 2014, the hotel is simple and very clean, but for the price you can't really moan. the staff are fantasic and really friendly also. It's about a 15 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the main shops. There is also a small supermarket right next to the hotel which is quite cheap. The only down point I would say is that the sun doesn't catch the hotel until about 12 mid day however that's not the hotels fault. I would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Del Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Del Sol Apartments

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria, 11, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castillo Del Sol Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castillo Del Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Del Sol Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Castillo Del Sol Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Del Sol Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.