We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tracy tennant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Del Sol Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castillo Del Sol Apartments to your Saves list
Castillo Del Sol Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Gran Canaria, 11, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tracy tennant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ended up in the Costello 3 yrs ago by mistake and been back there every year since, the staff are lovely and polite. We met people there 3 yrs ago and we all meet up there in jan every year it's home from home we love it. And Lorraine the hotel entertainer is just the best she makes everyone so comfortable and welcome feel like we have known her forever infact she is one of the main reasons we all go back there would recommend these apartments for anyone young or old . We just love the Costello .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    111
    53
    12
    10
See reviews for
62
131
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

stayed in quite alot of apartments over the years of comming to puerto rico.But if its clean ,and comfortable value for money accomodation you want, this is the place for you. this was our third year of winter sunshine at these apartments and what a g8 time we had. cleaners work tirelesly keeping the place spotless, raquel on reception (our little diamond) is extremley helpful, nothings to much trouble and lorraine the entertainer....she is simply the best. The icing on the cake was to see Lynne & Kevin again our friends of previous stays at the castillo. which made our holiday so much more better. THANK YOU. looking forward to next year hope to see you all then

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

back again! been coming to puerto rico on and off for last 22 years.we found the castillo
by mistake 4 years ago and have returned there 4 times since.we come now in january
every year for the winter sunshine and again were not dissapointed.we come back for the weather but also because we like these apartments and the staff there.the reception staff are great especially raquel who will do anything for you and then there is lorraine well what can i say she goes out of her way to make everybody feel welcome and does all the entertainment on site.all i can say is thank you lorraine you are one of the reasons we return year after year and will continue to do so, we now regard you as a friend and look forward to seeing you next year.
ps thanks for the tinned tomatoes!! . when you are at the apartments you will also find that everybody talks to each other as it is a small complex.
take no notice of any negative reviews as this is a 2 star hotel not 5 star,they are basic but most of the apartments are in puerto rico unless you pay alot of money for them.we paid about £800 for 14 nights which i think is very reasonable for what you get very clean basic accomodation .Lastly must mention dennis & dawn who we meet 3 years ago and have now
become friends with through meeting at the castillo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

stayed at the castillo 5jan for 9 nites. been here b 4 about 5years ago, the managment,, cleaners and rest of the staff are very accomadating, polite, attentative, and very good at there jobs. cant realy ask for better.
the apts are getting a little tired now, but are very clean and well looked after, we realy enjoyed r stay there. they are in a very good position especialy if you enjoy the sunshine which got onto the swimming pool about 10-45am everday until it went down about 6-30pm it was great.
oh i must mention lorraine, the entertainment lady, wot a very good job she does trying to entertain everyone, she has so much energy and is so bubbly (hope i have as much get up n go when im as old as you girl, only kidding) she realy is a nice friendly person, as is jess the rep from t/cook. so if u want a realy nice friendly place to stay this is it folkks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Was here for a week in Dec'12 and I couldn't fault the place! With a 2 star apartment and a ridiculously cheap price I was expecting the worst but wanted some winter sun... I was pleasantly surprised! The apartments are very clean (including showers and kitchen appliances). Although we barely used the kitchen as to eat out was so cheap, and there was just the 2 of us. There is pretty much a full kitchen however - loads of pots and pans etc, an oven, hob, microwave, fridge and small freezer. There is TV and wireless you can pay for, but there are 2 computers you can pay a few cent to go on the internet for in the lobby and realistically who needs it with the weather! Our towels were changed 3 times during the week and the room was cleaned every day. There is no hair dryer but you can pick one up for about €15 down the road! I saw below people complaining about no kettles but sure there's pots and a hob so you can boil the water yourself!

Lorraine (the hotel's entertainment!!) is brilliant with kids and adults alike, with pool side activities and karaoke/bingo/quizzes at night time... A lovely lady and really gets everyone involved but doesn't pick on you if you're not interested either!

There are a lot of steps up to the hotel but the taxis are 3/4€... I was happy of a bit of exercise after the lovely food in the centre anyway!

I had a completely hassle free holiday with these apartments (which i booked through lowcostholidays.ie) and would recommend it to young couples (which we are), families and elderly people also.

Room Tip: I noticed the ground floors were not very private as the opened out right onto the pool - but this c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to Castillo Del sol and I hate to say .... it may be our last !! I am very reluctant to give a bad review cause as always the staff are so friendly & attentive but that's just not enough when your on your holidays wanting a nice relaxing break away. I hope they take on board and read these reviews so they can hear what there customers have to say cause I don't seem to be the only person saying this !!

ROOMS : The rooms are in need of some major TLC more so the bed linen, it was disgusting & I'm not confident the wool sheet in the wardrobe (which you use if you need it) has been washed for a while. There was all mattered hair & cigarette burns in them and the pillows were so lumpy and misshaped making it very hard to sleep unless you'd had a load to drink !! the actual pillow underneath the case was filthy. My dressing table light wouldn't work unless you fiddled around with it and the shower only stayed hot for a short time. The room itself is clean & spacious as is the balcony.The cleaners are really friendly and hard working , changed our towels every other day and left our room nice and tidy for our return. We had a kettle because wed booked through Thomas Cook. I think if you book seperate flight and room you have to hire the kettle.

POOL ; Finding a suitable sun bed became a on going joke in our group. There were 9 of us. If 9 of us were to grab a sunbed each at least 5 would be broken !! ridiculous. The pool area is cleaned all the time its very spacious with plenty of sunbeds to choose from (good job isnt it) .. The bar food is nice but the 1 bar staff on duty doesn't only serve you at the bar but makes your food . so if there's a few at the bar your food wont get started until there's no customers OR if there making your food in the kitchen then you wont get a drink until they finished preparing your food . Its not rocket science , get another member of staff !!! Now heres the important part ... BEER :) Its only 2euro a pint and the beer is Amstel .. really refreshing and served in frozen pint glass's .. Happy hour is 4-5 and its BOGOF so thats 1euro a pint ..happy days :) The soft drinks are very dear 2.50euro for half so if you go to the shop literally on the door step you can save yourself a fortune on ice creams, pops etc ...

RESORT: As we were a mixed group of ages ranging from 36 - 63 we dined out some evenings and party'd others. As we've been to PR at least 8 times we have tryed and tested most restaurants and bars. We would highly recommend

Chinese - buffet style called Shanghai chinese wok (which you can see from the apart balcony)

Indian - forget the name but its towards the beach to the left by the harbour - ask for the portonova hotel .. its by there and very reasonable and gorgeous.

Steak - Harrys ... he dos proper hand cut chippy chips as well ... mmmmmm - he also has a kebab shop/chip shop at piccadillys karaoke bar and that is awesome.

Bars ; Piccadillys karaoke bar, Harp bar live singers, stay away from Harleys bar its a rip off . Most bars youll get 2 pints 4Euro , 2 smirnoff ice 4euro ask for there offers cause you can get some good deals ..

and a must see (not for the boring , not up for a laugh people) Barbacoa up at the Europa centre.
Drag act called Trixie lyx so funny and entertaining .. hes on Tuesday and saturdays 9pm. DONT MISS IT.

Hope you've found my review helpful. If youve been PR before then you know what your getting , lots of steps and chavyness if its your first time go for it ..we took my parents for the first time 4 years ago and they come 3 times a year now :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerod, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed several times in Castillo de Sol, so we knew what to expect. But we got very surpriced, when we entered the apartment - always at the top floor - away from the pool ;O) the apartment was renovated - and painted. The bathtub taken away - in stead a nice shower niche.
We always go to the center for dinner and entertainment in the evening ( 165 steps) and if you have some drinks and do a bit of dancing, you get so tired, that you will not hear the noice from Harleys. We will certenly stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor - away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Del Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Del Sol Apartments

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria, 11, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castillo Del Sol Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castillo Del Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Del Sol Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Castillo Del Sol Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Del Sol Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.