We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our very nice stay, May 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Villas to your Saves list
Sunshine Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   C/ Gavilan s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“our very nice stay, May 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in one of the five villas next to each other that make up sunshine villas at the end of May 2012. We had a fantastic time; there is plenty of room for everyone. We went with my family and my mum has recently had a knee operation and finds it hard to walk far, so she had the ground floor double room, this meant she didn’t need to negotiate any stairs. The kitchen and one of the bathrooms are on the ground floor.
There are some very nice bars and restraints about 5 minutes walk away (down some stairs on a path through a nice park). The sea front is about 15 minute walk down hill.
Overall a very nice and well equipped villa with washer dryer/ dishwasher.
The only let down was having to pick up the keys from a hotel about 3km away. The directions from James villas were good, but some other people who came to stay said there travel agent didn’t give them key pick up details and they had to get a taxi there.. So make sure you have the key pick up details before you go.
Lots of taxi ranks and taxis around and you could get round Puerto Rico for about 5 Euros.
Lots of hotels around but I don’t think you will get a villa closer to the sea front.
I would definitely recommend this villa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sastamala, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were Sunshine Villas in January 2012, and we loved this villa everything was just perfect.
Pool was heated and clean (gardener was cleaning it almost everyday). Villa was very clean and exam. in kitchen you can find everything what you need for cooking. Aircondition worked perfectly, it was cooling and also heating. There was always warm (hot) water in a shower, early in the morning to the late night. Very nice and quiet athmosphere allthow there is small shopping center nearby just 150metres away. There is 5 villas and all villas has own private garden with pool. Whole area is fenced and gate is allways locked. Villa´s key fits also the gate.
We loved it so much that we have already booked second trip for this spring.
We recommend Sunshine Villa for everybody, couples, familys, friends,....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director Comercial at Sunshine Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
We love to read that our customers are happy with their holidays, we do our best to make them enjoy a perfect holiday, and reading this is the prize of our work. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment, and looking forward seeing you again with us this spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Excellent villa, ideally located, well furnished, plenty of room and very comfortable. Outside areas well furnished with well padded chairs and sun loungers. The pool was small but great .

The keys have to be collected from the Hotel Riosol which is some distance away and there is only one set of keys which can be a bit awkward if there are two couples in the villa.

There are plenty of good and very good restaurants in easy walking distance. The sea is just down the road. The area is very quiet and peaceful.

The price for a week in January was very reasonable and good value considering what you a re getting. The weather was ideal, sunny and warm with a mild breeze. We grandparents eally enjoyed the villa as did grandson and his parents.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronninglund, Denmark
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed one week in this fine villa in Puerto Rico. This was the best villa we ever rented. Large rooms and well equiped with furniture - and a nice pool in the garden. Spectacular view to the sea and mountains. Everything in walking distance - beach, marina, supermarked and restaurantes. We can highly recommend this villa to families and friends who wants to spend their holiday in sunny Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

UK/2011

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Just returned from a 10 day break at the Sunshine Villas. We`ve been going to Puerto Rico for 10 years,and stayed in low budget apts and 4 star Hotels, but the Sunshine Villas are the best place we`ve stayed in.
On arrival we found a welcome pack in the fully equipped kitchen, water,milk etc, all the rest of the rooms were spacious and well decorated.
Villas have air con, although only 2 of the 3 bedrooms are air conditioned.
Whole place was very clean and tidy, gardener, pool man and maid did an excellent job.
Villas are located in the quieter part of Puerto Rico, with only a few steps leading up to entrance.
Free WIFI in a small reception room next to one of the villas.
All in all an excellent holiday, we would highly recommend the Sunshine Villas.
We`ll be booking up again next year, can`t see us staying anywhere else from now on!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We spent a wonderful holiday week with our family in Sunshine Villas, Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria. Sunshine Villas consists of five independent houses, each with a heated swimming pool and a small garden. The whole estate is gated, so there is no danger of people passing by your lawn. The first impression when we arrived was very good. The house was immaculately cleaned, the rooms big, the furniture in very well condition. The kitchen was well equipped, as we like to cook. The gardener came almost every day. Gardens and pools are tidy. The cleaners did also great job. The staff is also very friendly.

The villas are located in the peaceful part of Puerto Rico and the marina and the beach is just minutes away. Puerto Rico offers many choices for people interested in sea activities: swimming, fishing, snorkeling, diving and seakayaking. There are shops nearby the Sunshine Villas. The first shopping centre with a HiperDino supermercado and several restaurants is about 100 metres from the villas. There is also a taxi stop and a mini golf course. Alltogether, the villas are very good and the location is excellent for a relaxing and fun family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

If you want excellent villa accomodation in a quiet area yet within spitting distance of the beach and marina and one of the best restaurants on the island then the sunshine villas are the place to stay. There are 5 detached three bedroomed villas each with a small pool and beautifully furnished. They are well maintained and a pleasure to stay in. Heartily recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Villas

Address: C/ Gavilan s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sunshine Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Villas Hotel Puerto Rico
Sunshine Villas Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.