We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nido del Aguila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nido del Aguila to your Saves list
Hotel Nido del Aguila
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Roque de los Muchachos, s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a week all inclusive for a girls holiday, overall the hotel was very nice, the maids did a great job with cleaning the rooms, the rest of the staff weren't very impressive other than one of ladies who is in charge of the restaurant and the ladies at reception, the food was basic but edible and each night there was a different country as the theme which kept things interesting! The pools were all great but we kept to pool b...overall it was an enjoyable experience but not sure if I would come back to that particular hotel as its quite out of the way and to get to the clubs and bars we needed to get a taxi however thanks for a nice week!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

First of all HELLO Lynn, Ian, jade, Derek, Hayden, Lauren, mad mike and Lisa and all the other wonderful people joe and I met during our week at Nido!!

As a young couple in our twenties looking for a cheap get away before the end or summer, we thurly enjoyed our week at Nido. Great value for money with a great atmosphere and great location, right next to the Europa centre which is great for dining out and having drinks. The food is basic, nothing fancy but you get what you pay for, always plenty of choice at the buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar is well attended with local spirits and the local beer is San Miguel. Being young ones we definitely made the most of the all inclusive bar which made it for us.

You have a choice of three pools to lounge about in, although the place is a little tired, it's charming with plenty of sun beds. The room was spacious, although the availability of air conditioning would be a good improvement to make.

To sum it, the hotel is basic but provided us with the basis for an amazing holiday and week together, we would most certainly go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Rooms bit tired in the Agula and no air con anywhere, it was so hot and couldn't sleep, food was good and varied, rooms were cleaned every other day. We moved rooms 3 times, as at the top in the Lara complex it was too noisy due to the karaoke right behind. They moved us without too much fuss but we did pay to move on the third one ! Drinks were plenty on the AI and not watered down at all. I think the problem we had it was so high up and far away from anything and we didn't really explore like we normally do due to heat and not sleeping and that it was so far from anything really. It was ok and relaxing but just stayed by the pool and ate and drank so perfect for that. Had a tv in the apartment and hairdryer and was pretty much self contained and much better when we could have the window open away from the noise.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went as a family party of ages ranging from 1 year to 70 years and after reading the reviews before going was very confused!
Need not have worried at all, the staff were friendly and helped with all our questions and requests without complaining including helping to organise trips and assisting with car hire procedure a big thank you to Sorreia as we cuased her a lot of confusion :).
Food was varied and a different menu each night which was replenished as soon as needed, the restaurant/bar staff worked tirelessly and always with a smile and friendly greeting and thank you to them all for my granddaughters first birthday celebration!!
Drinks were available and unusually for AI hotels not watered down!!!
Hotel was clean and the cleaning and maintenance staff were always happy to help and visible when needed. The rooms although a bit tired were very self contained so that you could cook if you chose not to eat in the restaurant or outside of restaurant hours, and the supermarket of the hotel or just across the road were very reasonably priced.
The hotel was at the top of a hill but taxi's were cheap and we hired a car which was a great price and the views from the top are amazing!!!
The hotel is not 4 or 5 star in appearance or ratings but this is a hotel that you can relax and truly unwind in without feeling the need to be formal!
Would gladly go back tomorrow if work allowed
Brilliant week - Thank you to all at the Hotel Nido del Aquila!!

Room Tip: Top apartments get the sun during the day, bottom ones are in the shade all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

just back from a week here have to admit was really worried before i went as the reviews were so bad! i had no need to be!! the staffwere great so friendly and helpful they work such long hours and yet nothing is too much of a promblem! the rooms were spotless cleaned every day fresh towels and bedding! although most people opt for AI at this hotel you have a hob microwave kettle and fridge in each room altough the food was so good we never needed it! the food is a differnt theme everynight mexican and chinese were awesome and im fussey but i ate soo much on this holiday! lunch was nice aswell salads toasties hotdogs chips burgers ect, and breakfast was full english or cereal toast fruit ect so plenty to choose from if you cant find something you like then i guess you have a problem as there is something for everyone! the bar is 3 drinks per person which some prople moaned about but you can only drink 1 at a time so whats the differnce?? drinks are fine its all local so not as strong as hours but all the bars are the same when you ask for local spirts! also the bar staff made us cocktails which most of the hotel ended up drinking as they were soo good!!! now location its on the very top of a hill but the hotel website states this so do many travel companies so you will most likely be warned before you book as i was so please dont get there n then moan its on top of a hill!! taxis are soo cheap it could have been on the moon for all i cared! when you get your room keys you get a 3rd key which is fir the back get go out the gate and your at the europa its good for a few drinks and some of the shows at the barbacoa are great such as trixi lix drag act dont go if easily offended!! prices in gran canaria as a whole aint that expensive! but if you stay here all inclusive i promise you wont spend much as the food n drink is good!!! would stay here again and would recommend it!!! if you want 5 star then pay for it!!!! for what i paid i was more than happy!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the nido for 10 nights on an AI basis. The hotel itself is pleasant and offers two pools to choose from, the pool furtherest from the bar is much quieter than that near the bar, Though you can use the pool at the Lara which is very quiet if you want too. The rooms are clean, though very few rooms it seems benefit from a sea view, most look onto the pool or the bar. The food in my experience (I am quite a fussy eater) was a bit hit and miss, some nights it was fine other nights it looked so awful and unappetizing we chose to eat out, but we didn't expect 5 star food when we only paid £330 each for 10 nights. Breakfast was ok, but could have been much nicer if they served decent bacon! Lunch was typically cold meats, burgers, hot dogs and chips, not that we hung around for lunch much as we tended to spend the day on amadores beach which is just lovely. The nido are very rigid with meal times, they start clearing away the food on the dot, so you can't be late to eat and need to allow enough time to grab some food, if you like to eat a late breakfast or evening meal! The AI stops at 10.30pm. I would stay again if I wanted a cheap break as for what we paid for it, it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Have to say that this hotel was absolutely spotless, the bar and resturaunt staff especially Ani and the chef were brilliant. The 3 pools were good and cleaned every morning and evening, the rooms were as good as I have stayed in anywhere and the food was plentiful and varied, anyone that says otherwise is just not telling the truth (captain pugwash wont agree). The only donwside was it seemed that the rooms were visited daily but not always changed the towels and bedding according to what is stated on the website. But that said there were no complaints at all about this place, would definitely visit again, as long as the knobhead wasnt in arms length of course. The only real downside (the views make up for it) was, it is at teh top of the hill as others warned, but taking the 748 steps down and then back up was worth the aching legs. Very cheap drinks €1.50 a pint and €4.95 for a lunch of chicken salad with fries and a drink. That was down in the beach area as well. All in all fabulous place and would definitely stay here again but maybe not the all inclusive option. Too much to get off in the gym now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nido del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nido del Aguila

Address: Avenida Roque de los Muchachos, s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nido del Aguila 1*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nido del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nido Del Aguila Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nido del Aguila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.