We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duque de Najera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duque de Najera to your Saves list
Hotel Duque de Najera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gravina 2, 11520 Rota, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Rota
Mairena del Aljarafe (Sevilla)
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is right by the beach. It is not very big and the clients were mainly mature German couples. It was quiet with no children running around, so it is a good place for mature couples. Breakfast was great. Our room was very nice and it had a good sea view. It had a large bathroom, but two single beds instead of a double bed. The walls are a little bit thin, but we didn't have noise problems with our neighbours.The gym is really only a small room with two or three machines to exercise your legs, but nothing to do sit-ups. On the whole, we had a great stay and the staff was very attentive with us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again.
Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    51
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
87
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

i stayed there on May , first week .
I can t beleive how noisy they are inside the hotel, first of all maids seems to be in your room when talking , so loud .
At night busy road next to the hotel also .
Recepcion didn t help at all.
I exepted more from that hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Client,

We are very sorry that you didn't had a confortable stay at our Hotel.
It is not normal that we receive such opinions and we will look after them.

Our Hotel is a quiet and confortable place and we always try to be helpfull.
We are really sorry and hope to see you soon back at our Hotel to demostrate that you can have a confortable stay.

Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel Duque is a really great hotel, the restaurant was exceptional which was just as well because there was a fiesta on Friday to Sunday and many of the places in the town were closed.
The staff throughout the hotel were extremely helpful and the room was spotless.
It's location is perfect for the beach and the harbour for the ferry across to Cadiz
I will certainly be coming to this hotel again

Room Tip: Book a sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back soon.

Waiting to welcome you back soon,
best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is not only beautiful, comfortable, and so neat and clean and tidy, it is reasonable as well. We had room 306, with a terrace overlooking the pool and the ocean and we loved it. The staff were kind and informative and helped however and whenever we needed. My oldest daughter and I were there to spend the holidays with my other daughter stationed at the base there and we were extremely pleased with our hotel choice. I would advise this hotel for anyone visiting the area, I'd love to come back in the summer months to use some of the awesome pool and facilities.

Room Tip: go for the upgrade for the oceanview room, at the time we were there, it was only 11 euros more
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for your comments and we are happy that you had such a nice time at our Hotel, visiting your familie at Rota. If you need information for next stays or if you need any other information about our region, let us know, we will help you.

Hoping to welcome you back soon,
Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I came to Hotel Duque after spending several months in land-locked Madrid, so you can imagine my delight at seeing the ocean. I initially reserved a standard room, but was convinced by the very nice receptionist to upgrade to an ocean view. I am glad I did! I slept with the sliding doors open and was lulled to sleep by the waves. The hotel rooms are very big with a sitting area and a large bathroom. It might not be impressive coming from the States, but since I've been in Europe, I was thrilled by all the space. Every room has a balcony, so I made hot tea and sat on mine each morning reading the newspaper on my iPad. Free wifi throughout, btw!

The amenities are perfect for a boutique hotel. They have several "solarium" areas where you can take in the sun. The pool looked adorable, though too cold to swim during my visit. If you're a gym-rat, you will be disappointed by the three machines they have on the top floor. I was told they are upgrading their equipment. When it is upgraded, it'll be very nice because the space was peaceful with ocean views and there was a sauna. I only wished I had brought my running shoes for a jog on the beach. I also used the garage, which was a nice perk even at 9 Euros a night. Your room key gets you in/out and an elevator takes you straight to your floor; no need to scratch your head wondering how to get back into the hotel.

As others have commented, you cannot beat the location. The foot of the hotel is where the promenade begins so you can stroll on the sidewalk or walk on the sand. It's also near the castle and the famous O'Grady's bar, which has good burgers and great tunes. I'd also highly recommend the hotel restaurant -- delicious! Rota itself is a little run-down, but I thought it was charming enough. I was there to relax not sight-see.

The whole experience felt very private to me -- I came and went as I pleased. I did ask if it's always quiet. The receptionist said the hotel is booked solid starting in March. I think my experience would have been less relaxing had there been children screaming in the centrally-located pool. The only suggestions I'd have is better shower heads and a jacuzzi for adults. Otherwise, it was the perfect little hotel experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. We are very glad that you had a nice time and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon,

If we can help you with more information about Rota or for your next visit, let us know.

Best regards,

Sophie De Clerck
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Roat is a wonderful example of a Spanish town that goes beyond being a tourist hotspot and is a real working town. The location of the hotel cannot be faulted and the facilities are good. Not to many rooms so plenty of room. Great views.

Room Tip: ask for seaview - supplement is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comments and nice words about Rota and our Hotel Duque de Najera, we will love to welcome you back soon,

Best regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acitrezza, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have been to this hotel approximatley 4 times this is the best place to stay in Rota(Cadiz) Spain. The pool is great it's right on the beach there are tons of tapas bars around. Everything is perfect and reasonably priced there is so much things to do here it is incredible. I love the food the Jamon a must have the Spanish olives a must have. This hotel is perfectly located! Highly recommend it! The breakfast is a huge buffet of authentic Spanish food!

Room Tip: Bring a watch the sun does not go down until 10 pm ..perfect for laying on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duque de Najera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duque de Najera

Address: Calle Gravina 2, 11520 Rota, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rota
#1 Business Hotel in Rota
#5 Family Hotel in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duque de Najera 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Duque de Najera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duque De Najera Rota
Duque De Najera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duque de Najera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.