We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenicia Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phoenicia Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Phoenicia Holiday Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Popas Mamaia 3 | DC 86, Km 2, Mamaia, Constanta, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Mamaia
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have been in late august 2013 for a week with our toddler. The resort is located in Mamaia Sat, next village from Mamaia towards Navodari. The complex is a little too big for my taste (there are 7 buildings 8 floors each, stacked near the pool area), and crowding will occur especially at breakfast.
The pool area is nice, and the beach is sandy and clean. However the beach staff is not very helpful l (probably because they are a little too far from the management (;-)) and therefore cannot be seen, -for a sun bed mattress you’ll have to deal by yourself. Best asset – long walk on the beach can be done, especially in the night, with lots of star too see (on a clear sky night).
The restaurant areas are very crowded, especially in the morning (it’s quite an adventure to get some food with a little child following you), but otherwise the food is tasty and you’ll have a dish choice.
The rooms are spacious and nice, with a large balcony (if there is located towards the see or Mamaia, the view worth the money). Bathroom is not very well maintained (we had a whirlpool bathtub not very clean, and a smelly floor trap….) things not acceptable in my opinion for a 4 star hotel.
The staff generally is helpful. The location is child friendly, with an “old generation playground” , but the activities done for children especially are funny and they seem to love it.
In short, quite expensive for Romania, but with a few similar alternatives it remains on top. Maybe the minuses shown will be corrected.

Room Tip: Best view towards Mamaia or the sea. Try to select upper levels and not near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoeniciaHolidayReso, Manager at Phoenicia Holiday Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review and for your feedback! The complex is meant to be a place where you cand spend a wonderful holiday with your family, in a quiet area, with many services and facilities specially designed to give our guests a dream vacation. As we address especially to families with children, we have many spaces dedicated to children, and many activities to make their holiday perfect. Given all this, we believe that quality-price ratio is correct.You can take advantage of our special offers. We increase the number of seats in the restaurant, wanting to solve the problem of congestion. Perhaps the staff at the beach was busy at the time. All our staff are friendly, they do a good job, and are always available to the client. The accommodation spaces are equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay, all things are of quality materials, as well as plumbing in the bathroom. We will analyze the problems reported by you, and we will try to find a solution. Hope we'll you have as guest this year too!

Best regards,
Phoenicia Holiday Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
38
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

away from the centre of Mamaia where all the nightlife is this place is excellent for families with kids or just couples that want peace , quiet , luxury , clean beach, wireless on the beach , 2 bars that serve excellent cocktails and all sorts of little places and parks around the hotel for kids or couples. Probably one of the best all inclusive places on the Romanian seaside

Room Tip: all rooms are great, the best ones are the ones with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoeniciaHolidayReso, Manager at Phoenicia Holiday Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to hear that you spent a realy good time with us and you enjoyed all that we offer! Phenicia Holiday Resort means 7 buildings with about 420 accommodation spaces, 6 pools, for both children and adults, many bars, terraces, restaurants, a park, sports grounds, playgrounds for children, fitness, carwash, gazebos, garden flowers with many recreation places, various shops, pharmacy, medical point, private beach, all this in a complex situated in a quiet area, specially designed for families with children. You're welcome to join us!

Kind Regards,
Phoenicia Holiday Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms in the Phoenicia Luxury Hotel are better than the ones in the Holiday Resort, not only because they are newer but because the furniture is of better quality and the arrangement and decorations are much nicer. The food is ok for any above average taste, but it is not compensating for the very noisy evenings in the Kasttane restaurant. It has the perfect location in a not so crowded area and has unrestricted access to a wide beach. The shore is advancing into the Black Sea at a very low rate and it makes the perfect fun and frolic area for kids.
All in all, a very nice suprise for the Black Sea coast which was highly appreciated.

Room Tip: I cannot give a decent advice as the walls are all very thin and all the hotel doors close with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoeniciaHolidayReso, Manager at Phoenicia Holiday Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review! Phoenicia Holiday Resort is a resort, that is meant to be "like home" cozzy&comfy, while Phoenica Luxury is a luxurious hotel, as the name says, that is addressing on a different type of tourists. That's why the design, the furniture, and the decorations are different from the ones in resort. On the evening we organize parties for children and parents, which are highly appreciated. Our reesort is placed in a quiet area because it addresses especially to families with children. The services and the facilities are specially designed for an unforgettable family vacation! We are very pleased to hear that you had a very good time with us! We are waiting for you!

Best regards,
Phoenicia Holiday Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The staff treats you poorly, they are always right and all your problems are just imaginary. Restaurant gets very crowded and the service is poor, tables are never clean. Even if you pay for a "superior" package, the facilities they promise are just a joke: private parking lot means permission to leave your car near the building, on an sandy terrain, chairs on the beach are always occupied with abandoned towels from dust to down ans so on .... definitely won't be coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoeniciaHolidayReso, Manager at Phoenicia Holiday Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review! We want to tell you that we keep in mind what our guests say as long as it is pertinent. We try to offer services at the highest standards, our guest are very important to us, and we want to solve their problems in an elegant way, quickly and efficiently. The problem at the restaurant was solved with the addition of a number of seats. The sunbeds on the beach are always occupied with abandoned towels because all the tourists are looking for places closer to the sea. It is something that we can't control, unfortunately. Only if we put sunbeds from Navodari to Bulgaria, all at the seashore.:)
We hope you'll visit us again this year!

Kind Regards,
Phoenicia Holiday Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mamaia hotels

Brasov, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

So, I will start with the negative aspect:
THE ROOM (2 rooms apartment). For the four stars and the money you pay, you have some expectations. Unfortunately, except the apartment itself (size and the way it is structured), everything else it not OK at all - maybe can be cataloged as a two star + but no way four stars.
Most horrible, the bath:
- white shower curtain with a brown color on bottom, the same brown color that was present on the bathtub in the place the curtain touched it.
- shower was leaking
- toilet was leaking
- hairdryer not working
.... the list can go on
Also:
- the couch was pretty dirty ( a lot of dirty spots on it)
- the TV... old (crt) and little
The whole apartment seemed unfinished, not even close to four stars.
The elevator... one little elevator (5 persons) for a eight floor building..

Good aspects:
- swimming pools
- food / restaurants (we were there from 20 august and it was ok from 'crowded' point of view)
- beach is near the hotel and is kept clean
- it's a nice locations for a family with some kids around

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoeniciaHolidayReso, Manager at Phoenicia Holiday Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review! Regarding your negative aspects, we are sorry about the problems you have encountered. We will deal with solving them. The accommodation spaces are big, with high quality finishes, furnished in modern style and equipped for offering our guests the comfort of home. The old TV's were replaced with LCD ones. We are glad that you like us, despite the negative aspects that you have indicated above. We want to offer our guest a wonderful world, full of wonderful things that make the holiday perfect!
We invite you to spend your holiday with us!

Best Regards,
Phoenicia Holiday Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galati, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

2 stars not worth the spring of the following reasons:
- drown in the bath if you shower
- curtains at bathtub I've never seen 20 year
- classic TV and small
- crowded parking
- crowded dining room
- cheapest and bad coffee
- children swimming in the shade
- lounge chairs on the beach are occupied by 6 am by towels
- if it rains you have no activity or place to spend time
In conclusion 4 stars with 220 euros per night (breakfast and lunch) with these conditions is a disgrace. Is a miserable copy of the Turkish resorts. For me is the last experience in Phoenicia holiday resort

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoeniciaHolidayReso, Manager at Phoenicia Holiday Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review! If you shower and you foreget to pull the curtain, for sure the water will drain on the floor. All the bathrooms are equipped with Jacuzzi, and quality bath curtain. This year, traditional TVs were replaced with LCD, in all of the accommodation spaces. Although the parking lot is crowded, there is room for all the cars. At the restaurant we increase the number of seats, leading to about 800 seats, for the confort of all our guests. The sunbeds on the beach are occupied by 6 am by towels because all the tourists want places closer to the sea. If it rains, you can swim in the indoor pool, you can watch a movie at the summer theater "Babilonia", you can watch a theater show, and you can participate in activities orgazniated and maintained by the team of animators.
We are kindly invite you this year to join us!

Best regards,
Phoenicia Holiday Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed there for only 3 days and was pretty fun overall. The hotel is quite large and has 2 pools and different floral arrangements on the middle. This area is actually the best part of the hotel. The pools are also very good and clean with plenty of depth for those experienced swimmers. The restaurant area is interesting but the food quality is only average (mixed feelings here...some very good products, others quite bad). We had an apartment with 2 bedrooms at the last floor. The apartment also had a living room with a small plasma tv and a cucinette. Although the apartment was initially well finished (not high end but reasonable) the poor maintanance led to furniture desintegration, dirty couch...The beach is very close and fitted with umbrellas and vip pavilions. There you can find a terrace with fresh drinks and 2 beautiful friesian horses which you can ride for like 10-12 Euros. The beach is quite clean but you'd better put on some aquashoes for the sand is filled with seashell chips !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoeniciaHolidayReso, Manager at Phoenicia Holiday Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for you review! Our inner courtyard is hosting six pools for both children and adults, a garden full of flowers and recreation areas, lovers park "Laura", gazebos, bars, terraces, restaurants and playgrounds. We appreciate that you like it! Our menu is varied, thought to appeal to all our tourists. We hope you found something that was to your taste. Because we know that there was a problem with the shells on the beach, this year we sifted the sand very well, for your confort. The issue with the poor maintanance is solved, we invite you to join us to see this, and to enjoy all the wonderful things we have prepared for you!

Kind regards,
Phoenicia Holiday Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenicia Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Holiday Resort

Address: Popas Mamaia 3 | DC 86, Km 2, Mamaia, Constanta, Romania
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Constanta > Mamaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mamaia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mamaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenicia Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique on the seaside, Phoenicia Holiday Resort is a new turistic concept in Romania, conceived to accommodate families with children by giving all the necessary comfort to rest, relax but also to have fun and enjoy oneself.The experience of the past seasons gives us the courage to say we can now create holiday stories which seem closer to "home". Phoenicia Holiday Resort is a story which leaves its mark not only in children's heart but also in the soul of those who are looking for something else.Situated in the North of Mamaia, 150 m away from the beach, the resort is the most outrageous investment of the last few years, laying on a total surface of 100.000 square meters, out of which over 60.000 square meters represents the actual construction.The ultra modern holiday area provides on a first basis over 1.200 accommodation places in 420 apartaments, a parking place with 400 places, restaurants,bars,terraces,oriental coffee shop,swimming pools and waterfalls, children playgrounds, billiard club, game fields.To benefit from all our services and facilities offered both inside the resort and on the beach it is compulsory to wear the bracelets which will be given to you at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Phoenicia Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Holiday Hotel Mamaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenicia Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.