We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and flavorful dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Ciccia

Solo Ciccia
Via Chiantigiana, 7, 50022 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
+39 (0)55 852 727
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unique and flavorful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Thus is a unique dinner unlike the average trattoria, Osteria, or whatever casual dining experience we had on Italy. The enterprise is committed to filling you with parts of the steer otherwise not readily consumed and or in preparations unfamiliar to the norm of family dining. We shared a table for 14 with another party of two and eventually a party of three that arrived late. We were five. Dining with strangers in a convivial atmosphere is fun! This space is quite attractive.

The braised beef and the roast beef were excellent, the tartare was fine. The brodo with muzzle is a bit ethereal, but not in an exceptional way, merely hot and beefy. Certainly, no one goes hungry, or should. They provided more, if asked. Only additional wine brings an additional charge.

Coupled with a lovely drive into the Chianti countryside, this is a fun, engaging meal. We met the maestro in his shop across the street and tried lardo for the first time. If you try this experience, you shan't regret going.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    54
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were disappointed in our experience at Solo Ciccia -- our end of the table had an obnoxious assortment of people, so that was not particularly fun. The concept of tasting multiple parts of the cow was intriguing but many of them were not very tasty, tough, etc. We might have fared better trying one of the other two Dario restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Touristy, but fun and good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A fun concept executed well.
Nicely designed place.
Common table makes for an awkward but fun experience with other diners.

At the end of the day, if you're a meat lover, and you're in the area, you gotta hit this place up!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castiglioncello
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredible Italian burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I experienced with my family one of the best burger . Great service great location great food. Dario is a great host and for an American it has been a great and positive surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Only Meat"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The name of this restaurant in Panzano, Italy translates to "only meat" and that's what they serve. The most popular butcher shop in Italy, it actually is two restaurants and a butcher shop. One restaurant serves just that, only meat. Grilled meats of every type from the owners own ranch. You have to get reservations for this experience well in advance, and if you're a true carnivore, this is the place for you. The other restaurant offers a set menu of meats and other Tuscan foods, and the dining is at communal tables. We had dinner with a diverse group of people from all over the world, from Canada to Belgium to Australia. An awesome experience. Then we all ended up in the street with the owner of the restaurant drinking grapa until we all fell down. An experience never to forget.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solo Ciccia also viewed

Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
 
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
 

Been to Solo Ciccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Ciccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.