We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem in the heart of the chianti region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fagiolari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panzano in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fagiolari
Save
You added Fagiolari to your Saves list
Case Sparse, 25 | Chianti, 50020 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a gem in the heart of the chianti region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Giulietta is a fantastic hostess. We came in by bus from Florence so upon our arrival we did not have a car. Giulietta picked us up in Panzano's town square and drove us down to the B&B and got us settled in and oriented quickly. I must admit walking the road into Panzano for dinner that night was a bit challenging (basically uphill for a kilometer) but an experience none the less. We were to pick our rental car (which Giulietta had arranged) the next morning so she drove us to the rental place and when we arrived she was advised we would have to pick it up in Greve - about a half hours drive away which she also drove us to which worked out great because the mecahnic renting the car could only speak Italian. Needless to she Giulietta is very helpful because on our departure she also followed us back to Greve to drop off the car!

Be sure to enroll in a cooking class or two as they are absolutely worth it and the lounge in the pool in the afternoons and enjoy the million dollar views of the Chianti region.

The restaurants are all fantastic in Panzano and each offer their own individual flair and dining experience.
The B&B is also close to the hilltop towns of Volpaia, Lamole, Greve Castellina and easy to drive to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

This was our first stop on a recent trip to Tuscany and both of us absolutely loved this place. The farmhouse has been beautifully restored and the views are amazing. It is a very peaceful spot which is exactly what we were looking for. The road to get to Fagiolari is not brilliant (a 2km dirt road), however we were in no rush so it wasn't a problem at all and added to the adventure...some of the best places are off the beaten track.
The food is delicious...we ate there 3 out of the 5 nights we stayed and on 2 occassions there had been a cooking class and we joined them for dinner. The food is also very good value at EUR 25- including wine. I had arranged with Giulietta before we arrived to have dinner on the first night and that went very smoothly.
Giulietta is a very gracious hostess and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return.
Sian and Klaas

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

If you are looking for a rustic place, dedicated to conserve water and energy, few frills but a magnificent location, then this may be the place for you. If you are looking for some cocooning, easy access in and out of the b&b, some cosiness in the room to make it inviting to relax in, a bed versus mattress on a boxspring for a great night sleep, then this may not be your best choice. Our stay was unfortunate - we arrived really late due to Easter traffic, we misinterpreted the offer that dinner could be available at 25 Euros a person as the option to have a meal available on arrival (our mistake, perhaps during one of our arrival updates we should have asked to have a dinner prepared). Once we arrived, we pleaded a bit and she was kind enough to prepare a small snack with cheese, salad and bresaola, some of her wine and we had a chance to look at her Tuscan kitchen where I am sure many fine meals are prepared in her cooking classes. We moved on after one night, and found our heaven up the road. We just are not people who like to rough it on our vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

There is a small pub in the little village of Penzano that is deceptive. If you look quickly in the door, it looks like a bit of a dive, but walk through, and there is seating outside, under a fig tree trellised patio area, with a panoramic view of the olive groves and vineyards below in a valley all of their own…I went there everyday for wine, fresh bread and olive oil/balsamic vinegar, mozzarella cheese, tomato and fresh basil….bliss

It is not far from a church in the village.

Also, regarding the B&B called Fagiolari, where I stayed, it is part of a 'cooking holiday', though I did not avail of it, I did enjoy what they cooked, and was happy to eat the five course meal every night there!! But, if you have the energy to learn new things while on vacation, this could be a good spot for you chef-types!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We spent two weeks at the Fagiolari cottage overlooking the pool and I can honestly say we had a great time. Giulietta was a gracious host always available and willing to recommend a restaurant or help us in any way. My six year old really enjoyed the pool. It was very clean, the chairs were comfortable and surprisingly not very busy. We used Fagiolari as our basis and visited many of the little towns near by. The cottage itself was very comfortable and never got hot. We hardly used the A/C. I cannot understand some of the negative comments I read on Tripadvisor before visiting. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

A Tuscan Countryside Bed and Breakfast situated in the lovely Chianti region, Fagiolari is a wonderful surprise. My husband and I spent 5 days in August and enjoyed every moment of our stay. The road leading up to Fagiolari is enchanting as you pass vineyards, olive trees and stucco buildings dating back hundred of years! Guiletta has loveingly renovated her 800 year old homestead filling it with an amazing collection of rustic antique accents placed around every corner. Her flair for gardening is showcased over the entire property from the pots overflowing with herbs to lemon trees weighted down with fruit and situated in large pots all about the terraced walkways around the buildings. The property includes a 100 plus olive grove, which Guiletta harvests every year to press her own personal supply of olive oil. Rustic stucco, Tuscan arches, cobbled walkways wind around to reveal charm everywhere. The pool area is situated on a plateau, is peaceful and spa like. The view from the pool is so picturesque that you almost have to rub your eyes to believe it.

Upon arrival we realized that the buildings had no air conditioning. Since it was the heat of August, we became concerned. I am happy to say that we NEVER were hot. The rooms were surprisingly cool maybe due to the 800 year thick stone utilized in construction. The evening breeze running through the room was restful. The bed was simply appointed and comfortable. The bath was adequate, the shower refreshing and the lemon soap a nice little luxury. The ceiling in our room (D) had a large timber beam that my husband's head 'met' a few times!! Believe it or not, even that was charming!!!

Thanks to an earlier review of Fagiolari we made plans to enjoy the property everyday of our visit. We would get up and enjoy Guiletta's beautifully displayed breakfast and fresh cafe. She always had a nice selection of fruit, home baked goods, cereal, yogurt. We would venture out for touring the area wineries, etc. returning in the mid afternoon to lounge around the pool and walk around and enjoy the property. She does not serve an afternoon snack, so bring back something yummy from your day and something to drink, preferably vino! Truly a recuperative experience!

On our second evening, we participated in one of Guiletta's cooking classes and strongly recommend taking her cooking class. She charges $100 euro per person, which might sound expensive, but is well worth the money. Her classes allow you to become directly involved in the preparation of a wonderful multi- course while sipping on her own home made wine. Her guests then venture into her farmhouse dining room for a lovely night, enjoying each others' company while dining on what we created.

Fagilari is perfect for touring around the Chianti region. On our third day we drove the 30 minutes into Florence, parking in one of the many perimeter parking lots. Having done this, I would NEVER stay in Florence with the access that you can have from this area. There are several wonderful restaurants in Panzano and nearby Greve. Guiletta has a booklet upon check in with suggestions for dining and we had great experiences with all of her recommendations. We brought our own laptop computer. Due to the thick walls there wasn't any reception in the room, but was available on the terrace just outside.

The only, I mean ONLY, reason that anyone could possibly not love this place is if they are use to staying in large city 5 star hotels complete with concierge. Guiletta is not going to hold your hand. If you need something from her, ask. She accommodated our every request. The road leading to Fagiolari should not deter you. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it. Her property is a hidden gem. She is a gracious, serious Tuscan woman. If you are planning a trip to this area, I strongly recommend Fagiolari.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampsire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I 1000% loved this place. It was beautiful, homey, friendly, fun, realxing...and so much more.
The dirt road...if you drive appropriate speeds - it's not an issue and you can take in your beautiful surroundings. (We had a small rental - not four wheel drive and it was fine.)

We encountered many roads like this during our Tuscany trip. The rewards were finding better Vineyards, seeing quaint villages and spectacular coutryside views.

Saw one complaint about breakfast. I thought the spread was perfect. Fresh, healthy and tasty like you'd expect in the countryside. Not heavy AMERICAN style eating. Beats the pants off the "Continental" - hard roll and coffee. Never had a blood orange before and now I'm always on the lookout for them.

We took the cooking classes - and I don't cook. But both hubby and I really enjoyed them and were surpised at what we made and how delicious it was to eat.

The communal style dining was a hi-light. There was another American couple and a French couple during our stay. Dinners took hours because we enjoyed the company and the food. It was very EUROPEAN unlike a rush at a restaurant .

I'd recommend this place to everyone and do.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fagiolari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fagiolari

Address: Case Sparse, 25 | Chianti, 50020 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Panzano in Chianti
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Fagiolari Hotel Panzano
Fagiolari Panzano In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fagiolari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.