We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Villa Le Barone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Barone

Save Saved
You added Villa Le Barone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Le Barone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Leolino 19, 50020 Panzano, Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Panzano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Villa Le Barone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The villa is set just above the town of Panzano and has stunning views and gave us a chance to enjoy living in a historic home in Tuscany. It is beautifully renovated and we enjoyed the grounds, self service bar, and restaurant.

Breakfast in Italy used to be an espresso and a bun but these days we found large buffets where we could pick and choose what we wanted. We loved the jam filled croissants, fresh fruit, as many cappuccinos as we wanted, the lovely dried meats and cheese. I could not find room for any more!

Our room was spotless and I am amazed that in this historic home, hot water was fast and plentiful. That alone is an engineering feat in these lovely old buildings, the craftsmanship of which one does not see anymore, especially in my home country America.

We found a great area just below town for parking and a two minute walk we were up in town.

Just 10 minutes to Greve and all to see there! Centrally located to many wineries and historic towns.

Dinners were excellent - my husband one evening had the biggest T-bone steak I have ever seen!

Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Egoodell,

many thanks for reviewing (and liking) Villa le Barone. You are right: renovating and keeping shipshape an old Villa like Villa le Barone - if not a feat- is a continuous work of love and the closure period during wintertime is devoted to clean, paint, repair, refurbish, ... all of the above with in mind what our Guests have said in their remarks about us and what we think they might like in the future. T-bone, as all beef meat at Villa le Barone, comes from our farm in Maremma (west coast of Tuscany) where cattle is bred free range, eats only grass and hay and has pleasant livin g conditions. Villa le Barone is at equal distances from Sienna, Florence, San Gimignano and allows one to easily discover the art cities of Tuscany, the hundreds of small wineries around and the typical hamlets in the surrounding hills.
We look very much forward to hosting you again soon and hope you will share you Villa le Barone experience with friends,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    25
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
176
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Oursix day stay at Villa le Barone at the end of August this year was one of the most memorable holidays we have had. Normally we feel the need to be 'out and about' but the tranquillity and joyfulness of all aspects of the hotel meant that we were reluctant to leave the beautiful surroundings for too long each day. At the end of each day we were able to relax and enjoy a lovely meal coupled with excellent wines and then retire to our beautiful bedroom with its wonderful views and magnificent bathroom. A walk to the local church with its exquisite cloisters should not be missed. We will certainly return to the Villa le Barone as we felt we had found a spiritual home in our well beloved Italy. In May next year we will also be staying at the villa in the Maremma region of Tuscany which is also owned by the family- we are sure it will also be a wonderful, if different, experience.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with a beautiful view and a large bathroom then junior suite number 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Jarrovian2013, Dear Linda,

so nice of you to have shared your experience of Villa le Barone in Trip Advisor! Yes, some Guests find the atmosphere at Villa le Barone so serene and relaxing that they just spend their day sitting in the shade of an olive tree, letting their eyes wander on the landscape in communion with the environment. My wife and I, though, make it a point to "push them out" to discover different aspects of beautiful Tuscany by giving them itineraries out of the beaten tracks for them to drive on. Most Guests enjoy these drives.
On rooms, all our rooms are cozy and clean. Choose 16,18 and 26 as Junior suites with a beautiful view. Choose rooms 7 and 10 for a luxurious antique atmosphere and also a very nice view; rooms 12 and 15 make you wake up at garden level in front of a breathtaking landscape. Our other rooms are all nice, periodically refurbished, typically Tuscan and many repeat Guests would never abandon the room they love even for a larger more luxurious one!
We are waiting for you in May 2014 in our farm in Maremma in a beautiful atmosphere different from Chianti. The farmhouse you have reserved has been totallly renewed and you will have a different taste of Tuscany.
All the best,
Corso and Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a stunning property! You feel like you are at home...literally! Greeted in the entry, a roaring fire in the living room, a cozy bar area w/the honor system for pouring your evening apertif.
The dinner was delightful, the breakfast... super yummy! My room (#26) was cozy, clean, lovely view, truly made the end of my holiday in Tuscany magical!

Room Tip: Room 26 was unbelievable... didn't view any others. But the people that were staying there all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Beth F,

thank you very much for your kind review and thank you for the WOW! Yes, Villa le Barone has always had its charm, long before becoming a house open to Guests and many of you use the term "magical" to describe its atmosphere. Of course to sense the charm you must love beauty, serenity, a cozy atmosphere and a pleasant evening in front of an open fireplace with a glass of wine in your hand!
I am not sure we have met and I hope to do so during your next visit to Chianti.

Sincerely,
Corso Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

In the past we have rented apartments in various areas of Italy, however on this trip we decided to stay in a B&B near Panzano. The grounds were beautiful, the food was fabulous, and the staff was most helpful in making recommendations for our day trips. In fact, they provide several driving itineraries of the area, so we visited several villages and towns that we had not seen before. The Villa has many common rooms and outside sitting areas so we were able to enjoy being by ourselves, as though we were in our own villa, as well as visiting with other guests when we wanted. The Villa was beautifully decorated with furniture and fabrics as well as interesting art work.. We would stay here again if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear CBS504,

the title of your review "Home away from home" is exactly what we desire our Guests to feel at Villa le Barone: we strive not to be a hotel, but an old family house open to friends that come to visit us from faraway places. My wife, our Staff and myself, in fact, try to maintain Villa le Barone in a very good state in order for some visitors to forget that leaking faucet back home, grass to be mown and other small domestic problems you want to stay away from once in a while.
In case visitors, as you did in the past, desire more independence from the hotel, we now have an apartment (brand new, sleeps 4, lovely view) 200 yds away from Villa le Barone which we can let for longer periods benefiting from all the amenities of Villa le Barone (Swimming pool, Tennis, fitness, restaurant, ...).
Irrelevant of the solution you wish to take, we look very much forward to hosting you again soon,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at Villa le Barone, enjoying gracious hospitality, wonderful staff and absolutely fabulous food. Each morning and evening we were treated to endless choices of locally produced food. Our hosts, the Count and Countess were charming and gave us so information on the history of the region. We were there for a weeklong artist workshop and the endless vistas of Tuscany were a perfect setting. The villa is well appointed and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear 19diane68,

it was a pleasure to host you for your watercolor seminar led by Jan Pollard. Jacqueline and I were impressed by the quality of what you achieved. It gives me a strong hint to also take a paint brush in my hand and try! Jacqueline and I are very happy that the workshop was a success ... in spite of the capricious weather you had! Just imagine what you could do under a warm sun and blue sky ... it's time to think about returning!

All the best,
Corso and Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Upon arriving at Villa Le Barone you feel you have arrived at someone's home and you have. You are welcomed as a house guest and the staff are so kind and willing to see to your every need. The food is outstanding and the menu changes every night so no need to search elsewhere to eat. Do your exploring during the day and return for a lovely relaxing evening. Relax in front of the fire or in one of the many sitting rooms in the main building. The grounds are beautiful and offer something for everyone, from fitness to complete relaxation. They went above and beyond during our stay and we had some special requests and they were more than happy to help. We will definitely return and will recommend it to anyone coming to Italy.

Room Tip: Only some rooms have bathtubs but all have wonderful showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Della H,

I am very glad you had a good stay at Villa le Barone and enjoyed several different aspects of it. Our food is very plain Tuscan cooking with outstandingly fresh products including beef meat coming from our farm (no hormones, thank you! Just grass and hay.), olive oil coming from Villa le Barone itself (next week we start harvesting the olives) and our farm, Pecorino ewe cheese coming from a selected shepherd in Maremma (I personally go and buy it!), vegetables locally produced, some of them from our own garden. Recipes are classical Tuscan recipes, not very fancy perhaps, but very very tasty and menu changes every night, including the large self service antipasto. On dining at Le Barone there is a clear advantage: we are a wine region and a bottle of Chianti shared with your partner goes down fast ... so it's better to relax by the fire after dinner rather than having to drive back on winding roads in a state of excessive happiness! On bathrooms, some have showers, some have tubs and some have both! I always suggest our Guests to state their wishes at reservation time in order not to have surprises.
We look very much forward to hosting you again in 2014,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Grazie, Villa Le Barone! What a fabulous find in gorgeous Tuscany! Our room, with the spacious bathroom, full tub and rain shower head was a perfect way to unwind after a day of hiking in the rambling tuscan hills. The comfy bed, cozy art work, cool air conditioning and relaxing library. Not to mention the gleaming pool and manicured grounds. Our meals were delicious, allowing us to taste local treats. Having roamed all over Italy for two weeks, Villa Le Barone was definitely a high light!

Room Tip: Room 18 was a remodelled treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Laura H,

thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us. We are happy you liked room 18, its bathroom and its fixtures. My wife Jacqueline has designed and decorated it, just like room 16 next door, using also our restored family antiques.
For those who read this review, all rooms are nice, spotless clean and carefully furnished at Villa le Barone, but some are bigger, some smaller, some have a better view than others ... and prices vary accordingly! At time of booking, ask the type of room you'd prefer and we will do our best to satisfy your wishes as long as we havefree rooms to choose from. There is still much rambling to do in Chianti and Tuscany and we look forward to hosting you again soon,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50020 Panzano, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Panzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The swimming pool, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel
Villa Le Barone Panzano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Le Barone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.