We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Barone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Le Barone to your Saves list
Villa Le Barone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Leolino 19, 50020 Panzano, Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Panzano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Italian Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Grazie, Villa Le Barone! What a fabulous find in gorgeous Tuscany! Our room, with the spacious bathroom, full tub and rain shower head was a perfect way to unwind after a day of hiking in the rambling tuscan hills. The comfy bed, cozy art work, cool air conditioning and relaxing library. Not to mention the gleaming pool and manicured grounds. Our meals were delicious, allowing us to taste local treats. Having roamed all over Italy for two weeks, Villa Le Barone was definitely a high light!

Room Tip: Room 18 was a remodelled treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Laura H,

thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us. We are happy you liked room 18, its bathroom and its fixtures. My wife Jacqueline has designed and decorated it, just like room 16 next door, using also our restored family antiques.
For those who read this review, all rooms are nice, spotless clean and carefully furnished at Villa le Barone, but some are bigger, some smaller, some have a better view than others ... and prices vary accordingly! At time of booking, ask the type of room you'd prefer and we will do our best to satisfy your wishes as long as we havefree rooms to choose from. There is still much rambling to do in Chianti and Tuscany and we look forward to hosting you again soon,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    30
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
189
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This beautiful place overlooking the countryside and the vineyards of Chianti was probably the highlight of our drive through Tuscany and the Emilia-Romagna. The setting is gorgeous, the rooms a delight and the grounds immaculate. Though we didn't use it, the swimming pool was a hit with many of the other guests. Our first evening started with a drink in possibly the quaintest cocktail lounge imaginable...pour it yourself (on the honor system) and enjoy the surroundings either inside or outdoors. We went from there to dinner on the terrace of the hotel's own restaurant. Great food that would be worth a trip by itself! Here we also met our lovely hosts, the owners of this property that has been in the Della Robbia family since the renaissance. The next morning the hotel provided several different pre-printed driving and walking tours, all of different lengths and distances. We chose one and enjoyed a magnificent day on the back roads of Chianti. What did we like the best? Hard to choose between the beauty of the place and the hospitality of the owners and staff. The only slight negative was that the first morning, breakfast on the restaurant's terrace where we had eaten dinner the night before was frequented by lots of bees that made the meal somewhat of a challenge. Nevertheless, we were indeed sad to leave this place and will make a point to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Mavmed,

I am very glad you made the most out of what Villa le Barone offers; it's a reward to us to see Guests discovering and enjoying the beauty of Chianti and we feel a bit proud for having a bit participated to it!

Bees are a nuisance, but I can tell you that Amira (breakfast maid) and I have devised (alas after your departure) and successfully tested a system not to have them around anymore next year. I wish we still had that problem, because it is now colder and we do not have breakfast on the terrace and Villa le Barone is going - in two weeks- prepare for winter ... looking forward to spring 2014. All the best,

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had never been to either Tuscany or Villa Le Barone before and we were so delighted with our stay there. The Villa is a truly magical place. It is set in an incredibly beautiful location on top if a hillside overlooking Panzano. There are magical quintessential Tuscan views from every angle. The rooms are beautiful and ultra comfortable. The team who works there are incredible!! They worked with us from months before coming to the entire time we were there. And it wasn't just the front desk team ... everyone was so gracious and friendly from the front desk staff, the housekeepers, the servicing team in the restaurant and the owners ... no request was an inconvenience. Everyone was focused on making our trip the most memorable possible. They all made you feel like family. The food is spectacular. Truly traditional Tuscan menu's ... all perfectly and deliciously executed by Fernanda and her team. We even had the pleasure of a cooking class with Fernanda on the last morning of our stay and we had the best time cooking with her. My husbands limited Italian and Fernanda's infinite patience and our mutual love for good food make it an incredible memorable and delicious experience. We would recommend Villa Le Barone to everyone and without a doubt this visit may have been our first but not out last ... we WILL BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: We had room #33. The owner told us there are others that are nicer but we loved this room. Large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Pamdi,

when I read your nice comments I blush with pleasure! You are saying what my wife and I- as well as all our staff- would like all our Guests to feel: beauty, comfort and happiness! To remember us and Chianti we hope you are going to cook some of the recipes you prepared with Fernanda and that they will taste as good!

Thank you also for giving tips on rooms: all rooms are equally welcoming, clean, A/C'd ad Wi-Fi'ed, but some are larger, some have a terrace, some are historical, some have a very special view, ... so, when communicating with our reservation team, tell your preferences so that we may better satisfy you!

A great majority of our Guests keep returning to Villa le Barone and we hope you and your husband will be part of them!

Sincerely,

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The most beautiful, relaxing place in all of Italy! Having visited here in the past with teenage children, I returned with my partner and both my children and their respective partners to celebrate my 60th Birthday! What a fabulous holiday - it is much more like staying in a glorious private villa - the staff are fantastic, the rooms spotless and homely, full of lovely antique furniture and the food is just out of this world! We opted for half-board (why would you want to eat elsewhere?!) value for money and meant great, relaxing evenings. Everyone enjoyed every minute of our stay here and we thank all at Villa Le Barone for making our holiday so very special!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear HJaneF,

a very happy birthday to you and thank you and your delightful family for having celebrated it with us at Villa le Barone. Are we pleased with your compliments? Decidedly, yes! Do we deserve them? Well, at least we are striving to do our very best to please our Guests and Friends!

To potential new Guests wishing to come to Villa le Barone and reading this and other very nice review: do not expect at Villa le Barone crystal chandeliers, golden doorknobs and a dressed-up Concierge; what you will find here are beautiful surroundings, stunning landscapes, an old country villa with its charming original furniture, friendly staff ready to serve you with a true smile and very happy to greet you over and over again, local simple Tuscan recipes cooked with local products as well as modern comfort (A/C, Wi-Fi. Fitness, ...). My wife Jacqueline and I will be very happy to meet you and tell you about Tuscany, Chianti, our family and place, ... but simplicity and authenticity rather than pretentiousness are our keywords.

Jacqueline and I send you our best and look forward to host you and your family many more times,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Simply the best of Tuscany. Quiet, peaceful, relaxing. GREAT food! Fernanda commands the kitchen like no other Tuscan chef. It honestly doesn't make a difference what's for dinner. Everything is fantastic.

Rooms are clean, quiet, and the staff is excellent, helpful and friendly. The owners are marvelous people as well.

If you're looking for a place to stay and enjoy in Tuscany, this villa is my recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear AA51,

many thanks for your enthusiastic review! Jacqueline and I are very happy you enjoyed staying with us and look very much forward to hosting you again.
Let me play a bit down your review since we prefer at Villa le Barone to "under commit and over deliver" rather than the opposite. What we seek to give to our Guests at Villa le Barone is the luxury of Authenticity, Beauty and Serenity bundled together in an atmosphere of elegant Tuscan family Simplicity.

The food that Fernanda and Edi prepare (and which I also love!) is composed by basic, honest to goodness, familiar Tuscan recipes made with top quality locally sourced products. Great taste and variety are there, but Guests that expect sophisticated modern molecular cuisine may be disappointed.by our Peposo (Peppery stew), Tagliata (slices of steack covered with arucola salad and parmesan cheese slices), Guinea Fowl with olives, Stewed Rabbit, Tiramisù and many other classicals that we are happy and proud to offer at Villa le Barone.

Please forgive me if I add this to your valued comments.

We hope to host you again soon in Chianti,

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is our favorite place in all of Italy! My husband and I have been coming to Villa Le Barone almost yearly for fifteen years when we first discovered it in Karen Brown's book. We realized how very special it is because of the beauty, charm, delicious meals, and the warmth of the staff. Jacqueline and Corso are gracious hosts and most of the wonderful staff have been there for many years. It makes us feel as if we are visiting friends and they are sharing their home with us, not a "hotel". The villa is beautifully decorated with antiques from the time when the Duchess lived there. Each bedroom is different in size and location, as some are in buildings steps from the villa. All are air conditioned. A bouquet of fresh flowers from their garden are placed in your room upon arrival. A special touch! There are also fabulous flower arrangements around the villa and dining room made by two women on their staff, Amira and Giulia.
Villa Le Barone is situated on the Chianti Wine Road and is surrounded by vineyards,wineries ,olive groves, and gardens. The views are spectacular! It is centrally located for easy day trips to Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, and Montepulciano. There are several wineries close by which welcome visitors without an appointment.
Because of the fresh products used in the delicious dinners, we recommend Half Board. It is a very reasonable price for the variety and many courses, not to mention atmosphere and the friendly dining staff. The menu changes daily with a HUGE table of different homemade appetizers, also changing daily. My husband loves the lemon sorbet served in a frozen lemon! Candlelight dinner on the terrace at sunset is a High Light!!
Breakfast can be on the terrace with another bountiful buffet. There are many varieties of fresh bread, rolls, pastries, yogurts, cereals, fruits, juices, cold meats, cheeses, tomatoes, jams, honey, and fresh eggs to boil. Cappuccino or latte can be ordered as well as coffee and tea. A perfect way to start your day in beautiful Tuscany!
There is an "honor bar" in the villa and also by the pool for drinks. A TV is located in a room behind the living room if you want to watch it. It is rarely used. Not having a TV in the room is a plus! The dinner menu is posted every morning by reception and daily newspapers hang nearby for the guests. This is not a commercial hotel but a lovely home. If you are interested in the fascinating history of this wonderful Villa and how it became a hotel, ask reception about the book that was published on the 30th Anniversary. I was delighted when they published it as it is a treasure!
We can't recommend Villa Le Barone enough to everyone who asks us about Tuscany! It is a wonderful place that we hate to leave and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We suggest contacting the Villa before booking to find out information on the rooms, tub or shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Alice K,

Jacqueline and I thank you very much for having taken the time to write about Villa le Barone. How nice of you! You probably know more about Villa le Barone than ourselves, since we inherited it ten years ago, while you have been coming steadily for the past fifteen years. Jacqueline and I hope you and Ben realize how much time and effort we have invested on Villa le Barone these past years and how much love is involved to keep our family place giving pleasure and hopefully happiness to our Guests while they visit Chianti.
Thank you for all the tips you give our (future) Guests. Just one comment about television: yes, there are no televisions in the rooms, but all rooms are wired and if someone wants a television, a maid will immediately come and plug one in for you.
We look forward to seeing you again in 2014 and wish you and Ben all the best,
Corso and Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were met by the owner and his daughter making sure that everything was as we wanted and more! The views from our room were more than we ever expected. The food was excellent, to the point where we did not need to go out for dinner. A list of "Off the Road" drives was provided with directions and suggested sites to see. This is a great destination and we look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Rooms over the kitchen and dining room were the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear George F,

thank you for your very nice comments on Villa le Barone: yes, the sights are beautiful from the hill we are perched on and one can discover beautiful villages and landscapes in any direction one goes ... of course the itineraries (car, bicycle, trekking) we have prepared for our Guests help a bit! Our daughter and I were happy to greet you and we are only sorry that we cannot greet personally all our Guests. Just a tip for people having read your kind review: all rooms are very clean, well furnished and carefully prepared, but they are all different from each other in size, location and view ... and priced accordingly. At the time of reservation, please specify what type of room you desire in order to be fully satisfied by your stay with us.

We hope to greet you soon again at Villa le Barone,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50020 Panzano, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Panzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The swimming pool, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Travelocity, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel
Villa Le Barone Panzano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Le Barone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.