We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Barone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Le Barone to your Saves list
Villa Le Barone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Leolino 19, 50020 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ojai,CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed a few nights at the Villa Barone and will now go back and stay a few more! It is a beautiful setting with very helpful friendly staff. But I think that what makes this hotel different from the other hotels in the area is the personal interest of the owners in their guests. They eat in the restaurant, prepare the floral arrangements,and are approachable for any small request or problem. This shows in every aspect of one's stay. Only a shame that a few of the guests did not dress a bit for dinner as a polite letter in the room suggested.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Neenhilde,

thank you very much for taking the time to review Villa le Barone ... and for coming back to us so soon! Yes, my wife's and my pleasure is to meet our Guests and help them feel at home with us in Chianti. We are only sorry we don't have a chance to meet them all! Thank you also for your comment about dressing up a bit for dinner; of course there are no requirements on the matter, but it would be so much better for all if everyone - as a show of respect for others- would wear a shirt and jacket rather than a t-shirt on this occasion. Having said that, no need to be "stuffy" at Villa le Barone.

We look very much forward to seeing you back soon in Villa le Barone,

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    30
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
196
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to discover this very special inn while simply driving through Panzano. After a beautiful lunch in town, we thought we should spend a night in the area before continuing farther into the Tuscan countryside. One night became four, and our stay here was the highlight of a wonderful trip through Italy. First, the sense of hospitality, and of staying with family, is real. Curso and the wonderful staff there were a pleasure to talk to, and incredibly helpful in sharing information about the area. The breakfast is wonderful, as is dinner (I highly recommend dinner here.....very special). This is clearly a lovingly restored and well kept property in a truly beautiful location among vineyards and olive groves, and makes a wonderful home base for a wide array of activities: walking or cycling (made much easier thanks to detailed local trail/vineyard walking itineraries provided by the Villa, AND 2 mountain bikes available on request), delicious local dining, visiting local vineyards, and easy day trips to many highlights in Tuscany. Our bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was spotless, and all common areas, both inside and outside, invite the visitor to slow down and simply enjoy the beauty of the property and the surrounding countryside. The Villa is has a beautiful garden, pool, tennis court, fitness room, several sitting rooms and a wonderful assortment of reading material, as well as siting areas abundantly available both inside and outside. So, whether one wants to relax at the inn or go exploring, all possibilities are available. I can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear portofino3,

Jacqueline and I are very happy you really enjoyed your stay in Chianti with us and grateful for your very kind review. You quickly got into the ambiance and style of Villa le Barone and could make the most out of it! A comment on our mountain bikes: they are sturdy ... and a bit heavy while the hills in Chianti are definitely numerous and steep. If you want road bikes or lighter bikes, they are easy to rent at a very acceptable price from Greve in Chianti (the village next door) and we can do that for you if you tell us at reservation time.

Thank you again. We hope to see you soon back in Chianti,
Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed three nights over the Easter Holiday. The hosts and staff were incredibly welcoming, answering all questions via email before we arrived and then remembering exactly who we were upon arrival. Our room was well appointed, not overly stuffy, but beautifully decorated with incredible views of the Tuscan hillside. The Frette linens were an especially nice treat. We dined in the restaurant every night. I highly recommend this as driving while drinking wine is not advised! Fernanda the chef takes great care in her dishes and the hostess Julie is delightful. We liked the food so much we even signed up for a cooking class in the kitchen. The villa offers a perfect launching point for Tuscany sight seeing and wine tasting. They offer very detailed itineraries for day trips in the region. We can't wait to go back again this summer.

Room Tip: Room 26 is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Giovanna G., thank you very much for your kind review. I believe that by your comments you are doing a better promotional job than I would. Could I just add that you need a stay of 3 to 4 nights to get perfused by the spirit of serenity that Villa le Barone offers and that one day hops are not long enough to set into the beauty of Chianti? We hope to see you back soon in Villa le Barone.

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent only one night at Villa Barone and wished we had had more time. Set in the most stunning Chianti countryside, gardens full of tulips and flowers, wildflowers carpet the orchards, tennis, swiming, delicious dinner and amazing breakfast, staff who couldn't have been more helpful, I would go back time after time again to stay here. The hotel itself was so comfortable, beautiful furnishings, room after room to spend time in reading lovely books, an honesty bar, so spacious. I would reccomend this hotel over and over again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Harrietb0,
what can I say after your review? I am just blushing red with pleasure that the efforts our staff,our manageress, my wife and i make succeed in pleasing our Guests! I am only a bit sorry you could stay only one night with us since one needs 3 or 4 days to be pervaded by the quietness and beauty of the surrounding hills, of the abbey of San Leolino, of the gardens and of the Villa itself. We really hope to see you again soon at Villa le Barone, like so many friends that come back repeatedly, some of them year after year. As for my wife and I, lucky custodians of Villa le Barone, we can't help but notice every day several items that need to be improved and corrected to strive to improve the sojourn of our Guests ... but this is our problem!
Thank you again,
Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Villa LeBarone was the first stop of our recent trip to Italy. We stayed here for 4 nights and were very pleased with our experience. We arrived the day before the official opening (they graciously allowed us to start our stay then so we wouldn't have to change hotels) and despite the staff working feverishly to get the Villa ready for opening day, the owner and staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Corso and his wife Jacqueline greeted us on the beautiful grounds of the villa, assuring us that we were most welcome and to expect warm hospitality. We were not disappointed. Our room was ready, sparkling clean, and our luggage was taken promptly there. The staff was quite helpful in assisting us to get adjusted to the area and, as they did throughout our stay there, were very helpful with directions, suggestions, etc. The villa's property is quite lovely with several outdoor locations for dining, drinks, and soaking up the sunshine. The view of the vineyard is just beautiful, even when seen through raindrops. I'm sure it is spectacular in the fall. Anyway, our room was spacious, the decor tasteful and comfortable, and the bathroom was very large with great overhead shower accommodations. As an aside - the mattress at the villa was by far the most comfortable of any place we stayed throughout Italy. I could not get over how firm (translation: hard) the mattresses were every other place we went. At Villa LeBarone, they were extremely comfortable. We enjoyed a typical Italian breakfast each morning and were very satisfied with the variety offered - hot/cold beverages, juices, cakes, breads, fresh fruits, yogurts, and a variety of meats and cheeses. The rooms in the villa are spotless, so hats off to the cleaning staff. We found the location of the villa to be very central to touring the area. Ponzano is a little town about a 15 minute drive from the town of Greve. There are many wineries, restaurants, and little towns/villages an easy drive from Villa Le Barone. The Chianti region is beautiful - there is so much to see and do and staying at Villa Le Barone was key to our enjoying our time there. We highly recommend this location and would not hesitate to stay there should we ever be in that part of the world again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear TheWools, thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us. Every Guest is important to us ... but you were the first one of the 2013 season! As I am writing you, Villa le Barone has been now open for a few days, all the preparations have been finished in time for the opening, our Restaurant has started to delight Guests with fine local recipes (sorry that when you came our Restaurant was still closed) and .... last but not least, the sun has come back shining on the Chianti landscape and we are very sorry you had to put up with grumpy weather while you were with us! We hope that wherever you stayed in Italy, you had good experiences and look forward to hosting you, family and friends again at Villa le Barone.
Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My family and I spent a few days at the wonderful Villa le Barone in Panzano in Chianti. It was as perfect as my wife remembered from a previous visit a few years ago.
The staff is really helpful and always nice. The owners welcome you in their house and this makes the whole difference. The atmosphere is relax, quiet and everything you expect from a family trip in the heart of Tuscany. The dinners outside are delicious and everyone is so helpful with the kids.
We are looking forward to planning our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Greg_Vo,

thank you for your nice review catching up in a few words what Villa le Barone likes to be: a welcoming house away from home to which you return with pleasure over and over. Let me just make a comment on your wife's kind remark: "It was as perfect as my wife remembered from a previous visit a few years ago" .... it is you, our Guests, that by your suggestions keep us on our toes and help us improve ... so, we are very grateful for your feedbacks which we implement some immediately and some on the longer term, but which we never forget!

At the opening of the 2013 season my wife and I, as well as the whole staff, look forward to please many more Visitors to Villa le Barone and thank you for choosing us!

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent Easter weekend this past April at Villa le Barone, a beautiful old family establishment run by Italian-French team Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel. In a picture book beautiful, natural environment, you will find a classical villa with individually decorated rooms. It was all done with great class, not over the top but in good taste, and complemented by excellent quality staff and services (incl food to die for). Management gave us fantastic recommendations for outings in the area, including printed directions for visiting local cultural venues and cellars for wine tasting. We were also directed to nearby restaurants where locally produced, organic and slow food movement cuisine is served. One evening on a gravel road going back to the Villa our car was "guided" by a local wild boar. Environmental care at the Villa is displayed through features such as towel reuse recommendations, energy efficient lightening, fresh fruits and vegetables "in season", fruits and flowers from the Villa garden, and extra virgin olive oil with the "agroqualita" bio label - delivered from the family farm.

Room Tip: Units and rooms of varying sizes and price are available. A quality choice is available for couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Cornis_and_Marta,

many thanks for your kind words and high marks. We are very glad that you enjoyed both your trip to Tuscany and your stay Villa le Barone. Thank you for your tips on room choice. Yes, we are in a wonderful setting with postcard images of Tuscan landscapes all around us. It's so beautiful that we want to keep our environment as it is, hence our commitment to energy and water saving ... while not sacrificing to quality for the sake of our Guests. We also recycle paper/cartons, glass and plastic bottles and- of course- organic waste from kitchen and garden. I am glad the wild boar was guiding you to Villa le Barone ... we have a special arrangement with them as well as with deer to bring business to Villa le Barone!

We hope to see you back soon in Le Barone,

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50020 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Panzano in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The swimming pool, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel
Villa Le Barone Panzano In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Le Barone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.