We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Barone

Save Saved
You added Villa Le Barone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Le Barone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Leolino 19, 50020 Panzano, Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Panzano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My family and I spent a few days at the wonderful Villa le Barone in Panzano in Chianti. It was as perfect as my wife remembered from a previous visit a few years ago.
The staff is really helpful and always nice. The owners welcome you in their house and this makes the whole difference. The atmosphere is relax, quiet and everything you expect from a family trip in the heart of Tuscany. The dinners outside are delicious and everyone is so helpful with the kids.
We are looking forward to planning our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Greg_Vo,

thank you for your nice review catching up in a few words what Villa le Barone likes to be: a welcoming house away from home to which you return with pleasure over and over. Let me just make a comment on your wife's kind remark: "It was as perfect as my wife remembered from a previous visit a few years ago" .... it is you, our Guests, that by your suggestions keep us on our toes and help us improve ... so, we are very grateful for your feedbacks which we implement some immediately and some on the longer term, but which we never forget!

At the opening of the 2013 season my wife and I, as well as the whole staff, look forward to please many more Visitors to Villa le Barone and thank you for choosing us!

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    27
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
176
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent Easter weekend this past April at Villa le Barone, a beautiful old family establishment run by Italian-French team Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel. In a picture book beautiful, natural environment, you will find a classical villa with individually decorated rooms. It was all done with great class, not over the top but in good taste, and complemented by excellent quality staff and services (incl food to die for). Management gave us fantastic recommendations for outings in the area, including printed directions for visiting local cultural venues and cellars for wine tasting. We were also directed to nearby restaurants where locally produced, organic and slow food movement cuisine is served. One evening on a gravel road going back to the Villa our car was "guided" by a local wild boar. Environmental care at the Villa is displayed through features such as towel reuse recommendations, energy efficient lightening, fresh fruits and vegetables "in season", fruits and flowers from the Villa garden, and extra virgin olive oil with the "agroqualita" bio label - delivered from the family farm.

Room Tip: Units and rooms of varying sizes and price are available. A quality choice is available for couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Cornis_and_Marta,

many thanks for your kind words and high marks. We are very glad that you enjoyed both your trip to Tuscany and your stay Villa le Barone. Thank you for your tips on room choice. Yes, we are in a wonderful setting with postcard images of Tuscan landscapes all around us. It's so beautiful that we want to keep our environment as it is, hence our commitment to energy and water saving ... while not sacrificing to quality for the sake of our Guests. We also recycle paper/cartons, glass and plastic bottles and- of course- organic waste from kitchen and garden. I am glad the wild boar was guiding you to Villa le Barone ... we have a special arrangement with them as well as with deer to bring business to Villa le Barone!

We hope to see you back soon in Le Barone,

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have been going to Villa Le Barone, on and off, for more than 20 years. The owners are great hosts and staff most accommodating - and it's so nice to see the same people year after year! The lovely rooms and gardens make it a wonderful restful retreat and good location to explore Tuscany. Breakfast and dinner is served on terrace, weather permitting, and food is excellent with tuscan specialities and all farm fresh!

Room Tip: Rooms are in main Villa or adjoining buildings - all comfortable and tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear acw4981,

thank you very much for your kind feedback. I you feel that coming to Villa le Barone is just like "going home", my wife and I feel that we are not greeting paying Guests, but Friends! We look very much forward to seeing you back soon again,

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I have now stayed at Villa Le Barone twice. The experience both times was more than excellent. The Villa is charming in a beautiful location. The service is excellent and they can not do enough for you. Breakfast is excellent, rooms are spacious and don't forget to have the wonderful dinner at the Villa. We recommend the Villa and know those who read this and stay will be very pleased they did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear MichaelKOrinda,
we look very much forward to hosting you and your wife a third time and many more. More than half of our Guests come over and over, many of them year after year and some twice a year. There is always a new hamlet to visit, a new recipe to taste, a different wine to enjoy ... and beauty and serenity all over and around Villa le Barone to make your stay a very relaxing one.
Sincerely,
Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I almost feel wrong giving Villa Le Barone an excellent rating for two reasons: 1) Excellent is a poor choice for the outstanding beauty and service of the hotel. There ought to be a rating 2 to 3 levels higher which would match how honored we felt to be guests of this wonderful hotel. 2) I'd almost rather the hotel would remain unnoticed, unspoiled, by too much traffic. Ahhh, but it is not to be. [smile]

Villa Le Barone is an escape from everything. The rooms are wonderfully appointed, the staff is terrific, and the food is spectacular. But what really gets you going are the views. Standing out on a side road to the hotel or standing out by the pool and looking over the beautiful valleys coated with vineyards, one simply lets all the world's troubles melt away. This is where you go to relax. Because the hotel is small, you feel everyone there is a friend.

We really did not want to leave. Thank you so much for a wonderful week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Tim K,
what can I say? I am overwhelmed by your review and overjoyed that you have been so happy at Villa le Barone. Yes, the site and the landscape around it are beautiful and one never tires of letting one's eyes wander on the hills and valleys around it. My wife and I have been in Le Barone for a while, have travelled the world widely, but when we get back to Le Barone we have the same impression of beauty and serenity that we try our best to share with our Guests.

I am afraid we are not as perfect as you kindly say ... but we try our best and our friendship and that of our staff is genuine and sincere!

We look forward to having you and your friends back with us soon,

Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment we started corresponding with the Villa Le Barone, we felt like family. Every meal was wonderful...and because it is a small hotel, we felt like we were dining with friends. The staff could not have been more helpful with recommendations for day trips, restaurants, routes, etc. Our rooms were lovely...the whole hotel is lovely. Be sure to book dinners at the hotel. It was like going to a party every night! We hated to leave. The lovely thing is, we all felt like we had made new friends at the wonderful Villa Le Barone. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Try to arrange your trip so that you arrive during the daylight. The Tuscan roads meander up and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear MMBOSTON4511,
many thanks for your comments on Villa le Barone. You are right, several of our Guests get to know each other, sympathize and quite often book for the same period for the year after. Peace, beauty, serenity, good food and a bottle of Chianti make us all (Guests and Staff) happy and eager to make friends and be helpful ... and nice things happen to nice people.
We look very much forward to seeing you again next year,
Corso Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our trip to Italy was magical and capped off with our stay at Villa Le Barone in Panzano
The setting was from a scene from Under the Tuscan sun and the room made you feel like you had grown up in Tuscany.
We had breakfast and dinner at the Villa which was another reason to stay here as the meals were very authentic Italian dishes.
The owners could not have been more hospitable and we will return

Room Tip: The room on the third floor was magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guando,
many thanks for your kind review of your stay at Villa le Barone. My wife and I are very happy you enjoyed it. Even today November 8, as I write and look out of the window, the sun is shining on the hills, the vines and the olive groves ... and it's gorgeous.
Next time you come to Villa le Barone, book a cooking lesson ... this will make you discover how easy and tasty Tuscan recipes are ... as long as you use top fresh in season products as we do in our restaurant.
Sincerely,
Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50020 Panzano, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Panzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The swimming pool, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel
Villa Le Barone Panzano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Le Barone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.