We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Pieve a Salti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fattoria Pieve a Salti to your Saves list
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Buonconvento, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here 15 years ago when I worked in Italy and remembered it fondly... in some ways it hasn't changed - which is weird ;o)

My husband and I enjoyed our 3 day stay - very relaxing (yoga, massage, food, pool, sunbathing) - but it is also a good place to use as a base to visit hill towns and other sites in the area of Tuscany south of Siena.

I'd be tempted to go back for a week and allow a bit more time for chilling and walking.

Down side - the restaurant menu can geta bit repetitive if you eat in every night and most of the roomsare 1km from the main farmhouse (with the pool and restaurant). It's easy enough to drive over but if you want to walk there is a 300m stretch of road where you have to walk on the road. TAKE A TORCH (flashlight) for walking at night - It can be dark and cars may come up fast.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are 1km from the main site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
53
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fattoria Pieve a Salti was the final two-day stop on a week's cycle tour of southern Tuscany, organised by Inn Travel (who were great). There's a huge amount going for it: an agriturismo in its own grounds, serving its own food and wine, with spacious, clean and well-provided guest rooms (the best loos and showers we encountered all week) and in a great location for accessing the countryside north to the Olivetan Monastery at Chiasone or south to the gorgeous Tuscan wine centre, Montalcino.

We had a good welcome from a friendly receptionist with good English; the room was big and comfortable; but all our other dealings with the hotel, whether for refreshments, main meals or when checking out, were very business like and we felt rather "processed" - it felt less like a friendly farm-based place to stay and more like a business where we had to fit around what was most efficient for them. For example, we met two other couples who we wanted to dine with and this was not considered possible on the first night, even though other tables were visibly available: we each had to sit at our assigned table based on room number. On the second night, we did sit together but it felt like we were transgressing some rule, rather than being made welcome as guests who wanted to spend an evening eating and chatting together. When we checked out on the final Saturday, the driver was willing to take us straight away to the station (5 minutes by car) but was forbidden to do so, so we had to wait half an hour - it wasn't a big inconvenience but it added to the feeling of us needing to fit in with the system, rather than the service being there to serve us.

The location is amazing. If you're coming by bike from Buonconvento, expect to spend at least some of the time pushing your bike up one of two steep hills but it isn't very far and the views trom the Fattoria are amazing, we shared some great sunsets over a glass or two of their very good local red Tuscan IGT wine or the Brunello di Montalcino, which was local, organic and excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice and specious room with an authentic feeling to it. Absolutely gorgeous views, and a nicely set territory. Friendly staff. But the spa and the pool were not so good, and some how had a little run down touch to them (room was really fine). I would recommend, especially for those that love get away weekends to the country. By then way, the prices were very good, and much cheaper than I would have expected (but it could be because we were there off season - just after Easter holidays).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Tuscany at its best! Great open spaces, friendly people and fantastic weather are huge part of the success but this matched with quality agro-tourism makes it for really good experience. I enjoyed this place for its basic, rustic design and village feeling. Rooms were clean and offered enough comfort following all day of sightseeing areas nearby. To access the property you have to drive through a gravel road, up on the hills, with horses freely running on both sides of the road. There are not too many places in Western Europe where you can be that close to nature yet still enjoy quality accommodation at very reasonable prices. Very good choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This resort is located in the most beautiful rolling hills of Tuscany, the fattoria's rooms/ apartments are spread across several locations. Expect groomed gardens, an amazing outdoor and nice indoor pool, very clean & traditionally furnished rooms considering countyside location, friendly & helpful staff. Restaurant serves fresh organic food daily with nice Tuscan wines, dining on outside terrace with stunning views is an experience. Good variety breakfast available also possible to eat outside on terrace. Childrens menu available, although no pizza... Great location for horseback riding with over 30 horses on site. Tennis court in need of a little TLC. Wellness offering variety of massages & yoga. If you enjoy photography you will not be dissapointed with the stunning countryside setting. We enjoyed a great 2 week holiday here, kids were never bored as they enjoyed playgrounds, riding & the pool. Good location to venture into Tuscany, little town Buenconvento nearby.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Last 2 weeks of August we stayed in one of their apartments. These are lovely renovated and have air conditioning (which was appreciated with the 40degrees C).
Located on a functioning farm, this place has both an indoor as an outdoor pool.
Food was local and prepared fresh on a daily basis and was excellent. Day care for children up to 11 years was available. The apartment did have its own kitchen so self-catering is also a possibility.
They have a number of horses and the area is great for trail riding.
Although this was not at a central place, Tuscany has a lot of beautiful places. Pieve a Salti is located between Sienna and Montalcino both beautiful cities. All guest were social individualist families that like to spend quality time together. When you stay here a car is almost mandatory, as everything is a fair distance away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The dinner each night was amazing, with organic food from the farm used in all the dishes, even the wind is from the farm. Most of the dishes are very simple, but made with really fresh ingredients and delicious, just how Italian food should be! The room was lovely, really rustic and very Tuscan. The staff were all very friendly and the pool was gorgeous, with really amazing views! The only other thing I would say is that we stayed as part of a cycling holiday so the out of town location really suited us, but if you were just staying, be aware that it's a 2.5k walk to the nearest town (buonconvento, which is a little uninspiring!) if you wanted to explore you'd need a car but also if you wanted to chill out for a few days this is a great option! Also the cycling company we used was hookedoncycling which we found to be really good and organises the accommodation in piece a salti

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fattoria Pieve a Salti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Pieve a Salti

Address: Loc. Buonconvento, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Pieve a Salti 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Fattoria Pieve a Salti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Pieve a Salti Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Pieve a Salti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.