We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For families that enjoy tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Pieve a Salti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fattoria Pieve a Salti to your Saves list
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Buonconvento, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For families that enjoy tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Last 2 weeks of August we stayed in one of their apartments. These are lovely renovated and have air conditioning (which was appreciated with the 40degrees C).
Located on a functioning farm, this place has both an indoor as an outdoor pool.
Food was local and prepared fresh on a daily basis and was excellent. Day care for children up to 11 years was available. The apartment did have its own kitchen so self-catering is also a possibility.
They have a number of horses and the area is great for trail riding.
Although this was not at a central place, Tuscany has a lot of beautiful places. Pieve a Salti is located between Sienna and Montalcino both beautiful cities. All guest were social individualist families that like to spend quality time together. When you stay here a car is almost mandatory, as everything is a fair distance away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
53
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The dinner each night was amazing, with organic food from the farm used in all the dishes, even the wind is from the farm. Most of the dishes are very simple, but made with really fresh ingredients and delicious, just how Italian food should be! The room was lovely, really rustic and very Tuscan. The staff were all very friendly and the pool was gorgeous, with really amazing views! The only other thing I would say is that we stayed as part of a cycling holiday so the out of town location really suited us, but if you were just staying, be aware that it's a 2.5k walk to the nearest town (buonconvento, which is a little uninspiring!) if you wanted to explore you'd need a car but also if you wanted to chill out for a few days this is a great option! Also the cycling company we used was hookedoncycling which we found to be really good and organises the accommodation in piece a salti

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Background
5 day stay start of July
Half-board plan
Located at the Pod. Caprilli

Good Stuff
The location is beautiful
The facilities were very nice
The staff was helpful and accommodating.
The food was very good
The cost of beverages was VERY reasonable
The continental breakfast was excellent

Not So Good Stuff
We had some issues with the air conditioner which they were supposed to fix the first day bit it took 3 days before they moved us to another room
The grounds were very dusty
The facilities are spread out the outdoor pool is at the Pod. Caprilli, while the gym, spa and indoor pool are 1km down a hilly dusty road at the Fattoria itself
I found the mattress(es) to be old and sagging so I had a difficult time sleeping comfortably

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The view from Pieve a Salti was breathtaking. My friends and I enjoyed 3 nights at the villa and while it would have been helpful to have a car, there was plenty to do and see by bike and taxi. The rental bikes were in good condition and even though it had been a while since I had biked, I was able to navigate the local hills with little problem. The rooms were rustic, but clean, spacious and comfortable. It was a joy to sleep with the windows open and wake to the calling birds. The food provided on the half-board menu was varied and offered something for everyone. They used the organic products grown on the farm to create traditional Tuscan meals. While there, we enjoyed pork, game hen, pasta and a delicious spelt salad that I hope to re-create at home. The staff went out of their way to ensure that all of our needs were addressed and even went above and beyond what I expected. The day we left, we had to depart before the dining room was open, so they provided a sack breakfast for each of us. I would highly recommend this villa for anyone looking to get away for a few days. They also catered to families and had plenty for children to do and see.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Pieve a Salti on a half-board basis. The accommodaton at Pieve was fine although some of the buildings, gardens and decor looked a bit tired and in need of some TLC. Our biggest disappointment was the fact that dinner was at Pod Caprili a km and a bit away from Pieve a Salti.Not an ideal situation as transport was required to avoid walking on an unlit gravel road. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you are looking for rest and relaxation, this is the place. The location and surroundings are simply amazing. Great food; especially breakfast. Not your typical 'italian breakfast'.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a week-long walking tour through Tuscan hill country and this is one of the overnight stops the walking tour company (Mac's Adventures) booked us in. The setting was very lovely, with great sunsets over the hills, and a beautiful view of the nearby hill towns. As we enjoyed the sunset (and a bottle of Brunello) we met several other fellow travelers from Canada and South Africa with who we have since maintained a friendship.

The facility maintains a horse farm just up the road which is good for families, but we didn't have the energy after the long walking tour, and instead lounged around the pool and took ling naps with the windows open and the autumn breeze lulling us to sleep.

Dinner was good but unsophisticated, with an ambiance that reminded me slightly of summer camp dining hall.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and I would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fattoria Pieve a Salti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Pieve a Salti

Address: Loc. Buonconvento, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Pieve a Salti 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Booking.com so you can book your Fattoria Pieve a Salti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Pieve a Salti Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Pieve a Salti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.