We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Sublime....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Salicotto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Podere Salicotto to your Saves list
Podere Salicotto
Strada Prov.le Pieve a Salti Loc. Salicotti 73, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Buonconvento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still Sublime....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having had another week in this beautiful place, I wanted to write again to say if anything it is even more beautiful. Apart from the glorious views, fabulous brunch and proximity to all that is great in Tuscany, Silvia and Paolo remain ever kind, helpful perfect hosts. Make no mistake. This is the place to go if you are thinking of a holiday in Toscana!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silBuonconvento, Owner at Podere Salicotto, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Carissimi, grazie !
We are so lucky we met you long ago and it was a joy to have the girls with us as well. What a splendid family at Podere Salicotto. You are so kind and generous, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back next April,
big hugs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would highly recommend this accommodation. The surrounding scenery is Tuscany at its best. Breakfast was amazing and the owners Paolo & Silvia were the perfect hosts. Even when we had a problem with our car they took the time and trouble to put us in contact with a local garage and deal with them as we did not speak Italian. We will definitely be returning to this perfect haven in the heart of Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

In the midst of the beautiful Tuscan countryside lies this most delightful B & B with 360degree
views. However, it is the hosts and their attention to their guest which makes it extra special.
Silvia and Paulo have created a wonderfully tranquil environment and support it with their immense enthusiasm and dedication to looking after their guests. Silvia bakes bread/pastries each day, the breakfasts are superb.
There is a super pool, lots of places around to visit and we cannot recommend it highly enough if you wish to tour the Tuscany region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Having booked Podere Salicotto way back on Boxing Day last year, our expectations for a summer holiday week were high. They were met and exceeded a million times over!
Podere Salicotto is beautiful. It's location for touring southern Tuscany is perfect. It's setting and views are amazing: it reinvigorates the mind and soul. The accommodation is clean, spacious and like home. The swimming pool is the best I've ever swum in or sat out at.
Silvia and Paolo are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they strike the perfect balance between helping and advising you; and giving you space to enjoy their beautiful property.
We did the cooking class: it was brilliant. Such fun. Nicola, the chef who took the course, was a joy and his jams which we tasted with the cheeses in the morning were amazing.
Podere Salicotto is one in a million. Silvia and Paolo are special people and it was a pleasure to meet them. Thank you: we will be back next year. (If you're reading this Silvia and wondering who it's from the clue is in the words higgeldy piggeldy! Hope you've had occasion to use them. Do let us know what you think of The Angels Share!)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a fabulous 3 nights here. As the other reviews say, Paolo and Silvia are excellent hosts - friendly and professional. The breakfast is absolutely superb - excellent strong coffee made to order, home made cakes, lovely fruit, pecorino and ham. The pool is beautiful with excellent views of the surrounding countryside. The location is a perfect base to explore nearby towns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Podere Salicotto was more than I could have ever hoped for. From the moment we came through the gates, Silvia and Paolo were perfect hosts. I felt like I was staying in their personal home (which it really is) and was a special guest. Silvia greeted us in front of the main building and immediately made us feel welcome. She took us on a tour of the property and showed us where everything was, explained the wines in the wine cellar, the times for breakfast, etc. She also provided information on the events of the week; a Jazz Festival in Montalcino and a town festival in Buenconvento. We were also given a map of the area and other pertinent information.

Paolo helped us bring our bags up to our rooms, which were simple yet beautifully appointed. The bathroom was modern and the view out of all three windows was to die for. The views from this property are just beautiful and we couldn't get enough. The room was air-conditioned and had a large armoire and desk, more than enough room for our clothes.

The breakfasts were just wonderful. Silvia was there each morning to greet us and tell us what each of the foods were on the table. She made comfortable conversation yet was not intrusive. One morning we had to leave before breakfast was served and she was gracious enough to make us bag lunches to go. Another day she was willing to start breakfast 30 minutes earlier for us as we had to be out by 9:00.

There is such attention to every detail at Podere Salicotto. Silvia and Paolo are wonderful hosts that make each of their guests feel important. Silvia knows everyone by name the minute they arrive and treats each of the guests as she would a friend. Although we know that many people stay there during the season, Silvia made us feel special while we were there.

The location of Podere Salicotto is perfect if you want to visit the many areas of Tuscany. It is only 30-40 minutes from Siena so it is strategically located in the center of Tuscany. We drove to Montalcino, Cortona, Sorano, Sovana, Pitigliano, Pienza, and the Chianti area. Some drives were a little longer than others but the scenery along the way was beautiful and enjoyable so we didn't mind the drive.

If you are visiting Tuscany, this is the place to stay. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else after our wonderful visit to Podere Salicotto.Thanks again to Silvia and Paolo for a fabulous week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My family stayed at Podere Salocotto for 2 nights this July - a really cool experience. Paulo and Silvia were great hosts. The rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts at Podere were FANTASTIC - in fact the highlight of our stay. Homemade, freshly baked bread and cakes, fresh fruit from a neighbouring farm, organic muesli from another neighbour, biscotti with coffee, all this and more EVERY morning! Silvia and Paulo were also very helpful in advising us as to where to go for dinner and also organised a great tour guide for a 3 hour walking tour of Sienna. The only downside is that the location is fairly remote.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Podere Salicotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Salicotto

Address: Strada Prov.le Pieve a Salti Loc. Salicotti 73, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing silence, breathtaking views of Tuscan hills in all directions, magnificent sunrises and sunsets, a glittering canopy of stars at night...If you are looking for an inviting, comfortable, spacious accommodation with unforgettable views of the classic Tuscan landscape, a stylish environment where everything is finished to the highest standard, caring hospitality and attention to detail by your hosts, Podere Salicotto is the choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Podere Salicotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Salicotto Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Salicotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.