We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Salicotto

Save Saved
You added Podere Salicotto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Salicotto
Strada Prov.le Pieve a Salti Loc. Salicotti 73, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Buonconvento B&B and Inns
Alberta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here in June 2010, picture postcard views 360 degrees! It was so peaceful and relaxing, the scenery absolutely stunning. Silvia and Paolo were excellent hosts, with numerous suggestions, and wonderful hospitality. Wine cellar was enjoyed thoroughly. Location was a perfect base for sightseeing and Paolo took us on a great wine tasting tour. Accomodations were excellent. Rooms were clean, tastefully decorated and quite large. A guest kitchen was available to cook in, a full wine cellar to shop at your convenience, a beautiful and clean infinity edge pool with more than enough lounge chairs. Breakfast was much anticipated and always delicious with homemade care and attention. Much care and effort went into offering different selections and choices each day! We will definitely return! Hosts made us feel like old friends-it was our first bed and breakfast experience and can highly recommend to all!

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms, but spoke with other guests and everyone we talked with were all ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Dear Sylvia and Paolo-
Tatiana and I write to say 'thank you very much' for putting your heart, soul and wallet into your wonderful place. The breakfasts, the view of Monte Amiata, the soap in the shower.... and the dinner chez Terzuoli..da uve Sangiovese...all very terrific and a wonderful highlight to our trip. We smile and say 'thanks' for investing your energies in such a wonderful way.
Cheers,
Sheldon and Tatiana

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

They often say fewer words say it all......so put simply and clearly this little haven is at the top its game in every way. Great hosts, great food, great setting, great rooms.....great cellar! You are right in the middle of a treasure trove of sight seeing possibilities and it is a foodies delight.
So go, relax, enjoy and scan the gorgeous horizon from the pool with glass in hand, i-pod in your ears full blast or a great book (or kindle of course) and I can promise you life's issues will melt away for a while. This is worth the money.....trust me I'm a traveller!

Room Tip: Talk to Sylvia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

OK, so this place is just too amazing to keep a secret. People think I am crazy when I tell them about this gem - like I am trying to convert them to some mystical religion. Seriously - it does seem too good to be true - but in May I returned for my second visit - this time with my 84 year old mother - and was once again impressed beyond belief with the level of service here.

The basics - you are in the heart of REAL tuscany - not a contrived tourist town. Drive for miles and hours and stumble upon the most wonderful things. Great restaurants. Friendly people. Be sure to check out La Dolce Vita in town for homemade leather goods (to order if you like). Vineyards abound. Nice running on dirt roads.

At Podere Salicotto - a reception like no other. Your every request will be considered. On our first visit we broke a window in our rental car and Paolo arranged for a swap. (lesson - don't stack heavy pointy things on TOP of the luggage and then go around turns fast!). Both Paolo and Silvia will give you advice on any and everything you wish - making sure that you maximize (or minimize) you activities as desired. We have done 2 tours with Paolo - what fun!!! I 110% recommend doing the cooking class with dinner - I have done this twice - and I have no need to learn really how to cook anything but this EXPERIENCE - communing in an italian kitchen and pulling ingredients from the garden and then all gathering to eat the fruits of your labor over wine with Paolo and Silvia is the PERFECT tuscan day.

As for the BRUNCH - wow - what can I say. It is a dream. Everything fresh and local - and all the breads/tarts baked right there by Silvia. Yum.

My first trip was with husband and kids (12,15) and the second was with Mom (84). Next time will be just with the husband and bicycles and will be for romance! Podere Salicotto has it ALL!

Room Tip: There is not a
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have not even left this little piece of heaven on earth and already am dreading our re-entry into the real world!
Upon arriving from a long and winding road trip from Volterra we were greeted by a spectacular picture of an incredibly beautiful Tuscan villa perched upon a hill.
This was my image of Tuscany and it did not disappoint from the very first minute!
We were greeted by Paolo who was all smiles and extremely accommodating.
our accommodations could rival any 5 star hotel anywhere in the world!
Sylvia was absolutely incredible with her wonderful sense of humour, her infectious smile and gourmet breakfasts each morning!
They were so beautiful and delicious I had to photograph them!
They rivaled any gourmet magazine spread !
As a matter of fact, we were the only guests here for the first few days and we could not believe the effort that was put into the presentation of our breakfasts each morning! Sylvia is an amazing chef and thoroughly enjoys what she does!
Fresh baked breads and amazing foccacias were always available as well as locally produced meats and cheeses.
Paolo gave us our best tour of the trip!
We visited tiny villages that otherwise we would have never found ourselves!
For sure we will be back!
I can not say enough about these wonderful people and their wonderful home!
Next time we will sail the mediteranean with Paolo!
Thank you both!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This agriturismo is simply amazing. The owners, Paulo and Silvia, will become your friends. Silvia serves delightful breakfasts, worthy of the finest writeups in foodie magazines. In fact, we were moved to take pictures of them, they were so beautiful (and equally tasty, as she bakes her own bread and cakes daily). Rooms and common areas are finished with style but also comfort. There is a languid pool and stunning views from every window. There are common rooms with free internet access and a kitchen when you feel the urge to stay in for the night. Buonconvento is not a typical touristy-laden Tuscany town, which we enjoyed. There is easy train access from either Florence or Rome. The owners will help you arrange day trips and even have a boat if you care to make the brief journey to the Mediterranean. While we were there, another family was staying for a repeat visit. Given that it's not the easiest place in the world to find, I think repeat customers speak to the top notch experience this place offers. I would return without hesitation. It was the highlight of our Tuscany experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silBuonconvento, Owner at Podere Salicotto, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Carissima,
Thank you for your most gentle words. We are very glad you enjoyed this area - the very heart of of Tuscany which - we believe - is one of the most beautiful in the world. Here you have a lot of things at the same time: stunning views, unique plays of light over the rolling hills, amazing silence, art & culture, music & wine, local traditions. And you feel safe as this is a small community where everybody knows everybody.
We'd love to see some of the pictures. Should you have the time, pls. do e-mail them to us.
We look forward tore ceiving them.

Let us keep in touch.
Grazie,
un caro abbraccio
Silvia & Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Ok so the breakfasts are ridiculously amazing, the location is epically beautiful and Silvia and Paolo are everything you could ever want in a host. Podere Salicotto will not disappoint. Im already planning my return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silBuonconvento, Owner at Podere Salicotto, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Carissimi!
Our team with Doina & her daughter Raluca, Paolo and myself thank you so much for taking the time to write this joyful review which is the very first of this new season.
We feel encouraged to continue to nourish our willingness to go an extra mile for our guests and offer a peaceful ambience and a relaxing atmosphere. This is how we hope we can make you feel at home.
We take this opportunity to thank all our guests who have been so kind and generous to us. You all have added value to our home and made our job more meaningful.

Grazie e a presto
Silvia & Paolo with Doina & Raluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Salicotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Salicotto

Address: Strada Prov.le Pieve a Salti Loc. Salicotti 73, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing silence, breathtaking views of Tuscan hills in all directions, magnificent sunrises and sunsets, a glittering canopy of stars at night...If you are looking for an inviting, comfortable, spacious accommodation with unforgettable views of the classic Tuscan landscape, a stylish environment where everything is finished to the highest standard, caring hospitality and attention to detail by your hosts, Podere Salicotto is the choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere Salicotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Salicotto Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Salicotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.