We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven days at La Ripolina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Ripolina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added La Ripolina to your Saves list
La Ripolina
Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Buonconvento B&B and Inns
Elkins Park, Pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seven days at La Ripolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at La Ripolina B&B six years ago, and again in early June 2012 for seven days. We found it just as lovely as it was then, and Signora Cresti just as friendly, helpful, and gracious as she was before.
The reason that we chose La Ripolina and Buonconvento is because of its beautiful location ( rolling hills and green valleys dotted with dark trees), and its proximity to Florence, Siena and Assisi and their artistic treasures.The lower Tuscan countryside is also full of interesting and historic Medieval towns and hamlets. The small unassuming town of Buonconvento (very near La Ripolina) is very friendly, and very Italian.It is a town without a T-shirt store but one with at least two very good restaurants, a small museum, and ample services for visitors.
All in all our stay in La Ripolina with its handsome accomadations and its very ample breakfast, was a very satisfying and quite affordable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

A lovely week in Tuscany at La Ripolina.
Our apartment was spacious, clean and very well equipped. Laura the owner was
most helpful and even booked bus tickets to Rome for us. We were travellng with
my 11 year old niece who loved the pool and playing with the other children.
The nearby village of Buonconvento was charming and very close by. We had several
lovely meals in the village or bought groceries from the local Coop and cooked at nights
using the great local produce drinking great wine of the area. Sunsets were spent with a glass of red in hand, taking in the view chatting with other guests at La Ripolina about our day and where we should visit next. Towns visited.Sienna, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Pienza, Sant'Antimo Abbey, Assisi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My parents (mid 60s)and I stayed here for our 'week in Tuscany', to chill and relax midway through our 5 weeks in Italy. It was perfectly located and adequate for a relax. It is also ideally located as a base to visit nearby towns of Montalcino (overrated in our minds), Montepulciano(loved it!!!), Pienza (LOVED it more) and even Sant' Antimo. We also did a day trip to Assisi, and ended up driving to Chiusi and catching train to Rome.
It was lovely and clean, and we felt perfectlY at home and could easily get some groceries in town at the Coop and make dinner or eat in town.
Depending on what sort of stay you want in Tuscany will determine where and what sort of place you stay. Next ti,e I would stay in Pienza or Montepulciano and really get the feel for Tuscan villages, however if we did that this time no doubt it would not have served our purpose of chilling.
Laura the owner was an absolute delight and would definitely recommend la ripolina for a place to chill and be close to sought after locations without paying top dollar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the track with good views over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed at La Ripolina for 2 nights in October. The owner, Laura, speaks English and is helpful if you need advice for restaurants or even booking future accommodations for your trip. (She did this for a couple who were also staying there.) La Ripolina has both apartments and b&b accommodations so something for whatever you need. Breakfast was good with the usual assorted breads, biscotti, cereal, yogurt, cheese, meat, juice, and fruit. The room was fine with antiques\ancient furniture which fit well in this very old brick building. Views are lovely from all directions. There is a pool which would be nice in the summer. The only drawbacks (for some people) which are worth mentioning are: (1) the breakfast slot is very brief (8:30-9:00am); (2) the room was not serviced during the day (didn't matter to us but some people might care); and (3) check out time was vague until the day of the departure when we were asked to leave right away at 10am (it was 10am) and so this can be a bit disruptive if you are not quite ready to leave. Check out time needs to be clear when one checks in. Otherwise, this agriturismo is just fine and I think most people would have a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The building is a very nice renovated old italian farm, typical for the area. Our appartement was large and we had space enough. The kitchen was very well equiped. The swimming pool was large and necessary to relax and have joy with the children. There were many open areas around the house that you could enjoy the view and to breathe the fresh air of Tosany in the afternoon or early in the morning.Of course be prepared for the mosquitos, not to disturb you.
Near by the house there was the super market and also the village of Buonconvento with nice ice-creams and quiet small restaurants-all in better prices than the bigger cities like Sienna. Sienna was three quarters drive.
But there are smaller and nicer villages and a person could visit a different one every day. They all have a nice center to visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Ripolina is situated on a hilltop just outside Buonconvento, with gorgeous views of the
Tuscan countryside including sunflower fields and working farms. We stayed in a large one bedroom in an ancillary building from the main house. Furnishings are comfortable, not plush. There are other rooms in the main house where a good typical buffet breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room. Also several apartments are scattered throughout the property. There is a good sized pool with great views as well.

The setting is wonderful, very quiet, about 1/2 mile off the main road and up a dirt road to the property, the beautiful old family home and farm of the owner/operator, Laura. We drove off leaving our clothing in the armadio and Laura had them in the mail to us the next day. This charming agriturismo/bed and breakfast is a real value and slice of Tuscany!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We had a great time at La Ripolina and found it to be to be a tranquil place- in a beautiful country setting (a misty morning view of the nearby counrtyside is now our desktop wallpaper)- and our host Laura was delightful, undestanding of our modest italian language and most helpful with lots of local information. The room was generous in size, comfortable and pleasant to be in. We strongly recommend this agriturismo that is perfectly positioned for day trips to all of South West Tuscany including the neatrby fabulous frescos in the MonteOliveto Abbazia.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Ripolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ripolina

Address: Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ripolina is situated in the heart of the "Crete Senesi" (Sienese Clay Hills) about 25 km from Siena. It is close to Montalcino, land of the famous Brunello wine, and is surrounded by 100 ha of vineyards and grain cultivations. These charming hills make the countryside unique and ever so beautiful in all seasons. This area is full of history, with its ancient stones and red brick walls, and therefore is a special place for physical and mental relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Ripolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ripolina Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ripolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.