We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Villa, Amazing Owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Armena Relais

Save Saved
You added Villa Armena Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Armena Relais
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Buonconvento
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay, Great Villa, Amazing Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Armena for four nights in early September. We had the best time. The Villa is beautifully restored with modern amenities (and fantastic housekeeping morning and evening) and makes the perfect base from which to explore the area (Montepulciano, Montalcino, Siena, San Gimignano, Pienza, etc.) The owners - Eduardo, Elena and Laura - are amazing and try so hard to make your stay perfect. Their care sets this villa apart from all others. A perfect example is the story of our first evening at the villa - after a mishap in Florence and arriving late to the Villa and finding out that the restaurant there would be closed during our stay due to a death in the chef's family, Eduardo offered to have his wife Elena cook us dinner along with two other guests in the restaurant while Laura (who acts as the sommelier) served us and hand picked an excellent bottle of white wine for us from the region to enjoy with dinner. It was truly like being cared for by a lovely family and fed in their home. We loved Tuscany and were so sad to leave. It was definitely the highlight of our trip and we visited some great cities - London, Amalfi Coast, Rome, etc. We wish we lived closer so we could return more often! We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear clk1483,

thank you for taking the time to share your expereince with us on Tripadvisor.

Looking after you, even if just for a couple of days, was a true pleasure.

We wish you guys all the best and we hope to see you again at some point in the near future.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    8
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
101
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at villa Armena In June for 2 days after a friends wedding for some extra time on our own in this beautiful country. Villa Armena did not disappoint. On arrival we were greeted by the two owners and upgraded to a suite which we was over the moon with. The room was absolutely stunning our bed was turned down every evening and we was left a surprise of homemade biscuits. The restaurant is very expensive but totally worth it. Yes there isn't views from the restaurant area but you dont need this as there is a large window where you can see the chefs cooking which we loved. The food was amazing cooked perfectly and the owners mother was our waitress and she is just the nicest lady ever and knows her wine!! We are normally Rioja drinkers but she introduced us to some beautiful red wines during our stay which really complemented the food.

The pool we had practically to ourselves. Yes the owners are not there constantly asking if you want drinks but they do pop down now again during the day. Remember they are trying to let you enjoy your holiday on your own rather than keep pestering. We was more than happy with the service.

The lunch menu isn't as great as the evening food this maybe as the chef is not in till the evening which is not a problem. Most of the other guests were out in the day so it was only us about at lunch however on our second day the owners mother offered us a pasta that wasn't on the menu and that was gorgeous.

Our overall experience was Villa Armena was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We are now looking for a hotel for our honeymoon next year in Bali and its going to be so hard to find anywhere as good as Villa Armena we should of left it till the honeymoon.

We Both wish the owners all the best and good luck with there new addition to the family who is due soon. We will be back one day again and will recommend your hotel to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear becca1406,

thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted.
There is nothing better for us than a very happy guest, believe me.

Best of luck for your wedding and indeed we do take your word for granted: we fully expect to see you guys very soon :-)

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When staying in Tuscany for the first time it can feel a little tricky to pick the right spot. Such is the romantic image the region conjures up that you perhaps want those long views that graduate at sunset, to stay in a proper villa and be close enough to some interesting places to visit. You want to get it right.

Your first step should be to book a room at Villa Armena. A labour of love for Edoardo and Elena, a four year renovation of an old ruin has resulted in a villa of sumptuous grandeur that would have made a perfect episode of Grand Designs. Each of the ten rooms has a breathtaking attention to detail, with bespoke furniture and beautiful carpets - a masterpiece of interior design skill that means it doesn't matter which room you stay in; simply book the best room you can afford because they are all wonderful. The bathrooms - so often a let-down - are a triumph. Modern, yet in harmony with their 700 year old surroundings thanks to stones handpicked from local quarries and fitments that are both functional and magical. We don't recall staying in a bedroom or bathroom we preferred.

The villa - a listed building of local importance - is augmented by a swimming pool constructed from natural materials that is a peaceful place to relax for the day. When you want to venture out the nearby City of Siena and wine region of Montalcino provide all you need to see during your Tuscan holiday. The team are only too happy to provide recommendations, maps and encouragement - though do note that no matter where you stay in Tuscany a hire car is almost essential.

When you do emerge from your room, breakfast is served until 11am which is seriously civilised and gives you an excuse to visit the restaurant restrooms which are filled with yet more covetable design flourishes.

But it wasn't just the furniture we wanted to sneak in to our suitcases when we left. Franco, the British Bulldog (Edoardo and Elena studied in London) would have made a lovely souvenir, and Laura, Edoardo's mother (and accomplished sommelier), was delightful in every way and therefore officially adopted as our Italian Godmother. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
MrFredBrown....what can we say ?!
THANK YOU of course !

You were such wonderful guests..we would clone you if we could :-)
The question here is obvoius: when are you guys coming back ?!?!?!.

Big hugs from everyone here (Franco included)

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a five (5) night stay at the Villa Armena. We found the hotel through Trip Advisor and the positive reviews that so many of you have taken the time to write. We want to thank Trip Advisor reviewers for your wonderful comments about this incredible property. Your review definitely contributed to our chosing this property for our stay in Tuscany.

When we first arrived a the Villa Armena property, my wife and I both said that we had arrived in heaven!! The property is set in the most incredible setting.... high on a hill, with views over incredible Tuscany. Our first impression stayed with us the entire stay!! The property is manicured, and taken care of daily by a maintenance man, and it showed. The pool and the surrounding area of the pool was just beautiful As a matter of fact, an outside group had booked dinner in the dining room one evening, but insisted on cocktails adjoining the pool area as it is such a wonderful spot on the property.

We were met at the hotel by Edouardo and his wife. They made us immediately comfortable with their welcome and made arrangements to have our luggage taken care of. This is one very hard working couple who have devoted themselves these past four years, we learned, in acquiring this property and completing a major renovation ... I mean major.... from top to bottom. This property is definitely a labour of love to this couple and it showed.

We learned that Elena is an architect who devoted her time and skills to detailing and supervising the renovation and creation of this absolutely luxury property in the heart of a wonderful area of Tuscany. No detail in the renovation was overlooked and it showed, from the bedrooms, dining room, outside patios and open window kitchen, and the common sitting areas of the villa both on the main floor and on the second floor of the villa. Our room was beautiful simply said and our quiet sanctuary after a busy day. We didn't hear a sound from any other room on the floor, felt totally private and when we slept, we had the most incredible sleeps.... wish I could duplicate this peace and serenity of our Tuscany room back home in our busy lives... oh well, that's why God created holidays. The room was furnished and detailed to the 9's, the bed was wonderfully comfortable, and the large washroom had everything including a shower with incredible water pressure in which I could have stayed for hours. Absolutely nothing was lacking and we have nothing negative to say about the room, or in fact the villa.

Not only are Edouardo and Elena supervising every aspect of the operation of the property, but they have Laura (Edouardo's mother) ever present in the restaurant, both in the morning and in the evening. She is a lovely woman and is a fully trained sommelier and always chose our wines each and every evening perfectly. Add to the mix a chef, Fabrizio, of great skill and accomplishment who prepared all the food at the villa. We chose to have all our dinners at the Villa, and ventured out during the day to the surrounding areas, restaurants and wineries. We got back to the Villa about 5 each day, in time to relax before dinner each evening and just take in the full experience of the Villa. There is a set menu each day, with some specials, but Fabrizio will, more or less, cook anything that we wanted. He helped make our stay wonderful. Everything was well prepared, and artistically presented, and always delicious. We enjoyed each and every meal at the Villa!! The breakfast table had everything and more that one could expect, or imagine and always carefully presented ... there were a number of chef prepared specialties available as well for breakfast if we wanted to add to the over abundant breakfast table.

Each day, I would discuss with Eduoardo where I could drive to and visit, and have a portable gps I install in the window of my rental car wherever we go in the world which helped immeasurably. We chose to not go to any large cities, but concentrated on all the towns within a 45 to 60 minute drive from the Villa, and let me tell you, there are so many towns, that we didn't see everything we wanted but enjoyed each and every town and each suggestion of Eduoardo's was right on.

At one time, my wife and I were contemplating buying an apartment somewhere in Tuscany, but after staying at Villa Armena, we have decided we have our "own" villa to return to over and over again, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again at Villa Armena. One last point, with Eduoardo, Elena and Laura, we felt so comfortable, in some ways we felt we had found relatives in Tuscany.... and believe me, nothing feels better than a great Italian family life to us. They made us feel part of their family... so comfortably that we would go back over and over again when we are Tuscany.

We most definitely recommend Villa Armena to anyone looking for the best that Tuscany has to offer!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Ciao CanadianCouple747!!

thank you so much for your amazing review!

What can we say...first of all we have to say thank you I guess:. this is a thank you that comes from the bottom of our hearts.
Secondly I'd like to say that Villa Armena is not just your "own" home in Tuscany..but it REALLY IS your home now.. Don't bother buying a flat over here, just come back with your family anytime and we'll have a big party all together everyday! Franco and "il piccolo Leonardo" included of course :-)

Grazie mille

Edoardo, Elena, Laura, Fabrizio, Franco, Cessen and il piccolo Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family of four stayed at Villa Armena in late August. The Villa is beautiful, more a boutique than a hotel - recently restored by owners Edoardo and Elena, We stayed in a suite that had a very large master bedroom, a separate sitting room, a spacious, modern bathroom and an attached bedroom with two beds for our kids - all beautifully designed, decorated, and luxurious. Edoardo and Elena are great hosts - they gave us great suggestions for touring the area, arranged a wine tasting with the lovely sommelier Laura (Edoardo's mom), and were quick to offer and accommodate anything we needed. We loved the pool, and outside sitting areas - great spots to have a glass of wine in a perfect Tuscany setting. The restaurant is exceptional - our favorite in the area. The breakfast buffet, which is included, was extensive, with decadent, freshly baked pastries every morning, and our dinners there were absolutely memorable. A truly special place - it was hard to leave.

Room Tip: For families traveling with children, the family suite we stayed in accommodated everyone so comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Wow NYCody, what a great review!
Thank you so much!
There is nothing better for our morale than getting this kind of feedback from our guests.
We really try to do our very best every day. And having our efforts appreciated so much is an amazing boost, for all of us.

Many thanks again and see you soon!

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a beautiful Hotel/Villa. One of the nicest places we have stayed in Europe and we have stayed at some very nice/expensive hotels. Every detail was thought of by the owners and they will go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It has the feeling of staying at your own villa but without the work of being on your own (preparing own meals, making bed etc). We stayed in two different suite both were beautiful and had their own charm. The Ubaldino suite is the only one with a private terrace. The hotel is at the end of a dirt road but it was easy enough to get once you figured it out. If your intent is to tour Southern Tuscany the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Buongiorno lp10065 :-)

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Armena with the rest of the world, it's really much appreciated indeed.

We're delighted you had a great time over her and we hope to see you again next time you're in Italy.

P.s: next time there will be little Leonardo too...he should be with us within the next 4 to 5 days :-))

Ciao from everyone here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Armena in mid-August. What we remember most about our stay was the warm welcome and care we received from Edoardo and his family (including Franco, the bulldog). They hit the perfect note with the service, which was friendly, helpful and attentive, but not intrusive. The Villa is located a little off the beaten track, just outside Buonconvento, but we found it using a combo of GPS and directions from the Villa's website. From the Villa, we were able to do day trips by car to Sam Gimignano, Siena, Montepulciano, Pienza, Bagno Vignoni.

The Villa itself is a charming property, furnished elegantly in the manner of a luxurious Tuscan home. We stayed in a suite that had a big, modern bathroom with high ceilings. The bathroom included a generously-sized square soaker tub and glass-enclosed rain shower with fancy features such as changing lights and different water spray options. A modern bathroom is a must for me and this met my expectations. The bed was comfortable, the tv was a flat screen and there was free wi-fi. The Villa's grounds are well kept and the pool was nice area to relax and enjoy the sun (although the mosquitos, which can't really be avoided in Tuscany in the summer, did feast on me quite a bit).

The food that we enjoyed during our meals at the Villa was exceptional and definitely comparable to the Michelin starred restaurants we have dined at in other parts of the world. We had dinner twice during our stay. The pasta dish we had during our Ferragosto tasting menu was the best pasta we had during our entire time in Italy and I'm still thinking about it. The breakfast spread was also beautifully laid out every day.

We had such a lovely stay at Villa Armena and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Ciao DWorldTraveler2013,

and many thanks for your wonderful review.
We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us so much and, of course, we hope to be able to welcome you again sometime soon.
Your pasta is here with your name on :-)

See you soon!

Edoardo (and everyone else at Villa Armena)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Armena Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena Relais

Address: Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Armena Relais 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Armena Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Relais Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Armena Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.