We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Armena Relais

Save Saved
You added Villa Armena Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Armena Relais
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Buonconvento
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Sublime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A rare combination of thoughtfulness and effortless genuine hospitality, this is what Villa Armena is all about. The result is the feeling that nobody but you and your loved one exist when you are at Villa Armena. You truly unplug from the ordinary and breathe like you might rarely do.

Located few minutes from the splendid Buonconvento, Villa Armena welcomes you with a what Italian hospitality is all about. The villa is picture perfect from the labyrinth garden to the side wooden brick patio, while the suites are the the marriage between luxury and comfort, old fashion material and modern design.

The drive to Villa Armena is a little tricky at first but well worth because of the view. The GPS will not take you there therefore you might want to KEEP THIS IN MIND:
1 - you have the Buonconvento tower on your right, take the road on your immediate left (if you come from SIena is the first one on the left after the gas station)
2 - After less than a mile take the road on our right with direction ARMENA. It will look like - because it is - an unpaved road. No worries!
3- After driving for less than a mile you will see that the road splits in two right where the dubsters are. Take the one on your left. THIS IS THE TRICKY PART! Remember the dumsters and you will be good. The 'Armena' sign is not that visible at night.
4 - You will soon end up in a private road that might be closed by a gate. Buzz Villa Armena from the gate by pressing the 'Villa Armena' button. You have less than a mile from there. Don't get discouraged by the pot holes, the road is actually easier to drive the second time around.

Bottom line: something to experience at least once in your lifetime. Drive included: the scenary that will unfold in front of your eyes is magnificent!

Room Tip: Loved suite 108 yellow/amber colors and amazing shower room/batrhoom jacuzzi and 110 layout and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Google Translation
Buongiorno verely!

Grazie mille per la sua bellissima recensione che sicuramente sarà utilissima a tanti (...speriamo :-) ) ospiti che verranno a trovarci nei prossimi mesi.
Siamo davvero felici che abbia un bel ricordo di Villa Armena e che l'esperienza con noi le sia piaciuta così tanto.

In bocca al lupo per tutto e speriamo di ripoterla accogliere quanto prima

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    9
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
106
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My partner Jeff and I just arrived home from a great trip to Tuscany but the highlight of our trip was staying at the beautiful Villa Armena. Our room and bathroom were amazing with beautiful yet functional design touches. This centrally located family run hotel is ideally situated for day trips to see all the hilltop villages and scenery but when we arrived back to the hotel each afternoon, it was like returning to paradise - peaceful and relaxing with magnificent views of the Tuscan landscape. What an escape! Elena and Eduardo were fantastic in recommending great restaurants and sightseeing hints. The restaurant in the hotel was also excellent especially with Laura as our friendly hostess and wine sommelier. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: We had Room #1 (the Orlando de Venusto Suite) and highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Ciao guys!
Thank you for your review and for your kind words.
It's great to know you enjoyed your time with us so much.
We really hope to be able to welcome you again very soon!

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Perfect just about sums it up.
We were there a few days as a couple (me and my wife) and loved Villa armena. The rooms (we had the Ubaldino suite) were very luxorius and the hotell suroundings looks just like the tuscany holliday brouchures. Location was also perfect (car is a must) short drive to sienna and other "must see" for tourists, like castles, wineries etc. We then held our wedding at the villa (thank you Elena for all your great ideas) and rented all the rooms for our guests so we had the pleasure of seeing all the rooms and I can promise you you will be very pleased with any room you choose.
The level of service was exelent. They went out of their way to help us with our every need and although this is one of the more expensive villas, we still feel we got more than we paid fore.
The only thing I could complain about was the lack of a bar, but since they were building one and it should now be open I guess this is the perfect getaway place.
The location is secluded yet central enough. The owners and staff makes you feel welcome and at home. The pool, the garden, the rooms, the food and wine were exelent.
This villa is just as perfect as a romantic getaway as it is for families.
We liked it so much that we are, with out a doubt, staying at Villa Armena the next time we go to tuscany.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Ciao Ronny!
well...what can we say...probably all we can add to your wonderful review is that we enjoyed organizing your wedding just as much as you enjoyed it experiencing. Your family is really fantastic (give a big hug to grandpa from Elena) and we are delighted we managed to give you the wedding of your dreams. That's what we work for.

Now we fully expect to see you all again next summer :-)

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are looking for the one spot that puts you in the HEART of the beautiful Tuscan landscape and makes you feel like the Royals in your castle this is it.
Everything about Villa Armena, "Elena" and "Edoardo" the owners , their staff members and the food - "EXCELLANT!"
Rustic with elegance in every room.
Location perfect whether it be a day at Siena, or a day in Gubbio you can be sure to be "Home" to enjoy your surroundings after a day of outings.
As far as the Tuscany country side from my 8 travels to Italy Villa Armena put me right in the heart of all those photo's you see of the Tuscan landscape. You could sped a day shooting photo's of that alone.
I cannot wait to get back to this Beautiful place and drink in it's beauty.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 09 has it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Grazie cpr1948, grazie for your wonderful review and for your company during your stay at Villa Armena, everyone here has great memories of you guys. See you soon!

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a fabulous setting, and Elena and Edoardo have done a wonderful job renovating the old villa. Every attention was paid to the details on the design and service. Elena was very helpful and scheduled us for some wine tasting tours as well. We stayed 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect for day trips to the many nearby hilltowns. I highly recommend it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello dear Debra R and thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you guys, we do hope to be able to welcome you again sometime soon.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Amazing energy, spectacular nature, interesting rooms and furniture with particular details, nice people, hospitable atmosphere, relaxing surroundings, one of a kind place. But above all we loved the food, the experience. Wish we stayed more than two nights.
The only down side is that my partner wanted to get a massage, during a very hot and humid day that we were there, and they gently recommended some where close. We didn't feel like going since we didn't have a car. A nice in house beauty place will add more unique stay to this wonderful place.
Tuscany is amazing, and the villa makes it more unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Wow George, what a great review, and almost 1 year after your visit!
We are delighted you have such good memories of Villa Armena after so long. If you will ever come back to Tuscany please do come to say hello, we'd be very happy to see you again.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We felt very spoiled and tended to at this lovely 10-room hotel. The owners along with the mother and cook were so attentive to our needs. We enjoyed a cooking school, and we have a gorgeous room with a view of the Tuscany hillside. Very newly rennovated and quite well done. We want to go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello dear Gail!
Thank you so much for your kind review, we all have very fond memories of you guys.The best one has got to be Alvie making Tiramisù :-)
We sincerely hope to see you soon.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Armena Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena Relais

Address: Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Armena Relais 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Villa Armena Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Relais Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Armena Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.