We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Armena Relais

Save Saved
You added Villa Armena Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Armena Relais
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Buonconvento
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a fabulous setting, and Elena and Edoardo have done a wonderful job renovating the old villa. Every attention was paid to the details on the design and service. Elena was very helpful and scheduled us for some wine tasting tours as well. We stayed 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect for day trips to the many nearby hilltowns. I highly recommend it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello dear Debra R and thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you guys, we do hope to be able to welcome you again sometime soon.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    9
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
112
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Amazing energy, spectacular nature, interesting rooms and furniture with particular details, nice people, hospitable atmosphere, relaxing surroundings, one of a kind place. But above all we loved the food, the experience. Wish we stayed more than two nights.
The only down side is that my partner wanted to get a massage, during a very hot and humid day that we were there, and they gently recommended some where close. We didn't feel like going since we didn't have a car. A nice in house beauty place will add more unique stay to this wonderful place.
Tuscany is amazing, and the villa makes it more unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Wow George, what a great review, and almost 1 year after your visit!
We are delighted you have such good memories of Villa Armena after so long. If you will ever come back to Tuscany please do come to say hello, we'd be very happy to see you again.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We felt very spoiled and tended to at this lovely 10-room hotel. The owners along with the mother and cook were so attentive to our needs. We enjoyed a cooking school, and we have a gorgeous room with a view of the Tuscany hillside. Very newly rennovated and quite well done. We want to go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello dear Gail!
Thank you so much for your kind review, we all have very fond memories of you guys.The best one has got to be Alvie making Tiramisù :-)
We sincerely hope to see you soon.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband Pat & I just returned from a trip to Italy, which included 5 nights at Villa Armena in Buonconvento.

We highly recommend Villa Armena to anyone looking to spend time in southern Tuscany. We rented one of the junior suites, which overlooked the garden & pool area, as well as a view of the Tuscan hills. The inn is 2 km up an unpaved hill outside of the small town of Buonconvento. Wonderful views, peaceful, quiet, relaxing - everything we were looking for. This made it a perfect spot to relax & unwind after each day of exploring the locals towns & sites.

Eduardo, Elena, Laura, and the rest of the staff treated us wonderfully & were great hosts. Top level service, without ever being overbearing or "in your face".

Although it was not our original plan, we ended up eating in the restaurant each evening. And we're glad we did! The food & service was amazing, and we were excited to try something new from the menu each night. Laura was also a joy to talk to about wine, and we were able to try some new wines during the trip.

The only downside was that we only got to see Franco once!

Thanks again for a wonderful experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello dear Jennifer and thank you so much for your wonderful review of Villa Armena.
I've already shared your kind words with everyone here, you have made a lot of people very happy indeed!
It was a pleasure meeting you guys and we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Thanks again

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just returned from three weeks in Italy, and would have to rank our stay at Villa Armena as one of the highlights. The property is gorgeous inside and out, striking just the right balance between luxury and authenticity. The owners, Elena and Eduardo, as well as the rest of the staff, all made us feel like we were friends visiting their beautiful tuscan villa rather than guests in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear hollygewandter!
Thank you so much for your kind review.
It's been a pleasure welcoming you to Villa Armena.
We are extremely proud of the fact that you consider our hotel as one of the highlights of your holiday.
A big thank you from the entire crew here, we hope to see you again very soon.

Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having followed Eduardo's ambitious project from the start, I was very much looking forward to visiting the villa over Easter. What I found was a beautifully rebuilt property with lots of character surrounded by great views over the Tuscan hills. Eduardo, Elena and Laura were super friendly and made me feel at home. I enjoyed chatting with them about their experience of creating this amazing project over some excellent Brunello wine! The setting is rural which lends itself to enjoying the outdoors around the villa including some nice running tracks up and down the hills to create some room for the fantastic food by a creative and enthusiastic chef Eduardo recruited recently. I'm look forward to coming back in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Steven,

thank you very much for your kind review. We have all enjoyed your company during your stay and we are all extremely happy that you enjoyed your experience at Villa Armena. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back this summer.

Ciao

Edoardo Giacone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the villa back in October 2012. The farmhouse has been beautifully renovated. Our room was very pleasant with a modern bathroom. We used the common area just outside our room and felt like we were staying at a friend's place rather than a hotel. The restaurant offered a very nice menu too with great service from the owner's Mum.
The only problem we encountered was the unsealed road to get to the villa which was quite difficult to navigate after the rain.

Would definitely recommend the hotel for a romantic getaway nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello dear Margouille!
Thank you so much for your kind review and for your kind words. We're truly delighted you have good memories of our property and of our family and indeed we are extremely proud you travelled all the way from Australia to come and visit us.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Ciao!

Edoardo Giacone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Armena Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena Relais

Address: Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Armena Relais 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Villa Armena Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Relais Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Armena Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.