I booked this hotel as a special treat for my husband, having read wonderful reviews on trip adviser. To say that we were both extremely disappointed is an understatement ! The stunning views consisted of the view of the next door neighbours garden & clothes line. The Villa was very cold , devoid of atmosphere and not particularly friendly . Unlike other guests who have written reviews, we were not made to feel particularly welcome . The worst part of the experience was the truly awful meal we had in the highly commended restaurant . Not only was it the worst , & most over priced meal, we encountered on our 10 days in Italy , it was one of the worst meals I have ever been served anywhere . The main corse , described as as slow roasted pork with honey, was a greasy mess , very little pork ,with 3/4 of the meat consisting of revolting fat . This was accompanied by 3 small scoops of cold ( straight out of the fridge ) mash potato . We did try to voice our concerns to the waitress who simply dismissed our comments on the basis we must have been too full. Given that I had a small & tasteless starter & my husband a small but edible pasta (at 22 euros !) this was clearly unlikely . When leaving I again voiced my dissatisfaction only to be given that old "we are trying a new chef " excuse , without apology . While the rooms were tastefully furnished , at the cost of a nights stay I do not think it was acceptable to have one partially / 3/4 used shower gel in the bathroom .There was nothing I would recommend about this hotel and was left wondering what audience they where appealing too . Unlike the advertised facilities the was no spa .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April 1, 2013
Dear Brigid A,
Report response as inappropriate
thank you for your review and for your visit. We did enjoy your company - even though it was only for one night - and indeed we are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Villa Armena. What I can tell you is that we have greeted you and welcomed you exactly in the same way we do with all our Guests, I guess this was not enough for you and we'd have appreciated perhaps some feedback from you when you left and when I personally asked you if everything went fine with your 1 night stay at the Villa. Instead, if you remember, the only thing you commented on was the pork you had for dinner which you defined as "greasy". Just for you to know that's been the best selling dish this winter and what you define as "revolting fat" was the actual skin of the pork in which the pig is cooked in the oven to give a special flavour to the meat. Never mind, I guess we all have different tastes :-). The waitress you refer to his our sommelier, and also my mother - Laura, and I'm afraid I struggle to believe she told you that "you were just to full" as she always describes the dish to the guests first and then ask for some feedback when she comes back to take the dish away from the table. Also as far as the shower gel is concerned the one you had was brand new not already used.....we change them every time.....Last but not least if you check our website there is no mention of a spa as this has not been completed yet.
All in all: we are extremely sorry that in just one night we managed to disappoint you so much, we do hope to be able to welcome you again in the future to have the chance to make you change your mind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.