We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place to stay in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Armena Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Armena Relais to your Saves list
Villa Armena Relais
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A very special place to stay in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our first trip to Italy was always going to be special, for I intended to propose to my girlfriend once I'd found that "perfect" place. Well, as soon as we arrived at Villa Armena I knew that this was it. And so will you, for if there is a more perfect location high up in the hills of Tuscany, with such stunning accommodation, and incredibly friendly hosts, I'd be very surprised. The family that run this sensational hotel have transformed a very ancient site into a very modern yet extremely comfortable place to stay, there is a great restaurant and a fantastic wine cellar too. We were lucky enough to be offered the suite which was just fabulous- huge, with a large bath for two, separate sitting area, free wi-fi, and an HD TV which I was pleasantly surprised to find had Sky News. We did indeed get engaged at sunset in a little grotto area down by the pool, with the lights of Siena twinkling in the distance.....perfect. When we told our hosts they seemed genuinely happy for us, and they presented us with delicious Prosecco, to which the whole family toasted to our future. Such a lovely warm touch, and this was typical of the entire time we stayed there. Villa Armena has only been open since 2012, and we feel like we were lucky enough to see it before it gets booked up forever! Thank you Eduardo, Elena and Laura for making everything so special.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    10
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
118
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Tripadvisor followers, read no further if you are looking for THE getaway destination in Tuscany. Villa Armena is an exquisitely restored villa that represents the best of any Tuscan experience. The rooms were impeccably designed , the food was beyond any epicurean's expectation, and the staff made it simply the best 4 days I have ever had.
Eduardo, Elena, and Laura thank you for sharing your "home" with us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked two nights at Villa Armena based on our friends' recommendation (who stayed there in May and loved it) and had high expectations, but our experience actually exceeded our expectations. Eduardo and Elena are one of the nicest people we've met. We travel a lot and stay in world class hotels and the rooms, grounds, restaurant and service were all outstanding! The villa is newly renovated and the rooms and common areas are beautifully designed. They mix old world charm with cutting edge modern design. We were especially impressed with the bathrooms. The stay was so good that we ended up staying an extending for another night. Highlly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

After being a little concerned about driving up the long, gravel, hilly road, we arrived at Villa Armena to find an abolute gem in paradise! Eduardo, Ellena and Laura treated us as if we were royalty and made every aspect of our stay there exceptional. The space and design were attended to in every detail. Our room was gorgeous; the view spectacular and the location for getting around that region in Tuscany was perfect. We had an amazing dinner at the restaurant and would highly recommend it whether you stay there or not when in the area. Eduardo was so helpful in suggesting a daily itinerary for us. All of his recommendations turned out to be great. Can't say enough about this wonderful, "new but with an old-world soul" villa (only 10 rooms!)

Robyn and Alan

Room Tip: Go on the website and view the photos of each room---they are all different and beautiful. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

It is hard to find words for the exceptional experience during our short stay of unfortunately only two nights at the Villa Armena. As to first impressions, the hotel's decor is simply outstanding. The hotel rooms and the rest of the villa are sensationally well-designed with unparalleled attention to detail. Overall, The modern interior design succeeds to blend perfectly with the traditional villa style and its surroundings. The service easily keeps up with the standard of any five star hotel. The food was great and the service at all times superb. Even more impressive, however, is the hotel owners' and their staff's seemingly effortless ability to make you feel that the hotel is your home. In short, Villa Armena is the best hotel I have ever stayed and I wish Elena and Edoardo the well deserved future success of their little jewel of Tuscany.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were originally planning to stay three nights at Villa Armena the last week in August, but within 20 minutes of our arrival, we were trying to rearrange the rest of our Italy trip to stay another night. My husband and I came to Villa Armena from Rome to meet up with another couple to enjoy the wine and a few days touring Tuscany. What first impressed us was the finishes and design of the hotel and rooms- just beautiful! What won our hearts over forever was the friendliness, attention to detail and service that Eduardo, Elena and Laura provided over the course of our stay. They helped arrange a driver for a wine tour, provided sight seeing advice (loved the visit to the hot spring), offered excellent wine advice and pairing during our 4 dinners (yes, we ate there every night!), arranged a cooking demonstration with the chef to learn to make Pici and were patient and generous in there time conversing with us about the area and our language questions. La Florintina is not to be missed at dinner. The breakfast was excellent and more than you'd expect from a continental set-up. Our rooms were kept spotless and refreshed throughout the day. If it wasn't for the 18 hour trip from Los Angeles, we'd return within a few months time to soak up some more of the Villa's magic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After several stimulating, busy days in Rome, we arrived in Tuscany at the peaceful Villa Armena. As we drove up we were greeted by Eduardo, Elena, and the incredible Franco (the dog!). This family run operation sought to meet our every need. The property is beautifully maintained and the family provides such warmth. While in Buonconvento, we had the unfortunate experience of a flat tire and Eduardo made numerous phone calls to assist us. He even had one of his employees change the tire for us! If travelling to Tuscany, don't look further.....simply stay here; you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Armena Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena Relais

Address: Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Armena Relais 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Villa Armena Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Relais Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Armena Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.