We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Armena Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Armena Relais to your Saves list
Villa Armena Relais
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
1 review
“fantastic hotel with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

It is hard to find words for the exceptional experience during our short stay of unfortunately only two nights at the Villa Armena. As to first impressions, the hotel's decor is simply outstanding. The hotel rooms and the rest of the villa are sensationally well-designed with unparalleled attention to detail. Overall, The modern interior design succeeds to blend perfectly with the traditional villa style and its surroundings. The service easily keeps up with the standard of any five star hotel. The food was great and the service at all times superb. Even more impressive, however, is the hotel owners' and their staff's seemingly effortless ability to make you feel that the hotel is your home. In short, Villa Armena is the best hotel I have ever stayed and I wish Elena and Edoardo the well deserved future success of their little jewel of Tuscany.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    13
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
128
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were originally planning to stay three nights at Villa Armena the last week in August, but within 20 minutes of our arrival, we were trying to rearrange the rest of our Italy trip to stay another night. My husband and I came to Villa Armena from Rome to meet up with another couple to enjoy the wine and a few days touring Tuscany. What first impressed us was the finishes and design of the hotel and rooms- just beautiful! What won our hearts over forever was the friendliness, attention to detail and service that Eduardo, Elena and Laura provided over the course of our stay. They helped arrange a driver for a wine tour, provided sight seeing advice (loved the visit to the hot spring), offered excellent wine advice and pairing during our 4 dinners (yes, we ate there every night!), arranged a cooking demonstration with the chef to learn to make Pici and were patient and generous in there time conversing with us about the area and our language questions. La Florintina is not to be missed at dinner. The breakfast was excellent and more than you'd expect from a continental set-up. Our rooms were kept spotless and refreshed throughout the day. If it wasn't for the 18 hour trip from Los Angeles, we'd return within a few months time to soak up some more of the Villa's magic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After several stimulating, busy days in Rome, we arrived in Tuscany at the peaceful Villa Armena. As we drove up we were greeted by Eduardo, Elena, and the incredible Franco (the dog!). This family run operation sought to meet our every need. The property is beautifully maintained and the family provides such warmth. While in Buonconvento, we had the unfortunate experience of a flat tire and Eduardo made numerous phone calls to assist us. He even had one of his employees change the tire for us! If travelling to Tuscany, don't look further.....simply stay here; you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thank you to Eduoardo, Elena and Laura for making our stay in Tuscany so enjoyable. We arranged our travel through a travel agent and had no idea what to expect when we asked for a villa experience during our stay in Tuscany. We had bold ideas that we would be able to find this remote location without any directions but immediately got lost. But an easy call to Villa Armena and very simple directions from Eduoardo and in no time we were rolling up the long dirt driveway. We and our luggage were ushered out of our car and our car whisked away to the nearby carpark while we were offered a tour of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed hearing about Eduoardo and Elena's journey to opening the Villa. We enjoy hearing others' tales of reinventing their lives. The grounds were immaculate and the hotel pristine. Clearly much attention went into every detail from decor to lighting to bathroom fixtures. After the tour, Eduoardo introduced us to his mother Laura, the resident sommelier who took us on a tour of the collection of Italian wines in the cellar. We learned more from her than we have from any wine expert! We enjoyed two outstanding dinners at the hotel. Impressively creative cuisine given the hotel and chefs' ages! We were especially grateful for the romantic dinner they offered us for my husband's 40th birthday, including the complimentary glass of moscato to celebrate. Eduoardo offered to set up tours for us while we were in the area. We took him up on the private winery tour which encompassed an entire day of experiencing a small family run vineyard, lunch, and a tour of a 14th century wine cellar. He also offered biking tours and trips to the nearby Bagni. While the hotel is remote, Siena is only 30 minutes away and famous Tuscan wine towns like Montalcino and Montepulciano are a short drive away. In fact we managed to take a drive through Chianti and back to the hotel within a day. So in brief, our Tuscan villa experience was far more than we had imagined. Our only regret is that we didn't save it for last! We took off for Cinque Terre and Florence afterwards and missed the peace and beauty of our time at Villa Armena. We plan to send rave reviews back to our travel agent and hope to come back some day. Well done, Eduoardo and Elena! We wish you the best in growing your business!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

In a business trip there is no better end than to end up in this corner of Tuscany and find yourself once again: while getting a good rest or a good glass of wine.
Sun rise, sunset and the peacefull surronding is part of the deal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citizen of the world
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Eduardo, Elena and Laura have gone to great length to put together a first class team and package and offer it at a reasonable price. They have clearly never been hoteliers before as the quality of their inputs in ingredients, capital expenditure on fittings and furniture, are highly unusual for those inclined on making high margins. Make sure you go to experience their enthusiasm before it wanes, or before the masses catch onto this gem.

Stars of the show
1. chefs that put together amazing meals. Former michelin starred chaps who use the locality's freshest ingredients and grow their own herbs.
2. Personal service. Nothing is ever any trouble. We ate in the restaurant for multiple evenings and ran out of items on the menu. The chefs flew in fresh seafood and came up with something else completely off piste. Amazing. We enjoyed the stories of the team's 3 year journey pre open from a shell to the magnificent villa that it is today. The team packed a picnic as we departed (please do not expect this!). Too many little points that touched us and set this place apart from any other hotel.
3. Wine recommendations. I know a little to be dangerous about french wines, but nothing about Italian wines. Laura introduced us to wines that we had never heard of. a great intro into great italian drinking. Just make sure you check the version of Biondi Santi served before downing your 4th glass.

Finally I would note that if you are intending to arrive in a low slung sports car, it is in the country side and their driveway is a mile or two of spectacular scenery accessed by dirt road. Best to call ahead and they will pick you up at the point in the driveway where asphalt becomes dirt. I would also note that it would be impossible for anyone in their right mind to give a negative review to this team. People who do so, clearly have an agenda. Even more amusing are Eduardo's description of such guests: ("This american bozo put his brunello in ice water... and claimed to be a wine expert" hahahaha).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My fiance and I recently spent 2 nights at Villa Armena Relais. The villa is a newly renovated, 600 year old estate that has been painstakenly redeveloped for two years to perfection. There is not a single element that could be faulted; the service (Edoardo and his wife, mother and of course Franco are amazing) was superb, the rooms, grounds and villa are without a flaw. Every material and detail has been completed with unmatched quality.

We expected our room to be great, yet somehow it exceeded our expectations. The bathroom stands as a model for when we build our house, i only wish we are able to replicate it with the same quality.

The restaurant, food and wine were also amazing. We enjoyed a glass of wine and a plate of meats and cheeses in the living room, which was a highlight of our trip.

The property is located in buonconvento which is close to firenze and strategically located to visit some great small towns and villages in the region such as siena and montalcino.

Without a doubt, we plan to return and send our friends and family as it was a wonderful and truly unique experience.

BENE BENE BENE!

Ciao,
James

Room Tip: While all 10 of the rooms were great, we thoroughly enjoyed our suite which featured both a shower a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Armena Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena Relais

Address: Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Armena Relais 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Armena Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Relais Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Armena Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.