We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local food in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Da Mario

Ristorante Da Mario
Via Soccini, 60, Buonconvento, Italy
+39 0577 806157
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Buonconvento
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best local food in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Small place ,big flavors ,The whole family works here. Great menu explained by the grand mother working the tables in the dining room.,sons cooking in kitchen .Good local wines. Very low prices ,best local food we found all week

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    93
    28
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“15 Years On Still The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

15 years ago the Mrs and I found this unassuming local place and have spent those 15 years looking for another like it. So far we have failed. Very local, little to no English, no printed menu, all today's specials are written on the chalkboard out front. The family runs the place with great skill and pride and serves the best genuine Tuscan cuisine yet. Don't miss Da Mario if you are within 100 miles of Buonconvento. You will be happy you went.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake worth florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Trattoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The restaurant is small and family run. But the food and service are fabulous equal to the best anywhere.
Everything is homemade in true Tuscan style.
In addition, the prices are reasonable for the area.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Italian tradition respected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I like when people can prepare a meal with simple ingredients which have quality enough to satisfy people... This was the case at "Da Mario"... People don't speak so easily English - but enough to explain what is on the menu. They don't try to show off sympathy but they can have something warm with them if you come simply to eat and not to argue about everything.

I had nothing to complain about, as the primi piatti was a Ragu spaghetti, with the exact quantity of oil, cooked long enough to have the taste that it should have - according to myself. Not other ingredients which don't bring anything : carrot, spices, oignons,...

I took a rabbit after this primi piatti and this was wonderful. Tender and with a sauce tasty enough to give the sense of the meat.

As I went there in the winter, a friday evening, every other places were desert. Da Mario was full. I chose this restaurant after advices received in Sienne in an Osteria and also directly by a local in Buonconvento.

Great food !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Dinner in a beautiful Tuscan Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had an incredible dinner at this simple trattoria after a long hike on a recent Friday afternoon. What a delight. The steak Florentine was cooked rare (be sure to specify). The waitress expertly deboned and served it. We shared a pasta dish that I will never forget-hot pasta tossed with a
Olive oil, garlic, and peppers-simple but perfect. An unlabeled bottle of the house wine was placed on our table, so that we may serve ourselves. Our waitress was helpful and charming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Mario also viewed

Buonconvento, Province of Siena
Buonconvento, Province of Siena
 
Buonconvento, Province of Siena
Buonconvento, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Da Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Da Mario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.