We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best week Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Armena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fattoria Armena to your Saves list
Fattoria Armena
Podere Armena IIo nr 44 localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Buonconvento B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best week Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was the best vacation in our 25 plus years as 'professional' vacationers. Fattoria means farm. Fun to tell your friends you stayed in a "villa" in Tuscany, but The Fattoria is so much more. From the time they open the gate you feel like a part of Italy instead of a visitor. Allessandro tending the horses and moving firewood, sweet smells of sauce eminating from the main house as Stephania starts some incredilble meal in the most unbelievably beautiful centurys old kitchen. The view is amazing every evening we watched (with a glass of wine) as the sun set and the sky turned from gold to pink to purple. Awake and be greeted by one of their three resident dogs who will escort you on your morning stroll past the vineyards and olive orchards and say "buon giorno" to the farms many animals. Did I mention they make wine there? Right outside my door I smell the most wonderfully intoxicating smell of wine being born, I follow my nose to the old cellar door and hear two men having an very animated argument about something very important ....wine. Two more fixtures on the farm, Mirando and Brian. We spent several evenings solving the worlds problems (not really) while sipping some of the world's most amazing wine, with our feet up watching the sun set. Sadly, Friday came and we had reservations in Florence for our last few days in Italy. As we drove out of town we looked at each other and said at the same time. " Forget Florence let's go back"!! We pulled an Italian U-turn, went back to the farm and, as luck would have it the apartment would be open for the next few days. Grazie Stephania e Allessandro, Mirando e Brian. See you soon.......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We discovered Fattoria Armena in 2004 and we have been drawn back, occasionally as a couple but mostly as a family group, almost every year since. Fattoria Armena works for us as the perfect place to relax because it offers something for all the members of our family. There are a number of different sized apartments, all tastefully conceived and well equipped providing space, both inside and out, to allow the children to be themselves. There are private areas for family meals with plenty of shade and a tastefully designed pool in a 'holiday brochure' setting complete with stunning views of the Tuscan hills. The children particulary enjoy visiting the animals every day and having opportunities to make friends with other children.
The Saraceni family, Alessandro, Stefania, Jacopo and Giulio are the most considerate hosts, never intrusive but always warm and friendly and ever helpful and supportive should the need arise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful to relax, Kiss of Sun, very Good red wine and Olive Oil.

The beautiful view, the toskany styled flat and the always friendly stefania.

A Place which was made from god.
....
Near the best wineyards of toskany you have to Travel to Siena, montepulciano and montalcino.
Sometimes in the Morning, sometimes in the afternoon and sometimes in the evening wie Enjoy
The Pool, the wine, the Cheese and sky...lovely with the best Feeling of Life

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family has travelled to Italy many times. When we are in Tuscany, the only place we stay is Fattoria Armena. Stefania and Alessandro are great hosts. They make you feel like part of the family and are always helpful. We love staying there. This year we took our four year old daughter for her first trip. She did not want to leave. She asks if we can live there now! If you want to truely experience Italy and not just see tourist sites, do yourself a favor and stay at Fattoria Armena.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I got married at the magical Fattoria Armena, surrounded by the beautiful landscape, the farm, the gorgeous 15th century architecture and most importantly, the warmth and hospitality of Stefania and Allessandro, our gracious hosts that made every minute of our stay special (including the most delicious food we had during our whole trip in Italia!) Buonconvento truly embodies the beauty of Tuscany and Fattoria Armena is the best possible place to stay, whether it is an intimate wedding, a special occasion or whether you just want a get-away. You are welcomed by the olive groves, vineyards, horses, goats and the overall authenticity of the hosts who truly love what they do! We definitely hope to return on a regular basis, and make it for one of our upcoming anniversary celebrations!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our second visit to Fattoria Armena was as wonderful – if not more so – than the first. This well re-stored Tuscan farm comes complete with olive groves, vineyards, fruit trees, typical farm animals and show horses. The three comfortable, charming units were perfect for our vacation party, which included adults and families with children. Hosts Stefania, Allesandro and family (and Mirando!) are warm and accommodating – and meals prepared by the family are a delicious experience not to be missed; it’s an added treat to savor products, including wine and olive oil, which they produce. The views are enchanting, particularly the countryside as enjoyed from the pool. The location is very convenient for day trips to Sienna, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano and other Tuscan hill towns. A visit to Fattoria Armena provided a great balance of relaxation and the Tuscan tourism experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I visited for the second time for a week of painting with landscapepainting.com and plan to return again and again. This is the perfect spot to relax by the pool or tour the lovely Val d'Orcia, possibly the most beautiful part of Tuscany, if not all of Italy. Stefania and Alessandro and family are the perfect hosts and the apartments are charming, clean and efficient. There is a 360 degree view and the pool is a dream!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fattoria Armena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Armena

Address: Podere Armena IIo nr 44 localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three characteristic apartments part of an antique farmhouse of year 1500, the"SALARIATO",the "LA STALLA" and "IL LECCIO".At 4 Km. from Buonconvento, the most renowed of the Val d'Arbia, between the most impressive and characteristic hills of the Senese countryside, the famous "Crete Senesi". A part renovated with respect of the traditional Tuscan farmhouse of one time, simple, essential, but where the antique floors in cotto, the old beams in wood, here and there grandmother antique furniture", have left that genuine touch which lovers of the country like. Vaste impressive view over the hills, peaceful position. Besides the apartment of the owner, lived in all year, there are two apartments totally independent.we made red wine olive oil, jam fruit and vegetable from our land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fattoria Armena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Armena Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Armena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.