We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, beautiful area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Covo dei Saraceni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Covo dei Saraceni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Conversano 1/1A, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sonoma County, CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, beautiful area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were with a group on a bike trip and were upgraded so our room was a very large suite with a sauna and balcony. Room was a little dated, showers were interesting and fancy but didn't work totally. Nicest hotel in town, great breakfast, great views!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    58
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
18
77
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel in Polignano a Mare. Probably the best one in town. It was very clean and attractive. It sits right on the promenade overlooking the Adriatic sea. Very nice walking area and a pleasant place to sit at night and chat out of doors. The rooms varied in size. Some had 2 beds, some three and others just 2. Mine had three. Two were together to form a king sized bed and there was a third in a small alcove. It was very convenient. The rooms are sparsely furnished with one small closet to hang clothing. My room had one small window. The bathrooms were actually quite spacious which left me wondering why the shower stall was so very small. It was the shape of a quarter circle. If you dropped the soap you had to open the doors in order to bend down. It was cramped to say the least. The linens were fresh and clean everyday. The lobby and sitting area was very nice. There was also a computer that was available for all guests.
The hotel breakfast was actually one of the best I have had in Europe. They offered 3 types of juice , a variety of fresh and cooked fruit, a nice assortment of breads and croissants. A large variety of cakes and tarts, cereal, yogurt, cheese and meats and eggs and omelets. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel dinner was another story. Not very good. You would be better served to eat in one of the many restaurants in the area.
The location was perfect. Close to the old city and walking distance to the trains. The hotel staff was very nice but they spoke little English and they do not change dollars to Euro. A little inconvenient. For the most part it was a good place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

After a stressful drive from Pescara as soon as the door man opened the door we knew we had chosen the perfect place to stay. The concierge found a place for us to park our car directly outside the front door as the car park was full. The rooms were clean and inviting with a sea view and conveniently located. Breakfast was sufficient by Italian standards offering as well as cakes, frittata and fried eggs, not forgetting the breathtaking views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel in late June/early July as part of a tour group. We paid a little extra for a superior room upgrade and it was totally worth it. Our room was at the end of the hall on the 2nd floor and was very spacious with a king size bed as well as a separate day bed in a little alcove. There were 3 separate balconies offering 3 different views of the town and the stunning Adriatic Sea. The hotel staff were all very attentive and courteous and we had several excellent meals in the hotel restaurant. Special thanks to Giuseppe who hosted our group at his nearby restaurant called Fly (see separate review) and who also graciously came up to our room on the day we checked out to help me open the safe which was stuck. Polignano a Mare is a beautiful small town and is perfectly situated for day trips around Puglia. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June 2013 with glorious weather. Previous reviewers had stated the rooms were small so we upgraded and were delighted with our room. The location couldn't be better. Our balcony overlooked the Adriatic coast. The staff was great, patiently allowing me to try my fractured Italian.

Room Tip: We upgraded to insure a room that overlooked the Adriatic. It was plenty big, an had two small balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripdave
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

First some context. We've been to various parts of Italy five times in the last nine years, so I have reasonable expectations about services and food there. When researching Covo dei Saraceni, make sure you are reading or reserving the hotel in Polignano a Mare, not the one with the identical name in Positano or a few others with similar names. This is not the one on the Amalfi Coast, but rather is located in the Apulia or Puglia region in southeast Italy.

The hotel is a boutique smaller property, with a main building and an annex across the street. There are hardly two rooms alike. Some have large patios, some small step out terraces, some with no outdoor space at all. Some rooms are small and somewhat sparsely decorated, but our room was quite large and offered a small terrace with just enough room for two straight back chairs. The views of the Adriatic from our room, (and many of the rooms) was great. The hotel is up a small, unimpressive street, one block up from the major avenue in town. It sits on the Adriatic and a small cove which holds the town's small (and rocky) beach.

Because many of the rooms differ, note that any comments about the room may not apply to other rooms. Our room was in the annex and equipped with a flat-screen TV, safe, a small refrigerator, a shower/tub combo and a bidet. The bathroom (otherwise attractive and large enough,) does not have a shelf for your toiletries. This would be an easy fix. The room door was opened by an old style heavy European key while the main building used plastic swipe cards.

Because the hotel sits facing a public parking lot, there is quite a bit of noise at night. We were lucky to be there during the celebrations for the town's saint, St. Vito. This is the perfect spot for watching the fire works and an easy walk to the parades and other festivities.

There is a large restaurant, with great views attached to the hotel. Terrific food! One complaint though, the morning coffee is just terrible. It tastes like a cheap brewed instant. Generally coffee is excellent in Italy, even the American stye coffee. Many of my fellow guests complained about it, some switched to tea.

Worth noting is the excellent, friendly staff.

One thing to note though Polignano is a charming town, with it's own old town section and just enough shopping and dining options for most visitors. This section of Italy is largely overlooked by North American tourists, but Polignano is not close to the other sites in the region, Bari, Trani, the cave dwellings of Sassi di Matera and the trullis of Alberobello. Each of these spots are about an hour +/- away.

Conclusion: a lovely property, with superb views of the Adriatic and a fine restaurant. Seriously consider it, if you are headed to this corner of Italy.

Room Tip: Specifically request a view and a patio or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Not quite very good, but not quite average. The location is very convenient, but the rooms are dark and miniscule. The ammenities are woefully inadequate -- not enough shampoo to get a good lather. Towels are small and not of great quality. Considering that it was part of a booked tour, it was fine because we did not stay in the room much since they kept us pretty busy. I wanted a massage on my last day there, but the person was off that day and no one suggested anywhere else I might have gone.
A warning to U.S. travelers -- not many folks here speak even passable English -- which is fine. It's their country. But I would have expected more from a tourist destination.
The town itself is worth only a two day stay. Boring after that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Covo dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Covo dei Saraceni

Address: Via Conversano 1/1A, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Polignano a Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Polignano a Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Covo dei Saraceni 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Covo dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Covo dei Saraceni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.