We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese to your Saves list
Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Narciso 59, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We dined at Restorante Grotta Palazzese last Saturday evening and arrived promptly at 7.30 when the restaurant opened, which I would advise you to do so as not to miss the spectacular sunset. I was a little worried prior to arriving as there were many bad reviews about service and food , but, everything was fantastic - food delicious, service attentive and atmosphere superb. Five stars. Thank you for a memorable evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    60
    30
    29
    44
See reviews for
31
123
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Make sure you ask for the one characteristic room otherwise you will be staying in an outdated circa 1960's style room with no elevator. If you choose to dine in the restaurant bring lots of euros to this overpriced restaurant. I loved the location right on the water but felt their website is very misleading with pictures.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Polignano a Mare hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

this was one of the most spectacular times for us in southwest Italy. We stayed in this hotel high above the ocean with a view of the wide open sea and the high old walls of the ancient city. Dined in their cave restaurant which was absolutely superb. never seen anything like it. Huge drop into the ocean either side of the cave restaurant. Very expensive but exceptionally good cuisine. Even the walk to the bathroom was thru the cave and rocks.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was a very poorly run hotel. On arrival the concierge only showed us our room, no mention was made of the solarium or roof terrace. The winter restaurant was closed but the romantic restaurant in the grotto was open. This was superb. Wonderful food, attentive staff and amazing setting. However the rest of the hotel was a let down. The safe didn't work and there was no offer of replacing/mending it, or an alternative option. The heater in the room was broken. The maid walked into the suite without knocking (I was still in bed and my husband was in the bathroom), then she turned up again an hour later and asked if she could make up the room. She did the same the next day. We were overcharged for the room, according to the price list, but were not offered a refund. The breakfast room was awful - 1970's style blue glossy floor tiles and yellow glossy wall tiles, with windows that were too high, so didn't allow guests to appreciate the wonderful view. This place was ridiculously over-priced. We found a lovely B&B down the road which was a much better standard for 59 Euros per night, rather than the 200 Euros we were charged.

Room Tip: The characteristic room was OK, the rest were very poor and not worth the 100 Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are in Puglia in Italy, you MUST come to this little town (Polignano al Mare) and you MUST come to this hotel/restaurant combo... for a drink. The hotel is build right on the cliff to the sea, and the salt water has eroded a large section of the cliff into what is now a "grotta" (cave) restaurant. The views are amazing - the restaurant is built on a large wooden deck (20 + tables) inside the grotta, but above the sea. The tasting menus are pricey and not worth it; out of the five dishes, we had 2 that we would definitely order again (the fish was AMAZING). For 100 euros/person, all five dishes should have been stellar. Ah, well, I certainly don't regret any second spent at the restaurant, regardless of the disappointing food. The views are that amazing. The restaurant (and maybe the hotel, too?) closes for one month Nov - December, so if you are traveling in winter, call ahead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

we ate at the restaurant and or ecperience was superb. the location is breath taking and food fabulous. Service nrillisnt with very attentive staff. meal not cheap at €100pp for degustation.. however for a treat it leaves an impression on both yr taste buds and in yr heart.

simply stunning experience and well worth the expense for the experience.

we went for lunch and had the added bonus of the entire restaurant to ourselves.

enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The views are absolutely breathtaking and if they renovated the rooms, they could charge 4 times more. Lots of reviews complained about the quality of the rooms, and they are correct. But that's how this place stays affordable, I think. We had a room with a sea view, and it was not one of the ones pictured on their website. It looks like an old Holiday Inn room, but it has a spectacular view. You can decide if it's worth it to you. I think you could enjoy the view from the restaurant and stay somewhere else in town, but it is nice having the view when you wake up. It is truly as memorable as I hoped it would be, even after reading all the bad reviews. And if you can afford it, the restaurant was spectacular--the food was pretty good (at exorbitant prices-- without wine you have to pay at least 70 euro per person for food as 2 courses are required) but the experience of eating in the Grotto was unforgettable.

Room Tip: If you can afford whatever they charge for the 1 renovated room in all the pictures, go for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese

Address: Via Narciso 59, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Polignano a Mare
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Polignano a Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Grotta Palazzese Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.