We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept, outstanding location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese to your Saves list
Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Narciso 59, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great concept, outstanding location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We arrived without a reservation but the Duty Manager was great, taking us around and showing us rooms. We had a room across the narrow alley from the hotel, perched right over the sea. I spent ages just sitting looking over the narrow balcony... Spectacular.
Dinner in the restaurant grotto was great - not especially the meal, but the setting. Waves washing into the grotto, walls softly lit, the ocean just out there. A definite highlight of our month in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    65
    35
    31
    45
See reviews for
33
131
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was a very memorable experience. The hotel's restaurant is located, during the summer months, in a gigantic sea cave, with decking across the cave entrance and view down to the sea on both sides. The setting is unique and very special. The atmosphere was enhanced by some lovely playing by a lone saxophonist.

Meals are VERY expensive, though and what a shame that service and inconsistent cooking lets the place down. Although steaks were grilled to perfection, sea food was less impressive. the bouillabaise did not have enough sauce; scorpion fish was dry and almost inedible. Food came at a snail's pace and in apparently random order. They had almost certainly lost our order at one stage. We did get a discount at the end, but a place which charges these prices should get the basics right. There was a huge army of waiters; the maitre d', who over-sold the ordinary tasting menu, should be ashamed of himself. We did not stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Wish we had consulted trip advisor before booking.
Instead we rushed ahead after being seduced by the hotels website.
At 150 Euro per night for their cheapest room, the facilities and rooms are terrible.
Do not stay here. There are so many great bed and breakfasts around that friends we were with stayed in (wedding party) at less than half the price. Save your money.
The restaurant below in the grotto is beautiful but you can stay elsewhere and still use it, be warned though, it's twice the price of any comparable restaurant in town. I guess they have to cover the lease for this stunning location. The staff are rude and inefficient in either case.
Guests do not eat breakfast here, or anywhere else alfresco. The breakfast is a joke and it's served in a pokey little room.
If we had been charged 80 Euro a night for what we got, then this review may have been more favourable, but we weren't. We were robbed blind.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The most amazing setting i have ever seen for a restaurant but let down by the food and service. The food was mainly raw (some of which im sure you cant eat) flavourless and smoothered in oil. Lobster was either frozen or overcooked, the menu even though available in English doesnt represent what you actually get given. No mention that my beef starter was raw mince, and my lobster cannaloni was more like lobster spring rolls on a green mess. My partner was given the wrong main corse then charged for it, and the tirramsu was pre bought rubbish that had soggy bits. YUK!!!! When we asked for a discount as we had only eaten 1 dish out of 6 we was told if we didnt pay they would call the police and that our opinion didnt matter as we would never be back there. RUDE!!!! To top the night of we found a bloody tissue under the table!! DO NOT EAT HERE

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We were doing a road trip travelling around Italy for our silver wedding staying at various B&B (see Trivago & Tripadvisor) and this was supposed to be the highlight of the trip.
What a terrible hotel (B&B with maybe 2 stars just because of the location). The first room was small and the rooms Facilities were about 20 years out of date. So I went to reception and asked if this was the normal size of the rooms `` yes for the room you booked with a sea view 140,00 Euros,per night, but you can up grade to a 200,00 Euro room with a balcony´´ I said no but I would like a different room. He checked the computer and said he had another one available, so we got our bags went out of the front door around the corner up very steep stairs to the other room. This room was larger but the Facilities were the same, we accepted the room mainley because we had been travelling all day and were shatterd. We threw our bags down and went down for a coffee, I informed the receptionist that I have no WIFI in my room, `` sorry in that room there is no WIFI, it dose not reach that far!!´´ after the coffee we wanted to book a table at the restaurant, but when we saw the prices we decided not to (30,00 or 40,00 Euros for a starter !) plus a 10,00 Euro pp service charge, and if the restaurant is like the hotel rooms!, Sorry no way. We went back to the room to get ready to go out, have a meal, and explore the town. The bath was that small that I could not stop laughing when I got into it, but what stopped me laughing was the rusty raidiator, it was not on but it must have burst sometime ago, and the tiles in the corner from the bath, the joints were black. The town is very nice and one of the cleanist that we have seen on our trip around Italy small streets were no cars can drive and little shops and restaurants, at night it is lit up and very light no worries about walking around at night. We found a very nice place to eat and had antipasta then steak, 0, 5 lt wein a bottle of water, pineapple juice and 2 latte all for 49, 00 Euros
As I said at the beginning this was supposed to be the highlight, it was not. This not a Hotel with a restaurant this is a restaurant with rooms and just because something is expensive does not automatically mean it is good. Would I give this place a reccommendation NO. Although we did not eat in the restaurant (and being a chef this would have been interesting) I think with hotels it’s the whole symbiosis that makes it work and this symbiosis just does not work.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gesves
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We booked this hotel for a 3-night stay thinking that we found out the perfect romantic escape location but what a deception when we arrived! Actually, the location is perfect and the restaurant is simply somptuous and amazing but the guests rooms...don't offer the same level of confort and luxury. The rooms we got was small, with no view and had not been refurbished for at least 10/20 years! The bathtub acrylic was so old and rough that it hurted me when I took my bath! After the first night, we had been awakened at 8am by workers next to the hotel and so we decided to leave earlier. When I went to the front desk advising the the receptionnist that we were willing to leave, he was not comprehensive at all and refused the reimburse the deposit initally paid for the 3 nights. After a long discussion, I got the travel agency over the phone to who I explained our deception and they finally accepted to pay us back.

Room Tip: Ask pictures of your room category beforehand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This restaurent is in a spetacular setting, the food is excellant, but they desparatly need to reduce their prices, its just too expensive .Polignano is beautifull , the best restaurent in town is the Antiche Mura which looks nothing from the outside but inside is wonderfull with superb food & excellent service at a sensible price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese

Address: Via Narciso 59, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Polignano a Mare
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Polignano a Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Grotta Palazzese Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.