We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No view but good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Di Chichibio

Osteria Di Chichibio
Largo gelso 12, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy
+39 080 424 0488
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since fifteen years, Osteria di Chichibio is an elegant seaside restaurant where you can taste specialties of fresh fish at 0 km. The catch, daily, at 0 km, sea (not farmed) is the absolute protagonist of the kitchen Chichibio, expressed a kitchen where everything is cooked in a natural way through the cooking in the wood oven. Among the dishes considered to be real must Chichibio: shellfish Catalan, redfish gratin, saint peter with the potatoes and in general all the fish dishes, from appetizers to the former to the latter. Passion and acceptance of the two owners, brothers Giacomino and Vito are added value to the success of Chichibio.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“No view but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Continuing our trip in puglia, we found ourselves in polignano a mare. We wandered in the old town but didn't find any restaurant which caught our attention. We did work up an appetite and were quite satisfied here. High ceilings and pleasant light, good service. Not inexpensive but nice fresh fish! Worth a stop!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    161
    59
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice quiet location, we ate outside on their patio so didn't really see the inside of the restaurant.The food was good but the menu was a little different.We found the waiters were not very friendly, but maybe it was because we didn't speak Italian.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Amazing food set in artistic electic decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food was fantastic and I explored many fish that I had not tried (or was afraid to try) back in the states. It was all delicious and beautifully presented. Every inch in this charming restaurant is decorated with unusal art and items. For a lovely lunch with beautiful Italian locals enjoying food and conversation, I highly recommend this spot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fancy dinner restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Not bad at all, but not as good value for the money as some other places. Good fish & seafood, most prices on the menu by kg. They clearly were after a high class image, English was not spoken well, though.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Pick up the service to match the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We'd already been seated for 30 minutes waiting for friends to arrive, and had told the head waiter (in Italian) to let them know where we were when they came. Tired and hungry, we eventually went for a walk to see if we could find them, only to discover they were doing likewise at the other side of the restaurant. When we told the waiter and the manager, there were grunts instead of apologies and, however good the food, by then we were cross as well as hungry and the evening was spoiled.
An object lesson in how not to treat your customers if you want them to be happy, recommend you and return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Di Chichibio also viewed

Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
 
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
 

Been to Osteria Di Chichibio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Di Chichibio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.