We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beyond words” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Rose Cafe

Tea Rose Cafe
P.zza Duomo, 4, Monza, Italy
+39 039 23560203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 282 Restaurants in Monza
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely beyond words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

if you are in Monza, this is a must visit restaurant. The outside veranda overlooks a beautiful church and to hear the church bells chiming while drinking and dining is incredible. The food was to die for. The service was incredible. The decor is something to behold. Sounds weird, but the ladies restroom has to be seen to be believed. Can't wait to go back. We were traveling for work and missed Thanksgiving with our families so we had Thanksgiving dinner here. It was so lovely we almost forgot how much we missed our families on such a family holiday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    69
    30
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“For the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Were it not that you were staring directly across the cobblestones at the ancient Duomo of Monza, you would never pay the prices charged for such mediocre fare. Never had anything bad, nor anything amazing either. It is clearly for the view that you must pay. Cocktails and other drinks are very expensive. Service good though and I do return for, you guessed it, the view.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Between Flowers and Good Food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Whenever I come to Monza this is a must stop for me. This location used to be only a flower shop and now part of it is a restaurant which is very chic and beautifully furnished in a modern mediterranean style. On the outside the veranda which faces the Monza dome has nicely placed comfy couches made of rough wood with lots of cushions which creates a very inviting atmosphere. You can call yourself lucky if you manage to get one of those couches as they are very popular.

The food is good but it can´t be compared with the top flight restaurants in the area as this is more of a wine bar rather than a proper restaurant. Although the food is very good. I had a very tender fillet steak with a nice big salad and it was just perfect. Even the pasta dishes are more than fine.

The only drawback is the service which is a bit slow but in a place like this one, you can also afford to wait a bit.

P.S. Have a look at the toilets downstairs which are gorgeous.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I absoutly love the location of tea-rose, right in front of the Duomo in Monza. Lovely place to bring friends for an aperitif but the menu could use some work and due to its location the prices are a little high for my liking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Posh & Smart Cafe downtown in the most beautiful Monza location !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you forget about pricing Tea Rose is the best Cafe' in Monza Down Town. The location is great and Tea Rose has a dehor facing the Duomo di Monza !! Breakfast on Saturday (also late) or brunch or cocktails is really nice. Quality of food high, brioches for the breakfast are charming... Service not as quick as you would imagine for a cafe of this standard. You can also eat at lunch or dinner without a great choice but it is a cafe'. Lounge music more or less everywhere. Cocktails are the only cons. do not expect a barman with high skills for your cocktails. They are good but nothing special. Appetizers with the cocktails are in any case above average. A place to go and where you will like to be viewed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea Rose Cafe also viewed

Monza, Province of Monza and Brianza
Monza, Province of Monza and Brianza
 
Monza, Province of Monza and Brianza
Monza, Province of Monza and Brianza
 

Been to Tea Rose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Rose Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.