We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portmagee Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portmagee Heights
Save
You added Portmagee Heights to your Saves list
New Road, Portmagee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Monica is a great hostess! She went out of her way to welcome us...even making a reservation for us for a trip out to Skellig Michael. The room was lovely. Breakfast was great. I'd def. stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
68
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This Bed & Breakfast was by far the best place we stayed in whilst in Ireland. Monica is an excellent host and welcomed us as if we were family. The traditional Irish breakfast was superb and it was our first introduction to black pudding. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Just wish we could have stayed there longer to view the island of Valentia more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

When arriving to Portmagee we didn't really expect much more than bed and hot water,
but it end up with best room we had in Ireland for an average price (I think 80 euros for couple, but I might be slightly off).
Great new shower, heated floor (or at least felt like it), big room.
I can't say much about breakfast since we wanted to go on a boat trip so we didn't eat much,
The owner was very helpful, trying to arrange our trip with the local boat operator,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The house is very modern and spotless clean. Our room was superior which meet our all expectation. The bed was so comfy that I had such a wonderful sleep there. The owner – Monica is a lovely person and will advise you for best places to eat and see around. Her advise of local restaurant was perfect and I have to say that I ate the best fish of my life there. Her irish breakfast was also delicious. I honestly recommend this place.

Room Tip: great fish restaurant in cashersiveen at the ferry cross
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned from our holidays in Ireland and Wales. After staying at Portmagee Heights, no other B&B could compare. Our rooms were spotless and spacious, with extremely comfortable beds. The owner, her family, and staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Monica made us feel like we were her only guests - which couldn't have been further from the truth. She gave us great travel trips on where to go, what to see, and where to eat. There is no doubt that we'll be staying at Portmagee Heights again. In a word: FABULOUS!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Big rooms with great views. very friendly service. Great beds. Very clean modern rooms with coffee in the rooms. What more can I say. A must stay place in a small town. Monica made our reservation to skellig (our highlight of our trip).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Purpose built property for b&b. very comfy, modern and of high standard. Also complimentary broadband. Breakie was fairly small but tasty.

Very nice, could have been in a hotel and not a b&b. staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portmagee Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmagee Heights

Address: New Road, Portmagee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portmagee Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.