We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portmagee Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portmagee Heights
Save
You added Portmagee Heights to your Saves list
New Road, Portmagee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Breakfast was delicious and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had the guest house to ourselves, which was a rare treat. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
68
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My partner and I had initially booked to stay at Portmagee Heights as recommended by friends for 2 nights in mid August. We arrived early but this was not a problem for the owner Monica who was very welcoming. We booked a superior room with a sea view which was breath taking. The room was decorated in a contemporary style, beautiful, with lots of space, a sofa to rest and a most comfortable bed. We were fortunate enough to be able to extend our stay for a further 2 days as having found such a wonderful place we were keen to make it our base and see Kerry from there. The breakfasts were delicious with a choice and plenty fresh food available. The owner Monica does such a good job and her children are charming and delightful to talk to. This B & B is probably the best I have ever stayed in and is very competitively priced as all the other B & B's we stayed in charged a similar price but this one was far superior. Monica arranged a trip to the skelligs, gave us lots of local information on where to eat out, day trips and local sightseeing trips that we would otherwise been unaware of. The house is set on a slight hill overlooking the sea and the village and we often sat outside enjoying this view. We will definitely be back and would recommend Portmagee heights to anyone who likes a little bit of luxury at a sensible price with that traditional Irish welcome but in a contemporary setting. It made our holiday.

Room Tip: It is definately worth paying a little extra for a superior room, breath taking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our room was fine, the view was great but the owner has much to learn about service and hospitality. She asked us at 2 in the afternoon what we wanted for breakfast next morning - for me my choice of breakfast is greatly influenced by what I have had for dinner the previous evening and at what time I have eaten. We were not greeted at breakfast next morning at all. We found some seats and awaited our breakfast which when it came was not as ordered. A smile and an Irish "good morning", as we experienced in the numerous other b&bs during our stay in Ireland, would have been enough. Room fine, hospitality and warmth missing

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Portmagee Heights and had a great time. The bed was comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious. They arranged our Skellig Michael boat trip when we booked the room and were very thankful for that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We are a family of four, children aged 10 &13. In late June of 2012 we returned to Ireland to spend a few weeks seeing the country. The first few days we spent in Dublin, and then on to southern Ireland where we had an unfortunate night at a poor quality B&B, but Monica came to our rescue.

We had originally booked the guest cottage with Monica at Portmagee heights B&B for 4 nights, but ended up calling her and at the last minute and getting in 2 nights early. And boy are we ever glad we did!

We stayed at the 3 bedroom, 3 bath, cottage just across the street from the B&B but we took all our breakfasts in the main house. The cottage itself, an old Irish home, is gorgeous, and has been completely remodeled inside. There is even a laundry facility! Monica was very kind and attentive to all our needs and prepared wonderful breakfasts for us every morning. She made reservations for our boat excursion out to Skellig Michael (amazing and a must see).
She was just a real joy to talk to and gave us many wonderful suggestions on places to go and things to see on the Ring of Kerry. She absolutely epitomizes Irish hospitality. Even the beds in the cottage were made up and the towels changed while we were out during the day. She will give you honest information about the local restaurants as well. We simply loved our stay, and can't imagine a better place to explore the Ring from. With Valentia Island right across the bridge it's a wonderful spot.

Thank you Monica!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We are a family of four and we stayed for three days in the housekeeping cottage. A fresh, attractive thoughtful breakfast was included each morning directly across the street in the main location. Monica cheerfully made arrangements for us to visit the Skelligs. The facilities included laundry, full kitchen and three full baths. This place was the highlight of a trip that was GREAT! Perfect for families or couples that want a little more room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This boutique B and B has a wonderful location , totally peaceful with cows grazing in the adjacent field. The rooms are modern and bright some with gorgeous views over the sea. Monica could not be nicer and really looks after you. A perfect place to visit the Skelligs from which is a fantastic trip. The only thing that would improve this hotel for me would be a guest computer for accessing the internet

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portmagee Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmagee Heights

Address: New Road, Portmagee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portmagee Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.