We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostess in Ireland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafield Farmhouse B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Seafield Farmhouse B&B to your Saves list
Seafield Farmhouse B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Harbour View, Glaunavaud, Kilbrittain, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Kilbrittain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best hostess in Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I fell in love with Seafield Farmhouse. I particularly loved Eileen. I felt like I knew her all my life. The room was beautiful.I really didn't want to leave.
Eileen suggested dining at "The Pink Elephant" - the best restaurant in all of Ireland. We're still talking about the warm welcome. This was on my bucket list, and I will have these memories for the rest of my life. Thanks, Eileen, I think of you often.
Sheila Smithj

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed one night at the Seafield Farmhouse B&B and what a place to stay. We called the B&B and they recommend a great place to stop off and eat before we checked in, even though we were running late. When we got there they only thing me and my friends had in mind was taking a picture with her cows. She brought us to her farm and showed us her cows. She had quite a sense of humor that helps add to the experience. A typical country side Irish lady, very nice, quiet place. Beds were very comfortable and the view when you woke up from the dining room was unbelievable. Eating breakfast looking out into the Celtic Sea. Definitely stay a night or two here!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buscoldo (MN)
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Eileen is the gemstone of this place... She does whatever she can to make you feel like home. There is an incredible view of the sea lagoon... Probably the best view we had in our stay in Ireland. We had a warm welcome with tea and cake, had a good room, great breakfast... And good suggestion for dinner (really close to the Pink Elephant pub and restaurant if you have your car). We warmly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Seafield Farmhouse is set in an ideal scenery typical to the West coast of Cork. A perfect resting place to explore the coast and the surrounding villages of West Cork. The farmhouse is surrounded by rolling green pastures of cattle, and children friendly animals, chickens, cats and dogs. The location of the farmhouse is easy to find and is well signed on the road, R600. It is about 10 minutes drive to Timoleague (on the west) and to Ballinspittle (on the east). Eileen Fielding, the host is endearing - very warm, friendly, helpful and welcoming. The service is charming. The bedroom is spacious and clean. The bed is comfortable and warm. The shower is fantastic. Definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coomba park
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

True, it took us a long time to find the farmhouse but this was not an unusual event during our ten days in Ireland. With the help of a Little old Lady running small store and a subsequent phone call we finally reached our target. And what a reception - Farmer Jonas' wife Eileen Fielding, very friendly and for us wonderfully Irish, frisky young golden retriever Paddy (and stick), Irish music, and homemade scones. A very comfortable farmhouse, surprisingly cosy and warm for my German Partner who had been warned that Irish houses were very cold, and bedroom showing exactly the same view as in the Internet advertisement, completed our enjoyment. Perfect except that Eileen didn´t think she could get the help from her husband to demonstrate the Irish jig, but maybe we will see that on our next visit. Eileen is a real Irish Pearl, and regaled us with Information about farming in that part of the world and the difficulties with her children´s education - they had to drive to Cork each day. In all a fantastic visit, and thoroughly recommended....From Aussie John

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Sadly, we only had one night at Seafield, we could have easily stayed much longer. Upon arrival (and typically, we were running late) we were met with a friendly welcome and a delicious afternoon tea. We also had dinner booked for us at the Pink Elephant, another treat. The house and our room was spotless and I could have spent days gazing at the views of the bay. We found the location out of town was just perfect, so we could enjoy the beautiful peace of being in the countryside. I have the photo of view from our room on my phone as a constant reminder of very happy stay. Thank you again, Eileen for making our day with you so special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

after getting lost in the country and finally finding the place (with some amazing views across), we were greeted by ileen (the daughter of the woman who runs the place) ileen was lovely and made us feel at home straight away with even offering us to book a table for us in the nearby restaurant if we had no plans for dinner!! she took great care of us even tho we were just staying there was a night!! there are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and ileen got us milk & some biscuits :)) the place is lovely and a family business!! they have cows, dog, cats and chickens and you can see them around the farmhouse!! the views from the front are just breathtaking and you can easily walk around and get lost in the beauty of the surroundings!! bed was very comfortable and cosy and the toilet was equipped with shower gel, shampoo etc !! the breakfast in the morning was just delicious! i had a omelette with toast which my partner had a full irish breakfast!! we were given a choice between the full irish breakfast, salmon or omlette!! freshly made and nice and hot :)) i would defi recommend anyone who is thinking of staying here to defi go ahead and book it !!! you wouldnt regret it :)

Room Tip: try to get the room facing the sea - so you have the lovely views of the farm and the sea from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seafield Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Farmhouse B&B

Address: Harbour View, Glaunavaud, Kilbrittain, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kilbrittain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilbrittain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafield Farmhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Seafield Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafield Farmhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.