We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, peaceful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorteen Farmhouse

Gorteen Farmhouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gorteen Farmhouse to your Saves list
Gorteen Farmhouse
Dangan, Tulla, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Tulla B&B and Inns
Donegal, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely, peaceful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a beautiful, quiet farmhouse. It is very comfortable and peaceful, and yet very convenient and easy to find, near Ennis and Bunratty in County Clare. The lady of the house is an accomplished hostess, who makes all her own breads, scones and jams--delicious! They are very kind and welcoming people, and you will love sitting in the front garden listening to the birds and the cows in the far fields. We will definitely return sometime, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I found this place via the Go Ireland website and booked online. The proprietors (Michael & Mary) were very welcoming and hospitable and we were immediately provided with fresh coffee, tea and some excellent examples of Mary's home baking.

The room was clean and comfortable and free wifi (very important these days) was available.

It's a lovely place to stay and I shall be there again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Mary and her family were incredibly welcoming, and since we had no car, kindly drove us around. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and had power showers. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erding
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Drinving through Ireland we spent only one night at the Gorteen Farmhouse and we regret that we couldn't stay any longer. We had such a lovely stay in a lovely atmosphere. The rooms were clean and our hosts Mary and her husband were not only very friendly, they made us feel at home. And as far as our son (11) was concerned, he had the time of his life, joining our host on the tractor while he was feeding the cows and playing with their little dog.
Breakfast was very enjoyable and there was a wide offer from cereals to the "full Irish" .
Whenever we have the chance we will try to come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed two nights here while going to the Tulla music festival. We really enjoyed our stay. The hosts were great, friendly, caring people. The location is out in the country, just the way we like it, and very near all the places to go and see. It was like staying with family for us - no pressure, just relax and be yourself. The roo,m was great, the food excellent. No criticism of any kind!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Decided to book this b&b as it seemed an ideal location whilst we were touring western Ireland. Were we so lucky ! Perfect in everything we wanted. Mary (and her husband) was an excellent host and felt like we had known her for years. She drew a 6 mile sketch for us to walk around the farmhouse and wow what a lovely walk (the weather did help) with some interesting sights. No hesitation in going there again shoud we be passing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

You will not find a more gracious hostess or a better Irish breakfast in all of Ireland. Our room was clean and bright , hardwood floors and a private bathroom with a power shower! The Gorteen Farmhouse was the perfect home-base for us to tour County Clare from.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gorteen Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorteen Farmhouse

Address: Dangan, Tulla, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Tulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gorteen Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorteen Farmhouse Ireland/Tulla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorteen Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.