We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gizis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gizis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gizis Hotel to your Saves list
Gizis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli 84702 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Gizis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at this traditional hotel at the beginning of July. We had a room with an amazing view our own balcony, and useful kitchenette, beautifully clean with fresh towels each day. Positioned outside of the main town but with easy access either by bus - stop outside hotel (Tasos stop) - to either Oia, Imerovigli or Fira or you can walk on the Caldera path, right outside the hotel. This was 30-45 min walk into Fira including stops for photos on the way. Worth getting back in the evenings by bus as the path is not lit after dark. Recommend too the walk from here to Oia to see the evening sunset. Pat was super, everything to make our stay a place to remember. Organising our quad bike hire, her Frappe's which she made for us, and we grew to love, were amazing. Breakfast was simple but sufficient. Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We booked this hotel on the web and didnt know what to expect. This hotel is slightly away from the main town, then again, almost all nice hotels are spread out. Once we reached the property, we were pleasantly surprised. What a view - really breathtaking - we could be making our own personal picture postcards with those sun down views everyday. The rooms and bathroom is large and equipped with everything one needs. Both he bathroom and room was clean and our bathroom had a Jacuzzi. The AC worked brilliantly and while the room wasnt modern chic, there was nothing missing in the room - perfect in every way. But the real icing on the cake is the Hotel Manager Pat - she is really like a mother - we asked for eggs one morning, which is not a part of the regular breakfast and Pat got some from her own home and gave them to us. How do beat that. She gave us great recommendations on where to go, what to eat and what to do and had absolutely no ulterior motive in doing so. She promptly arranged for a scooter for us and even negotiated with the scooter company on her own without our prodding. Overall, a brilliant property to stay at and highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My friend and I spent 3 days there and loved, above all, the service by Pat. She was very helpful in providing suggestions for everything from activities to restaurant recommendations to the post office location. She never steered us wrong. The location was great and had breathtakingly beautiful views. Breakfast could have been a little better as it consisted almost entirely of bread. Overall - very good hotel with excellent service. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We decided to extend our Santorini portion of our trip by two nights and found this gem at the last minute for our last two nights. The owner and staff were very personal and great to work with. The rooms were basic but clean, with an AMAZING view! The pool was refreshing with great views as well. We had paid twice as much per night at another place earlier, but will definately pick this place again. Very reasonable for the view! We did not try the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We are a family of 5 with 3 teenagers. We stayed in Gizis for 12 nights. When you arrive you are stunned by the view from your apartment. It's one of those pinch yourself moments. Panagiota, the manageress was like a mother hen looking after us. Anything we needed we just had to ask. The studios are small but beautifully furnished with an ensuite. a sink with some dishes, glasses and cutlery and a fridge. You can borrow a kettle and cups for your stay. Each studio has it's own patio table, chairs and loungers. There's a gate that opens onto the path over the cliffs. From here it's less than a 15 minute walk up the hill to Imerovigli or you can walk downhill towards Oia. There's a very reasonable Taverna less than a ten minute walk away. Breakfast is cereal, orange juice, tea/coffee and a fresh roll/cake.We bought things for lunch at the mini marketand ate at our patio table outside. You can hire Quads, a car or motor cycle in Imerovigli. It also has a couple of mini markets, pharmacy, bank machine and a few nice restaurants.We really enjoyed our visit here and are sad to leave.

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs to the left so we had people over us and you could hear their footsteps over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

So happy to have stayed here. Loved our little "apartment" -- BEST view of the sunset on the caldera. Gorgeous pool setup, and yummy breakfast spread every morning! Great coffee :) Can't wait to stay here again one day!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was my 5th time in Santorini, but definitely the best one because of this beautiful, charming, relaxing hotel. The view is amazing, that's what Santorini is all about - paradise for body and soul. Some days we didn`t want to go anywhere, just stayed by the pool and enjoyed the tranquility.
Staff is great, so nice and kind - they brought us breakfast to our terrace, and café by the pool.
It is a bit isolated, so you need a car if you want to go to beach, or downtown. This place is ideal for couples.
We would surely go back to this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gizis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gizis Hotel

Address: Imerovigli 84702 , Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gizis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gizis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gizis Hotel Imerovigli
Gizis Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gizis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.