We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, best views on the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phenix Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phenix Hotel to your Saves list
Phenix Hotel
Imeroviglion, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Puyallup, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, best views on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

It's true, The Phenix needs a bit of updating as far as decor in the rooms and around the pool, but you can't beat the views and location. We enjoyed our stay, and we're still talking about the incredible breakfast the staff prepared!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

This hotel is in a great spot for you to have an amazing view of the Caladera and Volcano. The hotel itself is small and could be hard to get to if you had mobility issues (no wheelchairs), but your view from your own balcony is very private and beautiful.
Our stay included breakfast which was delicious and way too much for us to eat. You could choose an omlete(ham and cheese made fresh), all sorts of breads, fruit salad,or swiss rolls, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee. Or you could choose to have it all.

There is a bar and a swimming pool with loungers and tables. This is where you eat breakfast.
If you have an early shuttle out to the airport, they will send some fruit/bread to your room for the next morning, but no one will be up to help you with your suitcase.
The room we were in was quite small, but I am convinced that it had the best view. You could get bigger rooms, but the view was't as great.

There are some small restaurants and a grocery store in Immergolvili but it is about a 3km (30 min walk )from the main town of Fira.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

When you walk down to the hotel, your breath is taken away. The sky is blue, the hotel is white and the sea is aquamarine. What more can one ask. We were greered by a charming hostess, who likes to chat wth her guests, explaining that a warm breakfest is served on the terrace overlooking the caldera. And it is a generous breskfast with omelettes, yogout, honey and pastries. The rooms all overlook the water with a balcony. Thhey are roomy, and have a small kichenette and a tiny bathroom. Overall, we had a great 4 days at the Phenix.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Originally posted this review under Phenix Apartments but am realizing they are both the same so am passing on my review to here as well.
After reading the latest review about Phenix Hotel- I have realized that your stay there is really dependent on whether the owner and his female manager are present. They were not during ours and therefore our stay is reflective of that.

My husband and I travelled to Santorini on our honeymoon and stayed at the Phenix Hotel for 5 nights.

Our first impression of Phenix was not good as we discovered that the reception area is not really a reception area. So my husband ventured down to the bar and discovered that the 2 employees working at the time didn't speak a word of english!! This was approximately 2pm on a Sunday arrival.

The employee realized that we were getting no where with communication and picked up the phone and called the owner and "woke him from his nap". We were then able to negotiate which room we were going to be staying in. It seemed that they tried to put all new guests into #6 but after a quick glance, we said no. I had done some reading on trip advisor (and 3 other websites by Hotel Phenix) prior to our departure and discovered that #11 and #9 were popular rooms. So we inquired about that and we were able to stay in #9 for our first night. We then transferred to #11 on the 2nd day and opted to stay there for the remainder of our time there.

#11 is the smallest room of the hotel but has an amazing view and felt completely cozy for our style. A beautiful huge marble bathroom just added to this room. However, mattress covers and those other "luxurys" are non-existent so don't stay here if you are looking for 5 star comfort. Our Room didn't have a phone (which we didn't notice until our last night there) and a few spiders came to visit the ceiling in the morning. To be expected staying inside a rock though!!! The room was cleaned and smelled clean every day with fresh sheets.

I suspect from other reviews that this hotel may have changed management/ownership recently but I'm not certain. Employee names didn't sound familiar to the ones we had.
Simos was the main employee who was fluent in english. He was pleasant but didn't take that extra step to try to help you. Even though we tipped him daily, we sensed that he wanted to be somewhere else instead of working!
The female manager we didn't meet until our 2nd last day. She seemed nice and professional. Christos was the owner who we never actually met but spoke to on the phone.

Overall our stay at the Phenix was pleasant. Their patio/pool/bar view is amazing with a great breakfast! By the 5th morning, we were a bit tired of the same selection but having the choice to eat our included breakfast any time of day was definitely a perk!

My recommendation to those travelling to Santorini: Do the caldera view hotel for a few nights and then spend a few nights in Fira or on the Southern side of the island in more quality/luxury type hotels without the caldera view. You'll get better quality rooms but without the view.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We just returned from the most incredible stay at the Phenix in Santorini, Greece. We decided to go to Santorini spontaneouly and were told by a friend that we had to stay at the Phenix. I will forever be grateful to our friend who gave us that recommendation! We arrived without a reservation, and luckily they had 1 room available. We were helped by the owner, Christophe, who was so gracious with us from the beginning of our stay, recommending restaurants and giving us so much information about the island. I felt like I had died and gone to heaven when Christophe showed us our suite, which was absolutely beautiful and had one of the most amazing views I have ever experienced in my lifetime! We had our own little patio and I could have sat there forever!!! All the views from the Phenix are amazing, and their view has to be one of the best in Santorini. ( We
definitely feel it is the BEST view after exploring the entire island.) Every morning we were greeted by Effie, who works at the hotel, and she was so friendly and gracious as well. Both Christophe and Effie made sure we were comfortable, and they provided a wealth of information to us about the island. Their recommendations for restaurants and for what to order were amazing!!!! Myself being a food aholic, I cannot thank them enough for all their recommendations!!! We ate so well the entire trip thanx to them!
It was so nice coming back to the hotel in the afternoon and letting them know about our adventures. I honestly cannot say enough about our stay at the Phenix-my husband and I both have extremely stressful jobs and we feel it was one of our most relaxing vacations
ever-largely due to the Phenix. We feel so lucky that we experienced the beauty and warmth of the Phenix and plan to return next year. If you are planning a trip to Santorini,
the Phenix is the place for you to stay

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Small "boutique" hotel, run very poorly. The manager was largely absent, the bathrooms are "well used" and tired looking. The views are AWESOME! The pool is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candle Lake, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

Last June I stayed at the Phenix Hotel with my two children who at the time were 12 and 16 as well as my sister for four days. We had a lovely time at the Phenix and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We found the place to be clean and really appreciated the glass of wine offered us when we got to the Phenix. Our first hour was spent on the balconey overlooking the caldera unwinding after spending the last two weeks travelling throughout Greece and being on the go constantly.

Eddie was especially good to us and helped us with our luggage both coming and going. The Polish boy who was the cook went out of his way to make us lovely breakfasts. Eating our breakfast overlooking the caldera was heavenly. Spending time in or by the pool was absolutely relaxing. The Phenix is not a large place and therefore a refuge in which to relax.


The owner was always kind and helpful especially in giving us pertinent information about the island.

  • Liked — Definitely the location. The size of the place as well as the wonderful people.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phenix Hotel

Address: Imeroviglion, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phenix Hotel Imerovigli
Phenix Hotel Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phenix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.