We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Well worth the stairs to get there.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tholos Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tholos Resort to your Saves list
Tholos Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imerovigli | Santorini, Imerovigli 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 stars 235 Reviews
Illinois
1 review
“Great place! Well worth the stairs to get there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Tholos Resort was a great place to stay for our anniversary trip. We were always being asked if we were doing OK or if we needed anything. Hara and the rest of the staff were great. The only issue we had was that the thermostat on the outdoor jacuzzi was manual and keeping the water temp where we liked it was a challenge.

Room Tip: Be prepared for stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    47
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
22
168
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We have just returned from our honeymoon, 8 days spent at the Tholos Resort hotel on Santorini. An simply lovely hotel in an idyllic and majestic setting.

From start to finish we received outstanding service with genuine concern to make our stay just perfect. The two hotel managers, Costas and Hara, were a model of kindness, amiability and efficiency in attending to any requests such as booking restaurants/taxis/rentals etc.

The inclusive transfer service from the airport was a boon after the journey and we found we had been upgraded to a junior suite to mark our marriage (not necessary but a nice touch).

The early season weather didn't guarantee us wall-to-wall sunshine but our comfortable suite with lashings of hot water for baths and showers was a cosy retreat when the wind got up. When the sun did get to work, the terrace with pool and bar was a delight to sit on with book and gin, looking out on the stunning caldera.

Polish Chef Voitek was endlessly attentive and regularly seeks to enlarge/improve his menu - his seafood pasta is to die for. We ate on our private terrace every other night because the food was so good.

Any down-sides? We did find the bed rather too firm, there was curiously no overhead holder for the shower head (which had to be held), and the bar music was not our taste at all, but to raise any other very minor quibbles would be churlish.

This is a really stylish and friendly hotel in a stunning setting.

Room Tip: Studios or Standard rooms are away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Our overall review of Tholos is a positive one. The view from the room is breathtaking. The reception desk individuals were very kind. Unfortunately, we stayed at the end of the season as they were closing. Food was limited. We called room service one night and the chef said he didn't have anything we wanted. He ended up bring us some rolls and feta cheese. Like many places on the island, we had many steps to get to our room, which was fine and expected. However, one night it began to rain; and my husband slipped on the slick steps and knocked his head on the hard stone. Reception saw everything. I called room service to ask for ice, as his head was beginning to swell. We never received it. In short, I think the staff would be kind and accomodating, but just wanted to start their holiday.

The room was clean enough. We had some weird bright blue liquid that crept out of our toilet (again, we asked reception to look into it, but didn't). The bed was clean, but hard. The shower was clean with decent water pressure.

Overall, one of the better places we stayed in Greece. If returning, however, I may look into another place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My staff at the Tholos was better than expected. I stayed at the Tholos 10/13-23/2010 and would highly recommend this hotel for the service and location. If you think the Tholos is a big resort than you may be disappointed. The Tholos is a small, intimate hotel with clean rooms, amazing staff and unbeatable location. Michael, Poppy, Wroteck, and Goga really were the best staff i have ever met. they were incredibly friendly and helpful...always made us feel at home. While the rooms may be simple - it is Santorini and no one is expected to stay in the room all day. I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel. It is worth the money. And, try Mama Thira's in Thira for food...it's amazing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We had a great stay at Tholos resort. Comfortable, cozy, great staff, and of course the incredible views. Breakfast on our balcony every morning overlooking the caldera was a dream and relaxing by the pool with a glass of wine after a long day of sightseeing was perfect!
Rooms are very basic but I'm told that's the norm on the island. The beds are a bit hard the bathrooms a bit small but not bad. You're definitely paying for the views here. Ask for the inside room so you are not sharing your balcony with your neighbors and be prepared to walk up and down some serious stairs and hills!! Robes and slippers are a nice touch.
The town of Imerovigli is very quiet and the walk to Fira from the hotel is a solid 25min. but I would definitely recommend staying here to avoid the crowds and noise. You get a more authentic feel.
Overall, it was a wonderful stay. Thanks so much to the great staff that worked so hard to make our stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed a week in Tholos Hotel and we didn't wanna miss a minute!! The Volcano view was spectular, the room was nice and clean, we always felt "home" when we returned after our trips and tours.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and has given us valuable tips for getting around, eating and drinking places. It is like a family and everyone is doing a good job. All in all a very cozy place. We want to thank Poppi, Wojtek and Michael and all others for their help and for let us having an unforgettable week. We even had a good pool party in October not knowing all other participants... :-)

@Blondie: The staff definitively helps all guests to carry their suitcases upon arrival, but only if they know that you are coming... (Tip: even greek hotels do have a so-called Telephone where you can speak to other people!!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I can't say enough about the chef and staff. We stayed for 3 days and were so well taken care of by Walther (chef) and the front desk. We felt like we had access to personal attention whenever we needed and the food for breakfast and out by the pool was amazingly prepared every time. The room was supercool and spacious and had the most amazing view of everything you want to see in Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tholos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tholos Resort

Address: Imerovigli | Santorini, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#26 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tholos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santorini hotel of your choice in Imerovigli, on the island of Santorini. Much beloved and world-famous, the island of Santorini in Greece is a place of awesome beauty and bewitching atmosphere. Its exceptional character is a blend of blazing volcanic rock, against the backdrop of the deep cobalt-blue sea and the clear Aegean sky. The imposing Caldera is the result of the volcano's biblical eruption, a crescent of cliffs rising steeply hundreds of meters above the water, with white villages nestled upon their tops. One of these picturesque settlements is Imerovigli, a small distance away from the capital of Santorini, Fira, where you can find Tholos Luxury Hotel Resort. Perched on the cliff of the Caldera, the hotel will offer you an accommodation of luxury and hospitality, in a magnificent setting overlooking the volcano. Panoramic vistas to the crater, submerged into the deepest blue waters, sparkling under the bright sunlight, will leave you enchanted in the day, while the spectacular sunsets that turn the landscape into a melange of dreamy pictures will make your memories unforgettable. The whitewashed apartments and studios, all in the traditional Cycladic style, are built on different levels of the cliff, with terraces or balconies facing the superb surroundings. In their discreetly luxurious interiors you'll find comfort and relaxation. At the patio by the outdoor pool on the other hand, you'll enjoy refreshing moments under the sun or romantic time under the stars. The service, day and night, is friendly and impeccable, while the hotel's owners are always at your disposal for your every need while staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tholos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tholos Hotel Imerovigli
Tholos Resort Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tholos Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.